Dr. Salil Gupta, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Dr. Gupta
Accepting new patients

New York Pain Care PC

95 University Pl Fl 8 New York, NY 10003

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Salil Gupta, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in New York, NY and has over 23 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Mount Sinai School Of Medicine Of New York University medical school in 1999. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as Long Island Jewish Forest Hills and Long Island Jewish Medical Center. He is accepting new patients. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Gupta to book an appointment.

Compare with other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Gupta with our nearby Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital.

Make an appointment at NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital today at (718) 355-9439.

Filter by
Provider Ratings

These providers are on the medical staff of NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital.

Dr. Gupta's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Gupta

4.6

Based on 39 ratings

5 Stars
87.17948717948718%
(34)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
7.6923076923076925%
(3)
1 Star
5.128205128205129%
(2)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Gupta
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
He is fine. There is a hustle going on to buy devices especially with the PT. The billing is a nightmare. Even if you pay in the office you will be hounded by the billing service and sent "final notice" bills threatening to use collection agencies. And despite her helpful reassurances his office manager, Santana, is useless in resolving problems. There are plenty of good hand docs in NY. My orthopedic surgeon recommended Dr. Gupta. I am going to tell them not to.
What went well
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Tim Cavale – Jan 08, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
If one has to break a wrist, I can think of no better place to be cared for. Honest assessment, frank advice, patient and kind manner. Willing to answer questions. Wonderful staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Dec 08, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Dr. Gupta performed Carpal Tunnel surgery on my wrists and elbows. He carefully explained the procedure and patiently answered all my questions. The surgery itself was a breeze. Follow up visits were great. Office staff are friendly and helpful. Dr. Gupta is excellent.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Ken D – Nov 12, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
I had been a patient of Dr. Gupta's and moved to Florida for a few years and recently was experiencing paint in both hands and fingers and was pleased to find Dr. Gupta was in the same location and took my insurance and I had my appointment on 11.5.21. He is a truly gifted doctor in both diagnosing and explaining your condition and treatment options. He is both patient and pleasant and my finger and hand pain is already dimishing with his treatment and suggestions. I would highly recommend him to both family and friends.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Bernard Rubin – Nov 08, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Despite all the positive reviews here, I found that my experience with Dr. Gupta was very disappointing. The wait time was extremely long and the doctor’s bedside manner was less than pleasant. I injured a peripheral nerve in my elbow and his advice to me was to only take action when “things get worse”. His advice has definitely delayed my recovery to say the least. There are much better hand surgeons out there who will provide better guidance. Do not recommend.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Aug 05, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
My experience with Dr. Gupta has been exceptional. Dr. Gupta clearly outlined three alternate treatment options for my hand injury ranging from least to most aggressive. With his guidance and implicit approval, I settled on a non-surgical, and middle course option with very satisfactory results. In my estimation, this speaks volumes for Dr. Gupta's high standards of professionalism, especially in these times when my sense is that patients are too often pressured into the most extreme treatment options. In addition to my complete satisfaction with the treatment I received, it bears emphasis that Dr. Gupta's staff was unfailingly courteous and, if that were not enough, that I never had to wait for more than 5 minutes before being ushered into the examination room. I give a 5 Star rating without reservation.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Robert – Aug 02, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Dr. Gupta is both an excellent orthopedist and he has a very pleasant manner on a personal level. He answers all questions thoroughly, repeats his reasoning if not understood immediately and makes you feel as if he really cares for the patient. I have seen him for non surgical visits, as well as for hand and wrist surgery. He inspires trust, thus it’s easy to make decisions based on the information and choices he offers. I would recommend Dr. Gupta to anyone who needs a hand surgeon.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Office environment
Helpful
Stephen Marcus – May 19, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
I had a ganglion cyst on my wrist and underwent surgery under Dr. Gupta's care. He and his staff made the experience as seamless as possible from start to finish. The care received is always quick, thorough, and high-quality. I'm happily on a path towards recovery thanks to him!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Chris M – Jan 27, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
I came to Dr. Gupta with a small problem involving the tip of one finger which he treated with a level of care and patience that I found to be very reassuring. He took the time to explain what had happened and how it would heal. He forwarded me to the radiology department and then the to the occupational therapist who fashioned a splint. Both were quick, efficient and courteous. The follow-up six weeks later confirmed a wholly successful treatment. I thought he and the members of his staff were excellent.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sheila Rauch – Jan 15, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
