Dr. Priya Parmar, MD

PsychiatryFemaleAge 52

Dr. Parmar
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

State of Mind Wellness Center

2629 Townsgate Rd Ste 210 Westlake Village, CA 91361

Make an Appointment

(805) 835-4401

Dr. Priya Parmar, MD is a Psychiatry Specialist in Westlake Village, CA and has over 26 years of experience in the medical field. She graduated from WV UNIV SCH OF MED medical school in 1996. She is accepting new patients and has indicated that she accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Parmar to book an appointment.

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Psychiatry Specialists in your area

At a Glance

  • Offers Telehealth
    This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for California
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Parmar's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Parmar's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Psychiatric Evaluation - Child and Adolescent
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Parmar performs Psychiatric Evaluation - Child and Adolescent more than 80% of her peers

Dr. Parmar performs this procedure more than 80% of her peers

Dementia or Depression Screening
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Parmar performs Dementia or Depression Screening more than 80% of her peers

Dr. Parmar performs this procedure more than 80% of her peers

Psychological Evaluations Prior to Bariatric Surgery
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Parmar performs Psychological Evaluations Prior to Bariatric Surgery more than 80% of her peers

Dr. Parmar performs this procedure more than 80% of her peers

Dr. Parmar's conditions and procedures:

  • ADHD and-or ADD
  • Alcohol Misuse Screening and Counseling
  • Alcohol or Substance Misuse Screening and Counseling
  • Anorexia
  • Anxiety
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)
  • Dementia or Depression Screening
  • Eating Disorders
  • Generalized Anxiety Disorder
  • Ketamine and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Combination Therapy
  • Major Depressive Disorder
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
  • Personality Disorders
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Postpartum Depression
  • Psychiatric Diseases
  • Psychiatric Evaluation
  • Psychiatric Evaluation - Child and Adolescent
  • Psychiatric Medication Therapy
  • Psychological Evaluation
  • Psychological Evaluations Prior to Bariatric Surgery
  • Psychotherapy Services
  • Substance Abuse
  • Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Parmar accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(805) 835-4401

Dr. Parmar accepts the following insurance:

Cigna
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
While we are not in network, we file claims for most major insurance plans

Dr. Parmar's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Parmar

3.5

Based on 11 ratings

5 Stars
54.54545454545455%
(6)
4 Stars
9.090909090909092%
(1)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
36.36363636363637%
(4)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Parmar
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
How do I say, "Thank you" to someone who has impacted my life in the incredible way that Dr. Parmar has? She has been my psychiatrist for over 5 years and has guided me through mindfulness, conscious living, attachment theory, and serving as an emollient to my years of trauma. She helped me establish my medication regiment and after my hospitalization in 2016, helped me reach heights I never thought I'd reach. Including mood stability and recognizing symptoms as they arise to prevent panic attacks and further crisis. So I guess the only way to say "thank you," is with intention, the way she taught me.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Oct 27, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Dr. Parmar portrayed very odd and unprofessional characteristics for someone who is a mental health “professional”. She would become irrationally upset when I declined medications I felt would cause more harm than good and demonstrated victim blaming mentality and an unsympathetic nature. I would not come to her if you are severely depressed or have a serious mental health disorder. I am not upset with her or “medical liaison” Jenna, as I feel they are simply just not equip to handling more serious psychiatric cases.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Oct 11, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
I saw Dr. Parmar several years ago, and she was absolutely amazing, knowledgeable, insightful, and compassionate.
Helpful
Sep 16, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Don’t make MISTAKE I made by choosing her for my teenager. Save your time and money - go elsewhere !
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Nov 14, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
I have sever ADHD and Dr Parmar is by far the most caring person I have ever encountered in the psychiatric field. If you want a caring doctor that is extremely knowledge dr Parmar is the best !
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Aug 10, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Dr Parmar is amazing!!! She is kind, thoughtful and listens. I have seen many psychiatrists and dr Parmar is by far the most caring and knowledgeable.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Office environment
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Aug 10, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Dr Parmar has been nothing but a great help to my husband and myself. My husband has been diagnosed with PTSD and severe depression. Dr Parmar was ran tests to figure out which medications would work properly and has also provided counseling for the PTSD and Depression with her appointments. She is always sure to touch base on any concern you may have and will discuss in detail if necessary. The Medical Liason Lauren is so helpful in getting answers and being sure meds are filled as prescribed
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
DR in CA – Jun 19, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Dr. Parmar saved my life. I have been her patient for over a year and I have no words or actions to thank her enough for taking good care of me. I trust her. I trust her treatment approach. And I am forever thankful for her helping me to understand who I am and help me to grow as a person.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Scheilla R. in Winnetka, CA – Apr 12, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Dr. Parmar helped my daughter (14 yrs) get on a medicinal regimen that immensely improved her mental state. She has ADHD and GAD so it was a tricky case. She tends to be conservative when it comes to prescribing meds, but when you are dealing with children, this is the best approach and ensures your child doesn't end up over medicated.. The only negative with Dr. Parmar is that she doesn't take insurance.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Simi Valley, CA – Feb 21, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?
Reply
Rude, rude, rude. Should not be a psychiatrist..If she can't handle a case of mild anxiety, how can she treat a severe case?
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Malibu, CA – Sep 18, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Parmar?
Provider explaining information to patient

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

About Me

Care Philosophy

Dr Priya is experienced in the biopsychosocial treatment of illness. Her approach is compassionate and patient centered.  She takes time to understand...Read more

Biography

Dr Priya lives with her family in Agoura Hills. She loves to travel and read. She has studied philosophy, anthropology, literature and medicine.  She...Read more

Specialties

  • Psychiatry
  • Addiction Psychiatry
  • Pediatric Psychiatry

Education

2000
California Pacific Medical Center
Fellowship Hospital
1999
John A Burns Sch Med U Hawaii
Residency Hospital
1997
W Va U Hlth Scis Ctr
Internship Hospital
1996
WV UNIV SCH OF MED
Medical School
,

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Priya Parmar, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Parmar has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Priya Parmar, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Priya Parmar, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Parmar's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Priya Parmar, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Parmar accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Priya Parmar, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Parmar frequently treats Psychiatric Evaluation - Child and Adolescent, Dementia or Depression Screening, and Psychological Evaluations Prior to Bariatric Surgery . See all procedures and conditions Dr. Parmar treats.

Where is Dr. Priya Parmar, MD's office located?

Dr. Parmar's office is located at 2629 Townsgate Rd Ste 210, Westlake Village, CA 91361. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Priya Parmar, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

State of Mind Wellness Center

State of Mind Wellness Center2629 Townsgate Rd Ste 210 Westlake Village, CA 91361
1
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 10:00am - 5:00pm
    • Tue: 10:00am - 5:00pm
    • Wed: 10:00am - 5:00pm
    • Thu: 10:00am - 5:00pm
    • Fri: 9:00am - 3:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions