Dr. Michael Miranda, DO

Dr. Michael Miranda, DO

Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

(813) 588-8433

Dr. Michael Miranda, DO is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Riverview, FL. Dr. Miranda has more experience with Hip & Pelvic Surgery than other specialists in his area. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as HCA Florida Brandon Hospital and South Bay Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Miranda to book an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

Riverview11286 Boyette Rd Ste 101 Riverview, FL 33569
1
Brandon560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101 Brandon, FL 33511
2

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Miranda is affiliated with South Bay Hospital Sun City Center, a highly rated hospital.

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital America’s 100 Best Hospitals for Orthopedic Surgery Award™ See hospitals

More Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital

Dr. Miranda's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Miranda

4.1

Based on 48 ratings

5 Stars
72.91666666666667%
(35)
4 Stars
6.25%
(3)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
20.833333333333332%
(10)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Miranda
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Dr Miranda put my new Hip in, and did a very very good job! He is a great Doctor, and was very good at explaining everything to me. I would not hesitate to use him again, if my other Hip needs replacement.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
chris g tucker – Apr 10, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
My friends who all had very positive results at Florida Medical Clinic with Knee, Hip or Shoulder replacements, highly recommended Dr. Miranda and his staff to me. My Total Knee Replacement experience with Dr. Miranda and his staff was totally consistent with my friends' recommendations. I will definitely return to Florida Medical Clinic should I need them in the future, and I very highly recommend them.
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
William Hintz – Sep 11, 2020
William, thank you for your 5 star rating and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
Dr Miranda is in my opinion an excellent surgeon; his anterior approach for my hip replacement allowed me to heal in remarkable time with limited pain. His P.A. (Kelly) took plenty of time to answer my questions and explain everything. I highly recommend.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Dan Sirois – Dec 04, 2019
Hi Dan, thank you for complimenting Dr. Miranda...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
I can not begin to tell you how pleased with my entire experience with Dr. Miranda and his staff. Amanda's attention to detail, as his assistant is unmatched. Dr. Miranda demonstrates the greatest of bedside manor and professionalism. As a high school biology teacher, recovery from a partial knee replacement during the middle of the semester was quite concerning. I missed only 8 days of school; healing surpassed my greatest expectations. Dr. Miranda will be performing a partial knee replacement on my remaining knee in less than 12 weeks following my first. I am looking forward to a fabulous 2020 where walking and running are again part of my everyday life.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Lisa – Nov 16, 2019
Hi Lisa, thank you for the five stars and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
Dr. Miranda replaced my right knee in April and I am feeling better than ever. No limp, no pain and back to golfing, walking, chasing after the grandkids. I expected great results since my hip replacement 16 months ago was also very successful. Dr. Miranda is a very skilled surgeon who is up on the latest advances in joint replacement.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Lisa J – Jul 26, 2019
Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for sharing your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
Excellent surgeon and staff. Was pain free day after surgery. Was able to get appointment within two weeks where I would have had to wait 3 months before being able to get a followup appointment with other recommended surgeon. I am a senior citizen patient and highly recommend Dr. Miranda. Can't say enough.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Pete Galla in Land O Lakes, FL – Mar 01, 2019
Mr. Galla, thank you for taking time to share...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
Not Recommended. I don't think leaving true bad reviews have any impact on this doctors. Those leaving good reviews, probably because he will see you only if you are a candidate for Knee surgery. Otherwise, he will send each visit his Inexperienced students to see you and he will never show his face to you. Billing to insurance will show he saw you but he never does. His students have no clue what is going on with your knees. They just beat around the bush. Today I'm still suffering.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
FL – Feb 14, 2019
We're sorry you feel this way and must have...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
In a 4 month period, I had total hip replacement done on BOTH my hips. Dr. Miranda did an outstanding job with the surgeries. The replacements are working out great I am living with no pain now and I can go through my life again being active and productive. Dr. Miranda is an outstanding surgeon and his staff is second to none. Amanda his assistant is not only extemely nice but also helped me with any concerns and questions I had. These people are a class act and I recommend them highly.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Chris Corpora in Zephyrhills, FL – Nov 15, 2018
Awe, we are so happy that you have no pain and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
This is my second hip replacement within 1 1/2 years Dr Miranda has changed my life for the best, I was very active but when I was hit with hip joints that would not allow me to continue this lifestyle, I turned to Dr. Miranda, first hip replacement was 2017, same day surgery, and within 5 days I was walking unassisted, second replacement was 9/28/18 and I am walking 2 miles a day, unassisted. Dr Miranda team is professional and will give you the best care you will ever receive. Thank you.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Michael Nolan in Apollo Beach , FL – Oct 23, 2018
Michael, thank you for sharing your story about...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
I highly recommend Dr. Miranda. I did a lot of research when I realized that I needed hip replacement surgery, and I actually talked to 2 other surgeons before finding Dr. Miranda. There is no doubt in my mind I picked the right surgeon! Dr. Miranda took all the time I needed to answer my questions about the surgery and recovery. He listened to me, and was very kind and compassionate. I have been amazed at how quickly I am recovering. I had the surgery 6 weeks ago and am already walking 3 miles
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Moselle Bernal in Wimauma, FL – Jul 20, 2018
Moselle, thank you for recommending Dr. Miranda...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
I have no respect for DR Miranda at all. I am a rheumatoid arthritis patient for 20 years . both of my knees are completely destroyed. I came to DR MIRANDA asking for a knee replacement to continue supporting my wife and young son . I was denied treatment because my bmi or body weight and was told your condition is not my fault and I was turned away . when I tried to explain fix my knees and I can lose weight he would not even listen. I am left wondering what to do. thank you doctor.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
10 people found this helpful
Helpful
Lakeland, FL – May 09, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
I have seen Dr Miranda once. My impression of him is very good so far. He looked at my x-ray and said yeah you should have had a knee replacement years ago. But I am a veteran and had to deal with the VA. I recently got on my fiance's insurance plan through BofA and went to a real doctor. He seems to genuinely care about my pain level, my mobility and overall health. I hope he does the surgery as well as everyone else he has helped. SEMPER-FIDELIS. Sean
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
7 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sean Hersey in Brandon, FL – Jul 30, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Miranda?