I ruptured my EPL and broke my wrist in two places. Dr. Gupta and his team performed the surgery necessary to restore my hand. His bedside manner is top notch and after care follow-up visits were very professional. I highly recommend him as a hand surgeon.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mario C Valdes – Dec 04, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
What a great experience! Phoning around to get help with a broken wrist, Dr. Gupta's office was able to schedule me right away. Every appointment was fast and efficient. Virtually no waiting, and Dr. Gupta was friendly and communicative. Staff there are wonderful. Healed and grateful.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Dec 04, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
I’ve just had my second carpal tunnel release surgery with Dr. Salil Gupta and I couldn’t have been more pleased. He’s a brilliant hand surgeon with wonderful bedside manner. Even the staff is great. They’re all efficient, helpful accommodating and warm. What more can I say?
Helpful
Mar 22, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Facing a badly fractured wrist, I was referred to Dr. Gupta for treatment. From the check in to the surgery and followup, everything went smoothly and I felt well taken care of. Santa, his manager and surgical scheduler, went above and beyond to get me scheduled for my surgery, arranging preops and putting me at ease. Leslie, his in house OT is also amazing and made me great splints. I am now 4 months out and my wrist is almost back to normal. Thank you for the great care!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
New York, NY – Oct 26, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Born & raised by 2 NYC med. mal. lawyers & had a lifetime of my own chronic conditions / major operations - - I say this, not to prove myself any kind of med. genius, but that I’ve just been wired to know the heights doctors are capable of & the depths they sadly sink to... I can’t explain in enough words how wonderful a physician Dr. Salil Gupta is, because he’s an even better man. And that’s ALWAYS the key: if the DR. in question seems like he/she is a better human being than a doctor: ??????
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Elizabeth Pellini in New York, NY – Sep 29, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
This is one amazing doctor. My mom is a senior citizen and she broke her wrist. The issue was that she broke it while on vacation, then she came back to the states and deal with her insurance red tape. We didn't get to Dr. Salil Gupta unti 11 days after the break. We got to his office, he has a great admin team and the wait time was incredibly fast. He saw her, was very detailed in what he saw, took another x-ray, etc. In less than 24 hours she was in surgery. He was so caring through it all.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mar 14, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
The wait to see the Dr. was insanely long. I appreciate that when I did meet with him, that I didn't feel rushed, but it also wasn't fun to wait 40 min past my appointment time to see him. The appointments should be spaced out so that doesn't happen. That aside, it was disappointing to be misdiagnosed to the point where a surgery was scheduled that did not end up being necessary. I would think that after an MRI a proper diagnosis could have been given. I'm out $600 for nothing.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
New York, NY – Jun 22, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Exelent Dr ,who is well mannered. Dr Gupta explains the medical procedure clearly and takes time to listen and makes the patient comfortable. I would higly recommend him and his staff to my family and friends.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Iwona Tworzydlo in Woodside, NY – May 25, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Dr. Gupta reconstructed my entire left shoulder during a long surgery almost 6 years ago and did an amazing job. He is an excellent surgeon who saved the use of my left shoulder and arm. I would recommend him to anyone!!!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Anthony P. in Whitestone – Apr 28, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
I think Dr. Gupta and his staff are excellent! I had a very positive experience in his office. He diagnosed my condition and provided me with his recommendations in a timely manner. He is not rushing to do surgery. Suggested other treatment options first to see if they will help! Would highly recommend him to my family and friends!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Maria H, in Howard Beach, NY – Jan 12, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?
Reply
Excellent surgeon, very friendly and helpful, outstanding hand surgeon, will recommend everyone!!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dec 19, 2015
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Gupta?
Provider explaining information to patient

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

About Me

Biography

Dr. Salil Gupta, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in New York, NY and has over 23 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Mount...Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

Texas Scottish Rite Hospital
Fellowship Hospital
Hospital for Joint Diseases Orthopaedic Institute
Internship Hospital
2006
Saint Luke's Roosevelt Hospital
Fellowship Hospital
2004
Hospital for Joint Diseases Orthopaedic Institute
Residency Hospital
1999
Mount Sinai School Of Medicine Of New York University
Medical School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Salil Gupta, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Salil Gupta, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Gupta's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Salil Gupta, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Gupta accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Salil Gupta, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Gupta frequently treats Neuroplasty, Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow), and Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Gupta treats.

