Dr. Steven Tresser, MD

Minimally Invasive Orthopedic Spine SurgeryMaleAge 59

Dr. Tresser
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Steven Tresser, MD is a Minimally Invasive Orthopedic Spine Surgery Specialist in Tampa, FL and has over 34 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from University of Miami / School of Medicine medical school in 1987. He is affiliated with medical facilities Adventhealth Carrollwood and Memorial Hospital Of Tampa. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Tresser to book an appointment.

Compare with other Minimally Invasive Orthopedic Spine Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Tresser with our nearby Minimally Invasive Orthopedic Spine Surgery Specialists at Tampa Community Hospital, A Campus of Memorial Hospital of Tampa.

Make an appointment at Tampa Community Hospital, A Campus of Memorial Hospital of Tampa today at (813) 994-0358.

These providers are on the medical staff of Tampa Community Hospital, A Campus of Memorial Hospital of Tampa.

Dr. Tresser's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Tresser

2.9

Based on 60 ratings

5 Stars
45%
(27)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
1.6666666666666667%
(1)
2 Stars
5%
(3)
1 Star
48.333333333333336%
(29)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Tresser?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Office environment (37)
  • Staff friendliness (34)
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly (11)
  • Office environment (8)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
This Doctor knows his business. He did a spinal fusion on me that significantly improved my quality of life and eliminated almost all pain and discomfort. Before surgery, I could not walk from the parking lot to the back of the grocery store without extreme pain. I needed a grocery cart to help me along. His Nurse Practitioner, Chuck, is awesome in evaluating the problem, helping with treatment, and when surgery is necessary, Nurse Chuck is there too. Awesome team.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
John Brown – Apr 28, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
AVOID....acdf surgery with tressor left me with 50% rom in my right arm, unable to bend 3 fingers in my right hand, unable to turn my neck to the left. or lift my arms without pain and massive inflammation issues. all answers from him were "i don't know" after surgery before surgery its all yes i'll fix the pain and eliminate the inflammation.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
sjl – Jun 04, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
He literally saved my life. I was 11 years old with a fracture on C3/C4. He repaired my neck with a spinal fusion. I was too young to remember his bedside manor, but I’d rather an effective doctor then a nice one. He saved my life.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Chelsea Cohalla – May 24, 2020
Hi Chelsea, thank you for the wonderful review of...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
This is a factory and the doctor doesn't communicate or seem to care. I just looked at his reviews (stupid me to look after my surgery) same complaints from everyone!! Doesn't show any caring. I had a fusion and I never have seen the doctor even after I awoke from surgery, he had left. My follow ups I only saw a Nurse Practioner. I ended up in the hospital from so much pain, and called to the office, and nobody responded. Please don't send me a note saying you are sorry, and this is not what you strive for because obviously it is if the same people complain about the same problems. The doctor's reviews are 2.9!!! after over 50 reviews!! Embarrassing. I am now going to another doctor to help. SO Sad.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 21, 2020
Hello, we would like to speak with you further,...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
I would not recommend Dr. Tresser to anyone, after having a fusion, rod, and a cage on my L3, L4, and L5 on my lower back I was still having unbearable pain in my legs and was unable to walk. I went back to Dr. Tresser and he told me he didn't know what was wrong with me and told me to get off my walker and dismissed me and told me he would see me in 6 months for a follow up. After going to get a 2nd opinion I found out I needed a double hip replacement. Dr. Tresser needs to start listening to his patients and stop acting like he dont care about them. We come to him for help not to be treated like we are beneath him. He needs to start listening and having more compassion for his patients.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
Michael Bullard – Apr 29, 2020
Hi Michael, we are very sorry to hear about your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
You cannot improve your wait time when the doctor does not respect the patient's time if the doctor decides to stroll in late then the office staff cannot improve that .The doctor must learn to be held accountable for his lack of respect and it is a lack of respect to come in late and keep his patients waiting. Why make appts if he doesn't show up on time to keep them .He should reread the office plaque so proudly displayed in his office about respect for the patient. My time is no less valuable to me as his is to him.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Victor – Mar 17, 2020
Hi Victor, thank you for your feedback. We value...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
Avoid Dr. Tresser. Dr. Tresser came highly recommended by Florida Orthopaedic Institute! D’oh! They are the same organization! Problem; severe neck pain due to recent fall. Four appointments. 1) Saw Chuck his PA. 2) Saw Chuck his PA. 3) Waited over an hour past my appointment time to see Tresser and left. 4) Due to MRI & X-ray files went back and waited over another hour, left. I NEVER MET Dr. Tresser! It appears that Tresser and Florida Orthopaedic Institute are only interested in churning you and your insurance for $$$! Stay away. Find a reputable doctor. Be well.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
John McCurdy – Mar 04, 2020
Hi John, we are very sorry to hear that your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
No lo recomiendo, a nadie, ya e presentado gejas en la clínica haserca de el y me responden que el se preocupa por sus pacientes y para mi yo no fui paciente más vien un cliente, tengo espondilolistesis grado 2 ,enL5 S1 ,tengo ese disco desecad, tengo estrechamiento en el foramen, tengo comprimido el saco fecal y 2 neurocirujano, an estado de acuerdo que tengo el síndrome de cola de caballo, busque en Internet lo que significa, ese síndrome y después de planificar una cirugía, me la suspendió, soy un caso de compensación laboral, y esto me afectó, pero un neurocirujano el día de 2 de octubre, recomendó cirugía, y desmintió todo lo que Tresser había, escrito, no se atienda con quien le interese más el dinero que su salid ,ese es traer, ya estoy yenando un formulario para presentarlo ala junta de medicina con toda mi queja ,ya que en la clínica donde trabajan, no tomaron en cuenta mi queja ,por lo que sigo escribiendo, solo le pedí que pusiera la verdad en el reporte ,no lo hizo
