Dr. Roy Sanders, MD

Orthopedic Surgery •  Male • Age 67
  
Dr. Sanders
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Roy Sanders, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL. He is affiliated with medical facilities Memorial Hospital Of Tampa and Tampa General Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Sanders to book an appointment.


Compare with other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Sanders with our nearby Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at Brandon Regional Hospital.

Make an appointment at Brandon Regional Hospital today at (813) 419-0643.

provider hospital

These providers are on the medical staff of Brandon Regional Hospital.

Dr. Sanders' Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Sanders

5.0

Based on 26 ratings

5 Stars
100%
(26)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
0%
(0)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Sanders?
(Select your rating)
What went well
    What could be improved
      RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
      Reply Flag
      What can I say about Dr. Sanders that hasn't already been said? He is fantastic, brilliant, erudite, caring, kind and I trust him completely. He's great! I was in a near fatal head on car crash (Feb 2018). FOI trauma surgeon Dr. Mir, FOI team and TGH put me back together. Everything below my neck was broken, dislocated or injured except my right arm and left leg. My right foot, ankle and leg had the most damage. Sept. 2018, Dr. Sanders was asked to evaluate my injuries that weren't healing. Plus, I developed MRSA. He admitted me that day and saved my leg from possible amputation. At first, part of my tibia was removed, a cement spacer was inserted and I was given 6 weeks of high dose IV antibiotics. 12/2018, I was able to walk and drive with the knowledge my talus would likely be eroded. 3/2019, my talus sustained enough damage to require ankle fusion. (as a lifelong athlete, I wasn't excited) Ankle Fusion was done 5/2019. I was released 7/8/2020 from care and can do most activities.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      John M. – Jul 09, 2020
      Hi John, thank you for sharing your story. We are...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Dr. Roy Sanders is a gifted surgeon, and an extraordinary leader in the orthopedic field, particularly in the evolving area of total ankle replacements. He is also extremely kind and compassionate. I am now three months post replacement surgery and can say that he and his team, including the physical therapists at FOI (thank you Roman and Gabe), have me well on my way to significantly increased mobility and far less pain. I have a much more normal gait than before the surgery, and do not experience the crushing arthritis that made walking almost unbearable for me. I have spoken with other professional friends and family who work in the medical field, and the consensus is the same: Dr. Sanders is brilliant, experienced and truly cares about his patients. I am, indeed, very fortunate to have had my ankle surgery with him.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      Caroline – Mar 23, 2020
      Hi Caroline, thank you for the kind review of Dr....Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Just over six months ago I had a subtalar midfoot fusion, Strayer, Dwyer, Evans surgical procedure performed by Dr. Sanders on my left foot. Before the procedure, I had experienced excruciating pain for five years whenever I walked, or attempted to exercise. Today I am pain free and walking normally again, and I feel great. Thanks to Dr. Sanders, I will now be able to live a normal life again.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      Mar 10, 2020
      We are so glad to hear that you are pain free and...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Dr. Sanders is an elite surgeon. He worked on both a rare lesion I had on my hip and he fused my right ankle after a serious open fracture. If it weren't for Dr. Sanders masterwork I'm not sure where I would be today. He's not afraid of the most difficult cases that make other doctors shrug.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      Kristen Tilrico – Mar 06, 2020
      Hi Kristen, thank you for the wonderful review of...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      An amazingly skilled surgeon who is not afraid to take on other Doctors mistakes! No challenge is too difficult for this experienced surgeon as he thrives on repairing and restoring lives! I met Dr.Sanders after 3+ months of improper care, by another surgeon in my home town of Ft Myers which resulted in a non-union of my compound ankle fracture. My care required six surgeries which included a bone graft to replace over 2 inches of degraded tibia, caused by infection from 3 soil-based bacteria. At 1 point, when we were exhausted from treatment & considering amputation, Dr.Sanders pleaded not to give up, as he refused to give up on me. 14 months after my fall, I was restriction free on my way to restored life thanks to Dr. Sanders. Dr. Sanders strives to achieve perfection from day 1, but that does not mean it will be quick. He does things the right way which requires time and patience. Dr.Sanders is an amazing doctor whom I now call a friend. Thank you so much for restoring my life!
      What went well
      • Appointment scheduling
      • Office environment
      • Staff friendliness
      • Appointment wasn't rushed
      • Listened & answered questions
      • Explained conditions well
      • Trusted the provider's decisions
      What could be improved
      • Long wait times
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option2
      thumbs down icon option
      Neal – Mar 03, 2020
      Hi Neal, thank you for the wonderful review and...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Too bad there aren't more stars. He is a gifted surgeon who ended my years of pain by doing what three other ortho surgeons would not do. He's extremely knowledgeable and explains the procedures in detail in layman's terms. I praise him to anyone who inquires about my two surgeries and recommend him to all of them. He's personable and pleasant to chat with. Thank you very much Dr. Sanders, for giving me my life back.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      Danniel Vuillleeumier – Jan 23, 2020
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      I almost cut my foot off in a childhood accident and had several corrective surgeries later. I have had problems with this foot for over 50 years. Dr. Sanders did corrective surgery on my deformed foot including severe hammer toes. I had problems with pain, swelling, infection and cellulitis following surgery. Dr. Sanders helped get me through my problems and was always there when I needed him. He is a hero to me.
      What went well
      • Appointment scheduling
      • Office environment
      • Staff friendliness
      • Appointment wasn't rushed
      • Listened & answered questions
      • Explained conditions well
      • Trusted the provider's decisions
      What could be improved
      • Long wait times
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option1
      thumbs down icon option
      Sam Scifres – Jan 09, 2020
