Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD

Reconstructive Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Dr. Bernasek
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637

Make an Appointment

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD is a Reconstructive Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL and has over 40 years of experience in the medical field. Dr. Bernasek has more experience with Hip & Pelvic Surgery than other specialists in his area. He graduated from Creighton University School Of Medicine medical school in 1981. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as Morton Plant Hospital and St. Joseph's Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Bernasek to book an appointment.

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Reconstructive Orthopedic Surgery Specialists in your area

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Bernasek is affiliated with Morton Plant Hospital Clearwater, a highly rated hospital.

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth
    This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital
    Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ See hospitals

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Bernasek

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Bernasek treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Bernasek treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 978-9700.

Hip & Pelvic Surgery

Hip surgery includes arthroscopy, fracture repair, resurfacing, and replacment to treat conditions affecting the hip, such as arthritis, dysplasia, and injuries.Compare with other Hip & Pelvic Surgery specialists.

Dr. Bernasek is experienced in the area of Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 12 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Bernasek
Similar Providers
Osteoarthritis of Hip
Hip Replacement
Total Hip Replacement
Hip Resurfacing
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Bernasek's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Bernasek's conditions and procedures:

  • Achilles Tendinitis
  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • Ankle Fracture
  • Ankle Sprain and Achilles Tendon Sprain or Rupture
  • Ankle Sprains and Strains
  • Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) or Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Excision of Tibia or Fibula
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Hip Replacement
  • Hip Replacement Revision
  • Hip Resurfacing
  • Joint Pain
  • Juvenile Chronic Arthritis
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Replacement Revision
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Myelopathy
  • Non-Traumatic Rupture of Achilles Tendon
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Spina Bifida
  • Steroid Injection
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Total Knee Arthroplasty With Robotic Assistance
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Bernasek accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Bernasek accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Choice PPO
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Coventry Health Care of Florida PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare

Dr. Bernasek's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Bernasek

4.4

Based on 49 ratings

5 Stars
81.63265306122449%
(40)
4 Stars
2.0408163265306123%
(1)
3 Stars
4.081632653061225%
(2)
2 Stars
2.0408163265306123%
(1)
1 Star
10.204081632653061%
(5)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Bernasek
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Kind, courteous doctor with excellent surgical skills and great support staff. Every thing runs like a well oiled machine. Has long wait time but so worth it
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Jun 22, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dr. Bernasek is an incredibly skilled surgeon to the point that all the pre-op nurses refer to him as a "Rock Star." Dr. Bernasek performed TKR on both knees and was always caring, personable, and empathic towards me, my wife, and my needs. Dr. Bernasek was a true blessing for me!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
James Dougherty – Apr 22, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Did a fantastic job with my hip replacement.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jan 28, 2021
Thank you for your 5 star review for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Great Orthopedic Surgeon in Florida! He did Bilateral knee surgery of my wife 7 years back (2013) She is doing Excellent Thanks. Strongly Recommend Dr Bernasek for knee replacement .
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Seetharamiah, Prakash – Dec 10, 2020
Prakash, thank you for your 5 star rating for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dr. Bernasek has replaced both of my knees and one hip, I trust him totally. All surgeries went very well. I would recommend him to all patients needing knee or hip replacement.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Brenda Douglas – Nov 06, 2020
Brenda, thank you for your 5 star rating and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
2015 I had right knee replacement with Dr Bernasek. I had no problem whatsoever..then in 2017 I moved to Pennsylvania there I had left knee replacement with Dr bear at Hershey medical cntr I been having problems with my left knee ever since.. Then I moved back home 2018 I visit a orthopedic in Dade city where he took xray & discover that the left knee replacement hardware is to big. So that's been causing pain..i can say that Dr bernasek is a great orthopedic surgeon,, unfortunately the office don't take my new insurance, I'm sure if I was able to go see him, he would probably repair the damaged,done by,surgeon in Pennsylvania..
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Mayra Mercado – Sep 02, 2020
Hi Mayra, Thank you for the very kind review. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Fantastic 5 star rating., Dr Bernasek replaced my knee 18 mo. ago, its better than ever. Keep in mind; do your rehab.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
L. Ben Nels – Jan 07, 2020
We appreciate your five star review for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dual knee replacement at 45 YO and can’t be more pleased!! I’d recommend Dr. Bernasek to anyone! He, his PAs, the FL Ortho Institution and TGH are the best! Wish I could give more stars! If thinking about Sarasota Ortho Institute TRUST ME Dr. Bernsek is worth the drive to Temple Terrace.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Englewood, FL – Dec 16, 2019
Thank you for sharing your experience! Happy to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
I had bilateral knee replacement 2 years ago. Dr Bernasek and his staff were amazing and very informative. I had an excellent outcome and am so grateful I found this doctor. I live in Punta Gorda but this doctor is worth the drive. The first visit I waited an hour but subsequent visits were less than 15 minutes.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Kay in Punta Gorda, FL – Jun 27, 2019
Thank you for the five-star review, Kay! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
On Feb 19, 2019 Dr Bernasek performed my right hip replacement surgery. He is a brilliant surgeon, with a charming, caring personality. I followed his post surgery instructions to the letter, and am now completely pain free with total mobility!!!!! I am deeply appreciative of his services and the services of his team. All have been very professional and compassionate. I couldn’t want a better surgical outcome. Treatment at Tampa General was awesome too. I am truly thankful for my surgical and follow up care!!!! I hope I will not need any additional orthopedic surgery, but if I do, I will be scheduling a consultation with Dr Bernasek!! Thank you Dr Bernasek!!!! I am pain free and am enjoying life again!!! Thank you!!!!
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 22, 2019
Thank you for complimenting Dr. Bernasek for the...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dr. Thomas Bernasek sees each patient as an individual case. There is no one fits all approach in his practice. He believes in starting at the first level of treatment and then when that does not bring results, he is eager to go further in order to solve the problem. He also is very considerate of a patient's wait time to see him. Dr. Bernasek was very apologetic regarding the delay time of my appointment . He saw my time as valuable as his. He is truly a professional physician. I highly recommend him for his professionalism and his abilities as a doctor.
Helpful
May 16, 2019
Thank you for complimenting Dr. Bernasek's unique...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
founding out why my left hip is still hurting after replacing when I arrived the staff was very kind and caring and very patience when my questions a nurse named pooga was most helpful and was concerned about helping with my issues also a nurse Jessica Ruth was noticing I was having trouble with remembering my apt scheduled which she took time from her busy work and wrote done my tasks that should done first to last. man I was so appreciated by her caringness it was so helpful then Dr Ibrahim was so concern with my issues that in my belief he ask me real world questions and gave me very helpful answers man these employees are a asset to there profession I would recommend hands down to anyone having problems like mine to contact these professionals and schedule a apt ASAP they will not be disappointed again it was a pleasure to have all these skilled medical personal with a caring concern helping me out thank you dr bernasek your staff is second to none
Helpful
May 11, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
I can not say enough positive things about Dr Bernasek. He replaced my hip, and everything went great. His bedside manner is just wonderful, his PA’s are great too. It can be hard to get an appointment as he is so well known. If your are lucky enough to get in (like I was), do be prepared for a bit of a wait to see him. It’s the only downside, however he is worth the wait.
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 16, 2019
Hello! Thank you for sharing your experience...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dr Bernasek is a wonderful surgeon and has a great bedside manner. However, his office is so poorly managed that it is not uncommon to wait 2 to 3 hours after a scheduled appointment time to see him.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
9 people found this helpful
Helpful
William Schaefer in Wimauma FL – Mar 15, 2018
William, thank you for the kind remarks about Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
In 1987 I was on a business trip in a Tampa and was hit by a car. I was rushed to Tampa General where Dr Bernasek preformed a complete knee reconstruction and repaired my tibia fracture with external fixation. Thirty years later I am now a resident of Florida and my legs are strong and healthy.. Thank you Dr Bernasek
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jim Pye in Lakewood Ranch, FL – Dec 06, 2017
Jim, thank you for sharing your story! We are so...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
It was well worth the wait. Very very nice Doctor. He explains everything to you .
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Penny Proctor in Tampa, FL – Sep 14, 2017
Thanks Penny! We apologize for the extended wait...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Thanks to Dr. Bernasek my leg feels better now than it has in years. I was sent to Dr. Bernasek by another orthopedic physician. I was dealing with a 2nd infection after knee replacement surgery. He knew what to do to help me and did just that. He has a wonderful bedside manner and makes sure you understand everything. The only downside is you wait forever to see him. I have waited in his office 2 1/2 hours past my appointment time, but I trust him more than any other ortho doctor.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Auburndale, FL – Jul 06, 2017
Oh no! We apologize that your wait time was 2.5...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Always receive competent and courteous care from Dr. Bernasek, his PA, and his staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Riverview, FL – Feb 03, 2017
Thank you for the awesome review about your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dr Bernasek and his PA Brain Yates are excellent. They explain issues thoroughly and take whatever time the patient needs . I have never felt rushed with either one. They inspire confidence. Unfortunately, you will have to wait 3 months or more to get an appointment and once you get there you are faced with a wait time that exceeds 2 hrs, regularly, UGH!!!! and the administrative assistant (Maria) does not return phone calls, so surgery scheduling can be stressful.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
13 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mario in Cape Coral, FL – Jul 21, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?
Reply
Dr. Bernasek replaced my knee March 2014. The entire experience was great and pain was kept to a minimum. Infection protocol was beyond compare. I love my new knee and owe it all to Dr. B
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
16 people found this helpful
Helpful
Carver in Zephyrhills, FL – Feb 10, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Bernasek?

About Me

Care Philosophy

Dr. Bernasek provides nonsurgical and surgical expert care to ensure each patient receives individualized treatment. He specializes in adult reconstruction...Read more

Specialties

  • Reconstructive Orthopedic Surgery
  • Hip & Knee Orthopedics
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

1987
Mayo Medical School
Fellowship Hospital
1986
The University of New Mexico
Residency Hospital
1986
The University of New Mexico
Internship Hospital
1981
Creighton University School Of Medicine
Medical School
1977
University of Wyoming
Undergraduate School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

  • Healthgrades Honor Roll
  • Chief of Staff, Tampa General Hospital, September

Memberships & Affiliations

  • International Congress for Joint Reconstruction, Member

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Bernasek has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Bernasek's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Bernasek accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Bernasek frequently treats Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Bernasek specializes.

Where is Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD's office located?

Dr. Bernasek's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD speak?

Dr. Bernasek speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Thomas Bernasek, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Bernasek is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Morton Plant Hospital

Clearwater, FL

80% Patient Experience Rating, 11% higher than the national average

8 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2021)

St. Joseph's Hospital

Tampa, FL

79% Patient Experience Rating, 10% higher than the national average

11 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2021)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

6 Awards Received