What went well
  • Office environment
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
Eduardo D Arcia – Oct 17, 2019
Hi Eduardo, we appreciate your feedback. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
No follow from staff.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 16, 2019
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
Terrible surgeon! My husband will never be the same! He’s worse now than he was before the operation! Steer clear!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Tampa – Feb 23, 2019
We are surprised to hear that you and your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr Tresser and all the staff at both the dale Mabry office and the Gunn highway office are amazing! It saddens me to hear so many complain about the waiting time to see them when unforeseen situations arise and appointments are delayed. Please try and understand they perform surgeries every day of the week before coming to the office and operations don’t always take the time anticipated. Would you want a surgeon to rush your surgery? Be patient as they are with you. 5 stars all the way!!!!!!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dawn in Saint Petersburg , FL – Feb 19, 2019
Dawn, thank you for your understanding on our...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
I previously provided a negative review & now regret that because I would not want to steer anyone away from Dr. Tresser.My husband’s surgery was delayed due to a clerical error, but Tresser & his surgical team did an amazing job. We are only a month since his surgery & my husband has gone from barley walking to five plus miles a day. The entire experience at the hospital from pre-op to post-op was exceptional to say the least. Tresser was recommended by several doctors as the best neurosurgeon
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Kristen Nickens in Tampa, FL – Feb 05, 2019
Kristen, thank you for updating your review. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
Extremely grateful for the accuracy of assessment and execution of my procedure. Positive results such as steadiness when walking were immediately evident after the laminoplasty performed Dec. 20th. Recovery though challenging, is hopeful and eagerly anticipated thanks to the skill and confidence of this healthcare professional. Thank you Dr. Tresser
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Steven T. Butler in Odessa , FL – Jan 12, 2019
Steven, thank you for sharing your story with Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
I have hardware IN my spinal canal! Surgery 3/18/15. I was in so much pain after surgery and no one understand why, Tresser went on vacation the very next day. I now know, thanks to Mayo Clinic that there is a screw that completely missed the vertebrae. I have another broken rod and Mayo will only operate if I develop new neurological symptoms because..... they would (in their words) feel duty bound to fix st least some of the problems and that may be worse than the original surgery!
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Susan Sexauer in Taylors Falls, MN – Jul 29, 2018
Hi Susan, we are very sorry that you were in so...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
This clinic does not have control of all the processes/services that it is trying to implement/provide. Patients are getting lost in the shuffle and I predict that this chaos will result in the medical liability of a mishandled patient. I have been a nurse for over 25 years and have managed medical clinics/trained clinical employees for many of those years and in my professional opinion I would recommend seeking medical treatment elsewhere as I am doing. 9 days and counting for MRI.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
GULFPORT – Apr 20, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
Don't dare ask him a question twice, or even rephrase it if you didn't understand his gruff answer. He will slap his hand on his desk and blurt out 'I already answered that.' He does not volunteer any information, so bring your list of questions, and then don't expect an answer. He is only interested in his work. He is cold as ice.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
7 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 08, 2018
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
I would highly recommend Dr. Tresser to anyone out there with spine and neuro issues. It took me over two weeks to find someone that I trusted also someone that has a great reputation because I did not want to leave my spine in any surgeons hands. Dr. Tresser has helped me regain my range of motion as well as my feeling in my left hand. I’m very grateful that I found him as my surgeon and would highly recommend him.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Stephan in Tampa, FL – Feb 28, 2018
Thank you for the kind review Stephan. We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Steven Tresser is an awesome spine surgeon. I had a L4/5 extrusion and could not stand or walk due to the excruciating pain. Dr. Tresser did a laminectomy/discectomy and a few hours later I could walk without pain and go up a few stairs. He is a great doctor and really cares about his patients. I highly recommend him.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Steve P in Tampa, FL – Aug 22, 2017
Steve, thank you for taking time to provide us...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
I was just looking up Dr. Tresser's info to refer him to a friend. I don't usually do surveys but was surprised to see anything less than 5 stars for Dr Tresser. He did a repair on a very painful ruptured disk in by back over 2 years ago. I don't know how it could have gone better. I've had no issues. I've had problems with that disk for 15 years. It's been great to live without pain again. The scar was minimal. I would definitely go back and refer him to friends and family.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
Andy V in Tampa, FL – Jul 08, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?
Reply Flag
I would not recommend this doctor to anyone. He is too quick to get you out of his office and if he doesn't know how to treat you he says there's nothing wrong with you and just to live with your pain. I went to him for a second opinion on a possible tumor in my spine and he said just keep an eye on it and if it grows address it. He stated if we already had a plan on what to do why did we come to him. He is very inpersonable and didn't even do an examination . Find another doctor!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
10 people found this helpful
Helpful
Valrico, FL – Jun 08, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Tresser?

About Me

Care Philosophy

My patients well-being is very important to me. My aim is to eliminate their pain and restore them to normal function however I can.

Specialties

  • Minimally Invasive Orthopedic Spine Surgery
  • Neurosurgery

Education

1994
University Hosps Of Cleveland Case Western Res University
Residency Hospital
1988
U Hosps of Cleveland-Case Western Res U
Internship Hospital
1987
University of Miami / School of Medicine
Medical School

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Steven Tresser, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Tresser has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Steven Tresser, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Steven Tresser, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Tresser's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Steven Tresser, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Tresser accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Steven Tresser, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Tresser frequently treats Low Back Pain, Intervertebral Disc Disease, and Degenerative Disc Disease. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Tresser treats.

Where is Dr. Steven Tresser, MD's office located?

Dr. Tresser's office is located at 909 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Steven Tresser, MD speak?

Dr. Tresser speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Steven Tresser, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Tresser's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Tresser's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Low Back Pain
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Tresser treats Low Back Pain more than 98% of his peers

Dr. Tresser treats this condition more than 98% of his peers

Intervertebral Disc Disease
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Tresser treats Intervertebral Disc Disease more than 93% of his peers

Dr. Tresser treats this condition more than 93% of his peers

Degenerative Disc Disease
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Tresser treats Degenerative Disc Disease more than 91% of his peers

Dr. Tresser treats this condition more than 91% of his peers

Dr. Tresser's conditions and procedures:

  • Aneurysm
  • Ankylosing Vertebral Hyperostosis
  • Brain Abscess
  • Brain and Nervous System Cancer (incl. Gliomas, Astrocytoma, Schwannoma, Medulloblastoma, Chordoma)
  • Brain Surgery
  • Broken Neck
  • Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) Shunt - Insertion, Repair or Removal
  • Cerebrospinal Fluid Leak (CSF Leak)
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Chordoma
  • Craniectomy, Craniotomy, Surgery of Skull Base, Neuroendoscopy
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Disc Replacement
  • Dural Repair or Other Spinal Cord Repair
  • Dural Tear
  • Epidural Block, Facet Blocks
  • Epilepsy
  • Herniated Disc Surgery
  • Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension
  • Interlaminar Spacer
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease
  • Lamina Procedures (incl. Laminectomy, Laminoplasty, Laminotomy)
  • Laminoforaminotomy
  • Low Back Pain
  • Lumbar Spine Fracture
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Nerve Root Injury and Plexus Disorders (incl. Pinched Nerve)
  • Neuroplasty
  • Neurostimulation
  • Neurostimulator Implantation
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Pathological Spine Fracture
  • Pituitary Tumor
  • Polyneuropathy
  • Scoliosis
  • Spina Bifida
  • Spinal Compression Fracture Repair
  • Spinal Cord Stimulation
  • Spinal Cord Tumor
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Spinal Nerve Block
  • Spinal Reconstructive Surgery for Deformities
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Spine Deformities
  • Spine Fracture Treatment
  • Spine Fractures, Traumatic
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Stroke
  • Thoracic Spine Fracture
  • Upper Back Pain

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Tresser accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Tresser accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care
Wellpath Preferred PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
1

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Citrus Park6117 GUNN HWY Tampa, FL 33625
2