Dr. Steven Lyons, MD

Reconstructive Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Dr. Lyons
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637

Make an Appointment

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Steven Lyons, MD is a Reconstructive Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL and has over 28 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Rush Medical College Of Rush University medical school in 1993. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as Adventhealth Carrollwood and St. Joseph's Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Lyons to book an appointment.

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Reconstructive Orthopedic Surgery Specialists in your area

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Lyons is affiliated with St. Joseph's Hospital Tampa, a highly rated hospital.

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth
    This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital
    Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ See hospitals

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Lyons' experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Lyons' Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Meniscus Surgery
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Lyons performs Meniscus Surgery more than 82% of his peers

Dr. Lyons performs this procedure more than 82% of his peers

Total Hip Replacement
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Lyons performs Total Hip Replacement more than 81% of his peers

Dr. Lyons performs this procedure more than 81% of his peers

Dr. Lyons' conditions and procedures:

  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Lyons accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Lyons accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Choice PPO
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Coventry Health Care of Florida PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare

Dr. Lyons' Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Lyons

4.4

Based on 43 ratings

5 Stars
86.04651162790698%
(37)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
13.953488372093023%
(6)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Lyons?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling (34)
  • Office environment (34)
  • Staff friendliness (34)
What could be improved
  • Didn't explain conditions well (6)
  • Didn't listen or answer questions (6)
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions (6)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
Not good at all..He was short, abrasive in his tone, and seemed annoyed when I asked simple questions, did not even look at my x ray until I asked him about different procedures, as I had other opinions one from the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Surgeon he had never heard of him. Sure he is a skilled surgeon but rather find one that treats me with respect and I trust as I am 65 and never had a major surgery before..Cancelled the surgery a day after my appointment.. office staff rushed seemed disorganized and curt..No compassion for patients in pain.. I will continue to "shop"plenty good Orthopedic surgeons, may even find one with a sense of humor!! RX number 1..laughter...
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Feb 18, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Scheduled a visit with Dr. Lyons to gain reassurance that it was OK I walk on this little fracture on my hip. His professionalism And explanation of the situation and how to handle it answered any questions or concerns I may have on walking on this injury leaving me with no concern on how to handle it.. His advice on how to take care of it was extremely understanding and helpful. Best bedside manner and an amazing staff to back it up with great personalities making the visit much more pleasant and just an overall great a 100% awesome visit. Definitely high recommendations to both Dr. Lyons and his amazing staff!
What went well
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Becky – Aug 07, 2020
Hi Becky, Thank you for taking the time to share...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Lyons and his wonderful staff are all extremely attentive to the patients needs at all times. From the first appointment with Dr. Lyons to discuss a knee replacement, I knew that I was in the right place with the right doctor. He was kind and understanding of the 4 previous knee surgeries to remove cartilage and meniscus, plus a few shots of synthetic knee lubricant to help the “bone on bone” situation. He totally explained the replacement procedure in infinite detail. After surgery I rapidly recovered at PT. Swimming in my pool in just over 2 weeks. Being a Scuba Instructor Trainer, I had to get back in form to begin teaching again. Finished PT in 6 weeks, taught my first Instructor class on just shy of 8 weeks. Many thanks to you, Dr. Lyons for your excellent skills in fixing the knee I destroyed over many years.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Capt. Gary Howe – Apr 25, 2020
Hello Capt. Gary Howe, thank you for the...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I have already referred several people to Dr. Lyons. It has been a year since my total hip and I am very happy with the results. This is the best!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Oct 17, 2019
Thank you for the five star review of Dr. Lyons!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I saw Dr Lyons, Bianca and Jeanette - and his entire staff - from the front office to physical therapy, Jason in Brandon and his team, for my knees and they were all top notch, kind and immediately responded to questions and concerns and were very patient and reassuring. They calmed me down, listened to me and genuinely cared. Go see them - you will be seeing the best.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Pamela Smith – Sep 15, 2019
Hi Pamela, thank you for the five star review of...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
My husband went to see Dr. Lyons because of issues and tremendous pain and discomfort with a recent knee replacement surgery. We found him to be very professional, knowledgeable and at the top of his field, especially in doing revision surgeries. It took a few months to get his surgery scheduled due to his very busy schedule, but it was well worth it. We feel, thus far, that we made an excellent choice and are very grateful to Dr. Lyons. He spent time with us and he explained what was needed to fix and stabilize his knee. The recovery is going much quicker this time and we are confident in a complete and satisfactory recovery this time.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Aug 15, 2019
Thank you for the five star review! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I was very impressed by his office staff and Dr. Lyons. Dr. Lyons wasn’t pushy for me to have surgery, he left it up to me. He wasn’t rushed and answered any questions I had. I scheduled surgery.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Kim B – Jul 20, 2019
Kim, thank you for the five-star review! Happy to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I had seven surgeries already including a total knee replacement from athletic injuries. I was having a lot of problems and every orthopedic surgeon in my area wouldn’t touch me. They all recommended Dr Lyons hands down. They were correct! He did another TKA and I am doing great. Bianca thanks for all your help!! Recommend him 100%
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Debbie Smith in Hudson – Jun 23, 2019
Debbie, wow! We are glad to hear that you were...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Being my first time visiting FOI ,I felt at home , I have had a knee replacement elsewhere and am here visiting Dr. Lyons to have it corrected and has been told he is the Doctor , A total heads up to Dr. Lyons staff amazing Jeanette, Bianca and especially Heather , she’s a hottie ! I left today with a huge sigh of relief. Highly Recommend, thank you , Joe G . Tampa
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Joe G in Tampa, FL – Jun 14, 2019
Joe, thank you for taking time to leave a review...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Needed full right knee replacement. Dr Lyons took the time to explained every detail about the surgery. Surgery went well at Advent Carollwood Hospital, really liked it there. Very pleased with the office staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Bill in Winter Haven – Jun 09, 2019
Bill, thank you for taking time to compliment Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I am very satisfied with the orthopedic services provided by Dr. Lyons and his team.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
May 25, 2019
Thank you for complimenting Dr. Lyons and his...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr Lyons and staff in office are the best when it came for my care when I had knees surgeries from 2014 and 2016. he is great surgeon.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
May 14, 2019
Thank you for taking time compliment Dr. Lyons...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I had a knee replacement with Dr Lyons last year and now I just had a hip replacement and both surgeries have been great. He is the kind of doctor that you can trust and knowing he is such a good doctor makes you feel very peaceful and secure. His office staff is great. Bianca and Jeanette are very helpful and kind. Surgeries are very easy to set up. As soon as you are in the pre op room, you feel a great sense of peace and tranquility. He is amazing!!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 24, 2019
Hello, Thank you for sharing your story with us!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
As always Dr Lyons is the best doctor every ,he never rushes you even thro he is very busy .
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 11, 2019
Hi! Thank you for the very kind review! Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I have been a patient of Dr. Lyons since 2008. He was one of only two surgeons in Florida, that my former surgeon at Scripps in CA, found to take my difficult case. He is an excellent surgeon. Knowledgeable beyond his years, and always on the cutting edge of new surgical procedures. After five joint surgeries with him and his amazing staff, I can honestly say, they know their stuff. Even able to handle difficult patients like myself. I would not willingly allow anyone else to operate on me.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Janice L Burton, JD in Lakeland, FL – Jan 09, 2019
Janice, thank you taking time to share your story...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
My case is tough and unique. Dr Lyons took my case one piece at a time. He got to the bottom of my bilateral knee pain and what operation I would need for each knee. He is a highly skilled Dr. He takes time to explain all of your questions.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Donna Jacobson in Ofessa, FL – Oct 26, 2018
Thank you for sharing your story Donna! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Lyons was rude and unsympathetic. His staff management/office protocol is like a surgery mill. After telling my mother she had an infection (we all knew this) and saying she had no options left other than amputation, which my mother said she did not want to do, his office called a month after this horrible interaction to schedule a surgery! They insisted they were correctly scheduling the surgery only to later say it was a mistake. I couldn't imagine going through with a surgery with him!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Bryan W in Tampa – Sep 01, 2018
Hi Bryan, Thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
This is a great Dr. when it comes to orthopedic surgery. He did a pelvis reconstruction and hip replacement for my dad (78 year old). He guided us through the whole process, explain the procedure, with honesty. He was able to give back to my dad quality of life by being able to walk without pain. We still going through the recovery time (6-8 month). We are in great hands with Dr. Lyons and his staff and following all his recommendations
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Paula Rincon in Tampa, FL – Aug 02, 2018
Thank you for sharing your dad's story with us...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
I had both knees replaced in 2/2015 & the other in 7/2015 with such wonderful results! I have received outstanding medical care under Dr. Lyons & his staff, especially Jeanette & Bianca. His team does everything possible to ensure the best possible outcome. Today, I am moving very well, totally pain free & the only evidence that I even have replacements is my scars. Thank You Dr, Lyons & staff! I always recommend you to my friends & family due to your excellence!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Cindy L Fleenor in Maynardville, TN – Nov 07, 2017
Cindy, what a wonderful compliment to Dr. Lyons...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?
Reply Flag
Horrible staff and Dr. Steven Lyons was even worse. How is it possible to come into a room without saying a hello and not even look at your face??!! Then we called to schedule due to my fathers pain and I get the run around. Do not go to this office.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Betsy in Brandon, FL – Aug 11, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Lyons?

