Dr. Scott Cherne, MD

OphthalmologyMaleAge 62

Dr. Scott Cherne, MD is a Ophthalmology Specialist in Eugene, OR and has over 36 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Loma Linda School of Medicine medical school in 1985. He is affiliated with Mckenzie-willamette Medical Center. He is accepting new patients. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Cherne to book an appointment.

Dr. Cherne

Pacific Clear Vision Institute

1125 Darlene Ln Ste 100 Eugene, OR 97401
Accepting new patients

Dr. Cherne's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Cherne

3.8

Based on 12 ratings

5 Stars
58.333333333333336%
(7)
4 Stars
8.333333333333334%
(1)
3 Stars
8.333333333333334%
(1)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
25%
(3)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Cherne?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Explained conditions well (8)
  • Listened & answered questions (8)
  • Office environment (8)
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly (3)
  • Appointment was rushed (2)
  • Didn't explain conditions well (2)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
Dr. Cherne is a wonderful surgeon. He answered all my questions and put me at ease prior to my two surgeries. His surgical staff are professional, kind and considerate. I have told all my friends to see Dr. Cherne about cataract surgery Dr. Cherne is a very respected man
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Janice – Jun 17, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
I recently had cataract surgery at Pacific ClearVision and was told by a staff person that if I purchased multi-focal lenses, I would never again have to wear glasses. So I paid $4000 for the lenses and still need bifocals and reading glasses. Nobody told me that multi-focal lenses do not work for all people. I wrote THREE letters to the medical director regarding the inaccurate information and asked for a refund, but was ignored -- no reply and no refund!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sep 13, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Cherne, Collette and the staff at Pacific Clear Vision were absolutely wonderful from the start of the procedure all the way through the follow up care. They answered all my questions and ensured I had everything I needed to be comfortable throughout the procedure. Having Lasik has changed my life! I would highly recommend Dr. Cherne and staff at Pacific Clear Vision for anyone considering Lasik.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mar 22, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
Be prepared to wait a long time for the surgery scheduler to get to you. I think Dr. Cherne is professional, competent, and kind but having the patient put their life on hold while waiting for this surgery to be scheduled is very inconsiderate. There must not be enough help in the office.... hmmmm When you call about this problem the receptionists are not helpful and act a little indignant that you called.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
Helpful
Sue in OR – Jul 10, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
I recently had cataracts removed from my eyes. Dr Cherne was great. He answered each of my questions, put me at ease and now I can see clearly without glasses!!! It's the first time I've seen a distance in 50 years without them!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Eugene – May 31, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
Love Dr. Cherne and his able skills; dislike not hearing back from his office staff about scheduling the surgery. I've called, requesting a call-back, and my husband has also called, requesting a call-back. So far, no call back. Why????
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Liz in Roseburg, OR – Apr 16, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
Having cataract surgery has been a blessing to me. I've been extremely nearsighted most of my life and now I'm able to see distance without any correction! My experience in the Operating Room area couldn't have been better. The staff was very attentive, asking me if I was comfortable and warm enough. I wasn't aware of when Dr. Cherne started the cataract removal or anything in between. It couldn't have gone more smoothly. I am thankful for Dr. Cherne's expertise and kindness to me.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Diane Allen in Eugene, OR – Oct 31, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr Cherne is the best eye Doctor. Another eye doctor injured my eye during surgery in Florida and Dr Cherne saved my sight. The best person and Doctor
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Rita in Tillamook, OR – Jul 10, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Cherne?

About Me

Biography

Dr. Scott Cherne, MD is a Ophthalmology Specialist in Eugene, OR and has over 36 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Loma Linda...Read more

Specialties

  • Ophthalmology

Board Certifications

Education

Loma Linda University Med Center
Residency Hospital
Loma Linda University Med Center
Internship Hospital
1985
Loma Linda School of Medicine
Medical School

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Ophthalmology Specialists practice nearby?

Click here to compare with other Ophthalmology Specialists.

What are Dr. Scott Cherne, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Cherne frequently treats Keratitis, Cataract Removal Surgery, and Eye Infections. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Cherne treats.

Where is Dr. Scott Cherne, MD's office located?

Dr. Cherne's office is located at 1125 Darlene Ln Ste 100, Eugene, OR 97401. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

Does Dr. Scott Cherne, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Cherne has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Scott Cherne, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Oregon
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Cherne's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Cherne's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Keratitis
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Cherne treats Keratitis more than 89% of his peers

Dr. Cherne treats this condition more than 89% of his peers

Cataract Removal Surgery
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Cherne performs Cataract Removal Surgery more than 89% of his peers

Dr. Cherne performs this procedure more than 89% of his peers

Eye Infections
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Cherne treats Eye Infections more than 86% of his peers

Dr. Cherne treats this condition more than 86% of his peers

Dr. Cherne's conditions and procedures:

  • Age-Related Macular Degeneration
  • All Headaches (incl. Migraine)
  • Allergic Conjunctivitis
  • Astigmatism
  • Benign Neoplasm of Eye
  • Blepharitis
  • Cataract
  • Cataract Removal Surgery
  • Chalazion
  • Chorioretinal Scars
  • Cornea Surgery
  • Corneal Abrasion or Laceration
  • Corneal Diseases
  • Corneal Ulcer
  • Diabetic Macular Edema (DME)
  • Diplopia
  • Drooping Eyelids (Ptosis)
  • Drusen
  • Ectropion of Eyelid
  • Excision or Destruction of Lesion of Cornea
  • Eye Cancer
  • Eye Infections
  • Eyelid Disorders
  • Eyelid Surgery
  • Farsightedness
  • Floaters
  • Fuchs' Corneal Dystrophy
  • Glaucoma
  • Headache
  • Iridocyclitis
  • Keratitis
  • Keratoconus
  • Macular Hole
  • Migraine
  • Nearsightedness
  • Ocular Hypertension
  • Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis)
  • Presbyopia
  • Pterygium
  • Retinal Vein Occlusion
  • Senile Cataracts
  • Stye
  • Trichiasis
  • Uveitis and Iridocyclitis
  • Visual Field Defects
  • Wet Age-Related Macular Degeneration

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Cherne accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(541) 343-5000

Dr. Cherne accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Choice Plus POS II
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Cigna
Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Healthcare Management Administrators, Inc. (HMA)
HealthNet
Mental Health Network (MHN)
Moda Health
MultiPlan
PHCS Network PPO
Regence Blue Cross Blue Shield
Preferred Provider Network PPN
United Healthcare
Basic Plan
Vision Service Plan (VSP)

Locations

Pacific Clear Vision Institute

Pacific Clear Vision Institute1125 Darlene Ln Ste 100 Eugene, OR 97401
1
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 9:00am - 5:00pm
    • Tue: 9:00am - 5:00pm
    • Wed: 9:00am - 5:00pm
    • Thu: 9:00am - 5:00pm
    • Fri: 9:00am - 5:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions

Pacific Clear Vision Institute

Pacific Clear Vision Institute1125 Darlene Ln Eugene, OR 97401
2

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Cherne is affiliated with the following hospital. Select the hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Mckenzie-willamette Medical Center

Springfield, OR

72% Patient experience rating, 3% higher than the national average

1 Award Received