Dr. Michael Miranda, DO

Dr. Michael Miranda, DO

Orthopedic Surgery •  Male

  
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Dr. Michael Miranda, DO is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Brandon, FL. Dr. Miranda has more experience with Hip/Pelvic Bones and Knee/Lower Limbs than other specialists in his area. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as Brandon Regional Hospital and South Bay Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Miranda to book an appointment.


Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

New Patient?
(813) 978-9700
Brandon560 Lakewood Dr Brandon, FL 33510
1
North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
2

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Hospital Satisfaction Patients said they were highly satisfied at this doctor's hospital. See hospitals
  • Practices at Top Hospital Orthopedic Surgery Excellence Award™ See hospitals

More Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Dr. Miranda's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Miranda

4.1

Based on 46 ratings

5 Stars
71.73913043478261%
(33)
4 Stars
6.521739130434782%
(3)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
21.73913043478261%
(10)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Miranda?
(Select your rating)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
Dr Miranda is in my opinion an excellent surgeon; his anterior approach for my hip replacement allowed me to heal in remarkable time with limited pain. His P.A. (Kelly) took plenty of time to answer my questions and explain everything. I highly recommend.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Dan Sirois – Dec 04, 2019
Hi Dan, thank you for complimenting Dr. Miranda...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
I can not begin to tell you how pleased with my entire experience with Dr. Miranda and his staff. Amanda's attention to detail, as his assistant is unmatched. Dr. Miranda demonstrates the greatest of bedside manor and professionalism. As a high school biology teacher, recovery from a partial knee replacement during the middle of the semester was quite concerning. I missed only 8 days of school; healing surpassed my greatest expectations. Dr. Miranda will be performing a partial knee replacement on my remaining knee in less than 12 weeks following my first. I am looking forward to a fabulous 2020 where walking and running are again part of my everyday life.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Lisa – Nov 16, 2019
Hi Lisa, thank you for the five stars and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
Dr. Miranda replaced my right knee in April and I am feeling better than ever. No limp, no pain and back to golfing, walking, chasing after the grandkids. I expected great results since my hip replacement 16 months ago was also very successful. Dr. Miranda is a very skilled surgeon who is up on the latest advances in joint replacement.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Lisa J – Jul 26, 2019
Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for sharing your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
Excellent surgeon and staff. Was pain free day after surgery. Was able to get appointment within two weeks where I would have had to wait 3 months before being able to get a followup appointment with other recommended surgeon. I am a senior citizen patient and highly recommend Dr. Miranda. Can't say enough.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Pete Galla in Land O Lakes, FL – Mar 01, 2019
Mr. Galla, thank you for taking time to share...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply
Not Recommended. I don't think leaving true bad reviews have any impact on this doctors. Those leaving good reviews, probably because he will see you only if you are a candidate for Knee surgery. Otherwise, he will send each visit his Inexperienced students to see you and he will never show his face to you. Billing to insurance will show he saw you but he never does. His students have no clue what is going on with your knees. They just beat around the bush. Today I'm still suffering.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option5
thumbs down icon option
FL – Feb 14, 2019
We're sorry you feel this way and must have...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
In a 4 month period, I had total hip replacement done on BOTH my hips. Dr. Miranda did an outstanding job with the surgeries. The replacements are working out great I am living with no pain now and I can go through my life again being active and productive. Dr. Miranda is an outstanding surgeon and his staff is second to none. Amanda his assistant is not only extemely nice but also helped me with any concerns and questions I had. These people are a class act and I recommend them highly.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option3
thumbs down icon option
Chris Corpora in Zephyrhills, FL – Nov 15, 2018
Awe, we are so happy that you have no pain and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
This is my second hip replacement within 1 1/2 years Dr Miranda has changed my life for the best, I was very active but when I was hit with hip joints that would not allow me to continue this lifestyle, I turned to Dr. Miranda, first hip replacement was 2017, same day surgery, and within 5 days I was walking unassisted, second replacement was 9/28/18 and I am walking 2 miles a day, unassisted. Dr Miranda team is professional and will give you the best care you will ever receive. Thank you.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option2
thumbs down icon option
Michael Nolan in Apollo Beach , FL – Oct 23, 2018
Michael, thank you for sharing your story about...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
I highly recommend Dr. Miranda. I did a lot of research when I realized that I needed hip replacement surgery, and I actually talked to 2 other surgeons before finding Dr. Miranda. There is no doubt in my mind I picked the right surgeon! Dr. Miranda took all the time I needed to answer my questions about the surgery and recovery. He listened to me, and was very kind and compassionate. I have been amazed at how quickly I am recovering. I had the surgery 6 weeks ago and am already walking 3 miles
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option5
thumbs down icon option
Moselle Bernal in Wimauma, FL – Jul 20, 2018
Moselle, thank you for recommending Dr. Miranda...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
I have no respect for DR Miranda at all. I am a rheumatoid arthritis patient for 20 years . both of my knees are completely destroyed. I came to DR MIRANDA asking for a knee replacement to continue supporting my wife and young son . I was denied treatment because my bmi or body weight and was told your condition is not my fault and I was turned away . when I tried to explain fix my knees and I can lose weight he would not even listen. I am left wondering what to do. thank you doctor.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option8
thumbs down icon option8
Lakeland, FL – May 09, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?
Reply Flag
I have seen Dr Miranda once. My impression of him is very good so far. He looked at my x-ray and said yeah you should have had a knee replacement years ago. But I am a veteran and had to deal with the VA. I recently got on my fiance's insurance plan through BofA and went to a real doctor. He seems to genuinely care about my pain level, my mobility and overall health. I hope he does the surgery as well as everyone else he has helped. SEMPER-FIDELIS. Sean
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option7
thumbs down icon option2
Sean Hersey in Brandon, FL – Jul 30, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Miranda?