      Hi Sam, thank you for sharing your experience...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Dr. Sanders was very reassuring that he could fix what another surgeon had badly messed up. He is an amazing ankle surgeon and is highly recommended
      What went well
      • Appointment scheduling
      • Office environment
      • Staff friendliness
      • Appointment wasn't rushed
      • Listened & answered questions
      • Explained conditions well
      • Trusted the provider's decisions
      What could be improved
      • Long wait times
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option2
      thumbs down icon option
      Patti Wethington – Nov 21, 2019
      Hi Patti, thank you for the five stars and kind...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      What I appreciated the most is that what Dr. Sanders MD opinioned was going to be the outcome, was actually exactly as he predicted. He determined I was a surgical candidate, completed the Ankle Fusion surgery and told me what to expect at the outcome and how long the recovery would take. It was almost exactly 6-mos to the day of the surgery. I appreciated his honesty and candor, and I was very pleased with the outcome and especially the amount of mobility i have now. Great job keep up the good work.
      What went well
      • Appointment scheduling
      • Office environment
      • Staff friendliness
      • Appointment wasn't rushed
      • Listened & answered questions
      • Explained conditions well
      • Trusted the provider's decisions
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option1
      thumbs down icon option
      Anthony Grunkemeyer in LAKELAND – Jun 24, 2019
      Anthony, we appreciate the five-star review! We...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Torn peroneal tendon, right ankle. Or as Dr. Sanders put it, shredded ...twice! This was torn on a hike the first time, and an on-the-job injury the second. Exactly the same place. Dr Sanders handled both injuries tenderly and professionally. And painted a grim picture of my ankle if I did this again. His advanced repair skills were greatly appreciated in the second surgery, and warned me to stop doing this, as there was not much raw material left for a third time. I have been baby-stepping since, using his prescribed ankle brace. He was thoughtful in his approach with me, gave me options, and weighted the risks and consequences of each suggestion. He and his support staff are wonderful, worth the drive we make from another county to see him. And the facilities are top notch.
      What went well
      • Appointment scheduling
      • Office environment
      • Staff friendliness
      • Appointment wasn't rushed
      • Listened & answered questions
      • Explained conditions well
      • Trusted the provider's decisions
      What could be improved
      • Long wait times
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      Lauren in Lakeland – Jun 13, 2019
      Thank you Lauren! We are sorry to hear about the...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      I was born with clubfoot and was unable to walk without crutches for 5 months until I had my surgery in May 2018. My foot was unleveled and deformed. I went to so many doctors who could not help me, living in high pain, until Dr. Sanders gave me my life back. I went from being unable to walk to hiking in Colorado 5 months after major surgery. This man is a miracle worker and I am so grateful for what he has done. I am excited to live my life fully as a young 22 year old without pain.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option1
      thumbs down icon option1
      Christian Robertson in Jacksonville, FL – Jan 15, 2019
      Christian, thank you for sharing your story with...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      For at least a few years, I had not been able to walk around a store to shop - I had to use a cart - because of constant pain in my ankle and foot. I am 75 yrs old, and had had surgery about 15 years ago to fuse my ankle - but everything had broken down and I was looking ahead to living my life in my electric chair. A physician suggested I go see Dr. Sanders, and that visit changed my life. I had seen other drs. before and instinctively knew Dr. Sanders could fix my ankle. And, he did!
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option1
      thumbs down icon option
      Gail Brehm in Englewood, FL – Nov 07, 2017
      Gail, wow!, we are so happy to hear that Dr....Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Dr. Sanders is the absolute best in his field , I sustained a severe calcaneus fracture and he was our only hope . Dr. Sanders put me back together and restored my ability to work , walk , and climb . His dedication , skill , and compassion for his patients is very moving . My wife and I can hardly express the immense appreciation , admiration , gratitude , and respect we have for Dr. Sanders .
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option1
      thumbs down icon option
      Sonny & Q in Palm Harbor, FL – Nov 07, 2017
      Thanks Sonny! Dr. Sanders is incredibly gifted...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Dr. Sanders is a genius in repairing foot and ankle fractures and injuries. I was hit pretty bad in a car accident, no fault of mine. I had bone non-reunion which he set correctly and I am on my way to having almost complete recovery. I cannot thank him enough and I cannot thank my stars enough that I found him as my doctor!
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option2
      thumbs down icon option1
      Tampa, FL – Sep 19, 2017
      Thank you for taking the time to provide a...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Dr Sanders and his assistant gave me excellent care. Unfortunately the scheduling staff for PT is a joke. Since I live in Fort Myers, I need PT here...the last 2 weeks I have left 3 messages and even spoke to 2 different associates about scheduling the PT. I gave phone AND Fax #'s for the facility here in fort Meyers I need to go to. I call each day to see if they have received the referral yet. No luck. 2 weeks!!!! Oh but billing dept has sent a bill for the compression sox they sold me
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option1
      thumbs down icon option
      Fort myers – Aug 16, 2017
      Hi there, we are pleased to hear you received...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      I would most definitely recommend Dr. Sanders to anyone needing his expertise.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option
      thumbs down icon option
      Parrish, FL – Jun 19, 2017
      Dr. Sanders' Reply – Flag
      Thank you for the kind review!
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?
      Reply Flag
      Excellent! Dr. Sanders is the Best! My son was a passenger in a very bad car accident, in ER they we were told he might not walk again as his foot was destroyed. Thank God we got to Dr Sanders who was able to leave our son's foot as good as it was. He is simply a Geniuos. Thank God for Dr. Sanders.
      What went well
      No results
      What could be improved
      No results
      Was this helpful?
      thumbs up icon option7
      thumbs down icon option
      Tampa General Hospital and Florida Ortho Inst in Tampa Florida – Mar 20, 2016
      We are sorry that your son had to go through that...Read More
      ×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Roy Sanders, MD?

      Leave a review

      How was your experience with Dr. Sanders?

      About Me

      Care Philosophy

      Dr. Sanders provides nonsurgical and surgical care to patients with complex fractures and foot and ankle disorders. He specializes in foot and ankle surgery, orthopedic trauma, including complex deformities, non-unions/malunions, and bone infections. His goal is to restore function and relieve pain, so that the patient may return to an active lifestyle.

      Specialties

      • Orthopedic Surgery

      Board Certifications

      Education

      1988
      Harborview Medical Center
      Fellowship Hospital
      1986
      Kantonsspital Chur
      Fellowship Hospital
      1986
      Klinikum Rechts Der Isar
      Fellowship Hospital
      1985
      Vanderbilt University Medical Center
      Fellowship Hospital
      1985
      Hosp Jt Dis
      Residency Hospital
      1981
      Beth Israel Medical Center - Petrie Campus
      Internship Hospital
      1975
      Queens College, The City University Of New York
      Undergraduate School

      Languages

      • German
      • English

      Awards

      • Healthgrades Honor Roll
      • Best Doctors in America, Peer-elected, 1992-2006
      • Clinical Professor of Orthopaedics, University of South Florida, 1996-2005
      • Chief, Department of Orthopaedics, Nashville General Hospital at Meharry, 1986-1987

      Frequently Asked Questions

      Does Dr. Roy Sanders, MD offer telehealth services?