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Miranda

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Miranda treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Miranda treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 978-9700.

Hip & Pelvic Surgery

Hip surgery includes arthroscopy, fracture repair, resurfacing, and replacment to treat conditions affecting the hip, such as arthritis, dysplasia, and injuries.Compare with other Hip & Pelvic Surgery specialists.

Dr. Miranda is experienced in the area of Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 12 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Miranda
Similar Providers
Hip Replacement
Total Hip Replacement
Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Miranda's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Miranda's conditions and procedures:

  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Baker’s Cyst
  • Bone Cancer
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Excision of Femur or Knee
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot and Ankle DislocationTreatment, Open
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Hammer Toe
  • Hip Dysplasia
  • Hip Fracture
  • Hip Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Hip Replacement
  • Hip Replacement Revision
  • Hip Resurfacing
  • Hip Sprain
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Replacement Revision
  • Knee Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
  • Limb Pain
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Myelopathy
  • Myofascial Trigger Point Injection
  • Neck Strain (incl. Whiplash Injury)
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteosarcoma
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Spina Bifida
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Spinal Nerve Block
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Miranda accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 815-8034

Dr. Miranda accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
American Enterprise Group
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Medicaid
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Assurant Health
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
NetworkBlue
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CareOregon
Medicaid
CareSource
Medicaid
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
Community Health Choice
Medicaid
Coventry Health Care
Wellpath Preferred PPO
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Employer Group Open Access HMO
Coventry Health Care of Florida, Inc.
Employer Group PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Golden Rule
Health Net
Medicaid
Tricare
HealthPlus
Medicaid
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Tricare
inHealth
Medicaid
INTotal Health
Medicaid
Medica
Medicaid
Medicaid
Medico
Midwest Health Plan
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Medicaid
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Peach State Health Plan
Medicaid
Staywell (Wellcare)
Medicaid
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Medicaid
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
Wellcare of Georgia
Medicaid

About Me

Care Philosophy

In my practice, there is nothing more satisfying than a patient whom is successfully treated and very pleased with their outcome.

Biography

Michael A. Miranda, D.O., M.S. specializes in adult reconstruction hip and knee surgery. He received his Medical degree from the Philadelphia College of...Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

Florida Orthopedic Institute
Fellowship Hospital
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Residency Hospital
Drexel University
Internship Hospital
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Medical School
1984
University Of Southern California
Undergraduate School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?

Call (813) 588-8433 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Does Dr. Michael Miranda, DO offer telehealth services?

Dr. Miranda has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Michael Miranda, DO accepting new patients?

Dr. Michael Miranda, DO generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Miranda's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Michael Miranda, DO accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Miranda accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Michael Miranda, DO's top areas of care?

Dr. Miranda frequently treats Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Miranda specializes.

Where is Dr. Michael Miranda, DO's office located?

Dr. Miranda's office is located at 11286 Boyette Rd Ste 101, Riverview, FL 33569. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Michael Miranda, DO speak?

Dr. Miranda speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Miranda is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

HCA Florida Brandon Hospital

Brandon, FL

62% Patient Experience Rating, 7% lower than the national average

12 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Orthopedic Surgery Excellence Award™ (2022)

South Bay Hospital

Sun City Center, FL

64% Patient Experience Rating, 5% lower than the national average

4 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2021)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

6 Awards Received