Help Improve Healthgrades

Does Dr. Michael Miranda, DO...

Offer weekend visits?

Have free onsite parking?

Offer evening visits?

Offer an online patient portal?

Offer telehealth services or virtual visits?

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Miranda accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Miranda accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
American Enterprise Group
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Medicaid
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Assurant Health
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
NetworkBlue
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CareOregon
Medicaid
CareSource
Medicaid
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
Community Health Choice
Medicaid
Coventry Health Care
Wellpath Preferred PPO
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Employer Group Open Access HMO
Coventry Health Care of Florida, Inc.
Employer Group PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Golden Rule
Health Net
Medicaid
Tricare
HealthPlus
Medicaid
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Tricare
inHealth
Medicaid
INTotal Health
Medicaid
Medica
Medicaid
Medicaid
Medico
Midwest Health Plan
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Medicaid
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Peach State Health Plan
Medicaid
Staywell (Wellcare)
Medicaid
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Medicaid
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
Wellcare of Georgia
Medicaid

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Practice Areas

Hip/Pelvic Bones

Hip surgery includes arthroscopy, fracture repair, resurfacing, and replacment to treat conditions affecting the hip, such as arthritis, dysplasia, and injuries.Compare with other Hip/Pelvic Bones specialists.

Typically treats 77% more than their peers

Based on claims data for 5 conditions and procedures

TreatmentsTreatment Frequency
Hip Replacement
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Miranda performs Hip Replacement more than 96% of their peers

Dr. Miranda performs this procedure more than 96% of their peers

Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Miranda treats Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip) more than 84% of their peers

Dr. Miranda treats this condition more than 84% of their peers

Hip Fracture
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Miranda treats Hip Fracture more than 84% of their peers

Dr. Miranda treats this condition more than 84% of their peers

Knee/Lower Limbs

Knee and lower limb surgeons perform procedures such as total knee replacement, partial knee replacement, and tendor repair, to treat conditions including arthritis, ligament tears, or bone fractures.Compare with other Knee/Lower Limbs specialists.

Typically treats 68% more than their peers

Based on claims data for 11 conditions and procedures

TreatmentsTreatment Frequency
Knee Disorders
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Miranda treats Knee Disorders more than 98% of their peers

Dr. Miranda treats this condition more than 98% of their peers

Knee Surgery
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Miranda performs Knee Surgery more than 96% of their peers

Dr. Miranda performs this procedure more than 96% of their peers

Knee Replacement
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Miranda performs Knee Replacement more than 95% of their peers

Dr. Miranda performs this procedure more than 95% of their peers

Check Dr. Miranda's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Miranda's conditions and procedures:

  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Baker’s Cyst
  • Bone Cancer
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Coccygeal Pain
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Excision of Femur or Knee
  • Femur Fracture
  • Fracture
  • Fracture Care
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Heel Spur
  • Hip Arthroscopy
  • Hip Fracture
  • Hip Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Hip Pointer Injuries
  • Hip Replacement
  • Hip Replacement Revision
  • Hip Replacement With Robotic Assistance
  • Hip Resurfacing
  • Hip Sprain
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee Disorders
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Replacement Revision
  • Knee Sprain
  • Knee Surgery
  • Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
  • Limb Pain
  • Morton's Neuroma
  • Nerve Block, Sympathetic
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteosarcoma
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Sacrum Disorders
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Systemic Sclerosis

About Me

 "In my practice, there is nothing more satisfying than a patient whom is successfully treated and very pleased with their outcome." - Dr. Michael A Miranda

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

Florida Orthopedic Institute
Fellowship Hospital
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Residency Hospital
Drexel University
Internship Hospital
1984
University Of Southern California
Undergraduate School

Languages

  • Spanish
  • English

Awards

Common Questions and Answers

  • Does Dr. Miranda communicate via email?

    No users have indicated that Dr. Miranda communicates via email

  • Does Dr. Miranda offer telehealth services or virtual visits?

    No users have indicated that Dr. Miranda offers telehealth services or virtual visits

  • Does Dr. Miranda offer an online patient portal?

    No users have indicated that Dr. Miranda offers an online patient portal

  • Does Dr. Miranda have free onsite parking?

    No users have indicated that Dr. Miranda has free onsite parking

  • Does Dr. Miranda offer weekend visits?

    No users have indicated that Dr. Miranda offers weekend visits

  • Does Dr. Miranda offer evening visits?

    No users have indicated that Dr. Miranda offers evening visits

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Michael Miranda, DO?

Does Dr. Michael Miranda, DO offer telehealth services?

Is Dr. Michael Miranda, DO accepting new patients?

Affiliated Hospitals

Check the quality of care at hospitals where Dr. Miranda treats patients.

Learn more

Brandon Regional Hospital

Brandon, FL

64% Patient experience rating, 5% lower than the national average

  • Orthopedic Surgery Excellence Award™ (2020)
  • Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2019)

South Bay Hospital

Sun City Center, FL

67% Patient experience rating, 2% lower than the national average

  • Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2020, 2019, 2018)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient experience rating, 9% higher than the national average