      Is Dr. Roy Sanders, MD accepting new patients?

      Does Dr. Roy Sanders, MD accept my insurance?

      Insurance Check

      Search for your insurance provider

      Dr. Sanders accepts

      Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

      (813) 978-9700

      Dr. Sanders accepts the following insurance:

      Aetna
      Aetna HMO
      Choice Plus POS II
      Choice PPO
      Anthem
      National (BlueCard) PPO
      AvMed
      Blue Cross Blue Shield
      Blue Card PPO
      Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
      Blue Care HMO
      Blue Select
      BlueDental Choice
      CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
      HealthyBlue 2.0
      HealthyBlue Advantage
      Cigna
      Cigna HMO
      Cigna PPO
      Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
      LocalPlus
      Open Access
      Open Access Plus
      Coventry Health Care of Florida
      Coventry Health Care of Florida PPO
      First Health (Coventry Health Care)
      First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
      Humana
      Choice Care PPO
      Preferred PPO
      Select HMO
      Tampa Bay CoreNet
      Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
      Tricare
      TriCare for Life
      UnitedHealthCare
      Choice Plus POS
      Options PPO
      United Healthcare

      Background Check

      No malpractice claims found for Florida
      No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
      No board actions found for the years we collect data
      Learn more about background checks

      Experience Check

      Check Dr. Sanders' experience treating your condition or procedure

      Dr. Sanders' Top Procedures and Conditions

      Treatment Frequency
      Foot Conditions
      normal
      normal

      Treatment Frequency

      Dr. Sanders treats Foot Conditions more than 76% of his peers

      Dr. Sanders treats this condition more than 76% of his peers

      Foot Fracture
      normal
      normal

      Treatment Frequency

      Dr. Sanders treats Foot Fracture more than 76% of his peers

      Dr. Sanders treats this condition more than 76% of his peers

      Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Open
      normal
      normal

      Treatment Frequency

      Dr. Sanders performs Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Open more than 76% of his peers

      Dr. Sanders performs this procedure more than 76% of his peers

      Dr. Sanders' conditions and procedures:

      • Achilles Tendinitis
      • Achilles Tenotomy
      • Ankle and Foot Instability or Derangement
      • Ankle Arthroscopy
      • Ankle Fracture
      • Ankle Replacement
      • Ankle Sprain and Achilles Tendon Sprain or Rupture
      • Ankle Sprains and Strains
      • Arthritis of the Elbow
      • Ataxia
      • Baker’s Cyst
      • Bunion
      • Bursitis
      • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
      • Elbow Replacement
      • Elbow Sprain
      • Foot and Ankle Dislocation Treatment, Closed
      • Foot and Ankle DislocationTreatment, Open
      • Foot and Ankle Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
      • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Closed
      • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Open
      • Foot and Ankle Ligament and Tendon Repair
      • Foot Conditions
      • Foot Fracture
      • Foot Sprain
      • Fracture
      • Fracture Care
      • Ganglion Cyst
      • Hammer Toe
      • Heel Spur
      • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
      • Knee Dislocation Treatment
      • Knee Replacement
      • Knee Replacement Revision
      • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
      • Morton's Neuroma
      • Non-Traumatic Rupture of Achilles Tendon
      • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
      • Osteoarthritis of Hands
      • Osteoarthritis of Hip
      • Osteoarthritis of Hip and Thigh
      • Osteoarthritis of Spine
      • Osteochondritis Dissecans
      • Rotator Cuff Surgery
      • Sciatica (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
      • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
      • Spine Fracture Treatment
      • Stress Fracture of Foot
      • Systemic Chondromalacia
      • Thoracic Spine Fracture
      • Tibia or Fibula Stress Fracture
      • Trigger Finger
      • Wrist Fracture

      Locations

      Florida Orthopaedic Institute

      North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
      1