About Me

Care Philosophy

I treat patients like family and would not do anything to my patients that I would not do to my own parents.

Specialties

  • Reconstructive Orthopedic Surgery
  • Hip & Knee Orthopedics

Board Certifications

Education

1999
The University of Utah
Fellowship Hospital
1998
Wayne State University
Residency Hospital
1994
Wayne State University
Internship Hospital
1993
Rush Medical College Of Rush University
Medical School
1989
Loyola University Chicago
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

  • Healthgrades Honor Roll
  • Patients Choice Award in Orthopaedic Society, 2008-2009

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Steven Lyons, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Lyons has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Steven Lyons, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Steven Lyons, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Lyons' profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Steven Lyons, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Lyons accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Steven Lyons, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Lyons frequently treats Meniscus Surgery, Total Hip Replacement, and Partial Knee Replacement. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Lyons treats.

Where is Dr. Steven Lyons, MD's office located?

Dr. Lyons' office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Steven Lyons, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1
Citrus Park6117 GUNN HWY Tampa, FL 33625
2

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
3

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Lyons is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Adventhealth Carrollwood

Tampa, FL

75% Patient Experience Rating, 6% higher than the national average

St. Joseph's Hospital

Tampa, FL

79% Patient Experience Rating, 10% higher than the national average

11 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2021)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

3 Awards Received