Where is Dr. Salil Gupta, MD's office located?

Dr. Gupta's office is located at 95 University Pl Fl 8, New York, NY 10003. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Salil Gupta, MD speak?

Dr. Gupta speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

Does Dr. Salil Gupta, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Gupta has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Salil Gupta, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for New York
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Gupta's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Gupta's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Neuroplasty
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Gupta performs Neuroplasty more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Gupta performs this procedure more than 100% of his peers

Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Gupta treats Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow) more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Gupta treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Lateral Epicondylitis (Tennis Elbow)
  • Medial Epicondylitis (Golfer's Elbow)
Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Gupta treats Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist more than 99% of his peers

Dr. Gupta treats this condition more than 99% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Osteoarthritis of Wrist

Dr. Gupta's conditions and procedures:

  • Achilles Tendinitis
  • ACL Surgery
  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • Ankle Arthroscopy
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Arthroscopic Shoulder Surgery
  • Ataxia
  • Broken Arm
  • Bursitis
  • Carpal Tunnel Injection
  • Carpal Tunnel Release
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Coccyx or Sacrum Fracture
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • De Quervain's Disease
  • De Quervain's Release
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Dressing and-or Debridement of Wound, Infection, or Burn (incl. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy)
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Dupuytren's Contracture Injection
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Elbow Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Elbow Replacement
  • Elbow Sprain
  • Elbow Tenotomy
  • Excision of Femur or Knee
  • Excision of Humerus
  • Excision of Metacarpal and Carpal
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Foot and Ankle Ligament and Tendon Repair
  • Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
  • Gait Abnormality
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Gout
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand or Wrist Tendon Transfer
  • Hand Tendon Repair
  • Hip Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Hip Replacement
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Juvenile Chronic Arthritis
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
  • Limb Pain
  • Lupus
  • Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL) Sprain
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Myelopathy
  • Myofascial Trigger Point Injection
  • Neck Strain (incl. Whiplash Injury)
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Nerve Root Injury and Plexus Disorders (incl. Pinched Nerve)
  • Neuroplasty
  • Non-Unions and Malunions of Fractures
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteochondritis Dissecans
  • Osteopenia
  • Osteosarcoma
  • Peripheral Autonomic Neuropathy
  • Peripheral Nerve Block
  • Platelet-Rich Plasma Injection (PRP)
  • Radiculopathy (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Rotator Cuff Tear
  • Runner's Knee
  • Sciatica (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Scoliosis
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Spinal Reconstructive Surgery for Deformities
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Spine Deformities
  • Spine Fractures, Traumatic
  • Spondylitis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Steroid Injection
  • Still's Disease
  • Systemic Chondromalacia
  • Systemic Sclerosis
  • Thoracic Spine Fracture
  • Tibia and Fibula Fractures
  • Trigger Finger
  • Trigger Finger Release
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate
  • Wrist Fracture
  • Wrist Replacement

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Gupta accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(212) 604-1340

Dr. Gupta accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Select
Anthem
Blue Access (Select Network)-NY
Blue Priority (Select Network)-NY
Empire (Select Network)-NY POS
National (BlueCard Basic) PPO
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
EmblemHealth
GHI PPO
Health Insurance Plan of Greater New York (HIP) PPO
Empire Blue Cross Blue Shield
Empire Blue Cross Blue Shield HMO
Prism Blue Priority EPO
Excellus BlueCross BlueShield
Excellus BlueCross BlueShield PPO
Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
Harvard Pilgrim Health Care PPO
Oxford Health Plans
Freedom Plan
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
Oxford Liberty

Locations

Practice

New York Pain Care PC95 University Pl Fl 8 New York, NY 10003
1
Lynn Ang10201 66th Rd Forest Hills, NY 11375
2