Dr. Michael Garcia, MD

Dr. Michael Garcia, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMaleAge 44

Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Dr. Michael Garcia, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Tampa, FL. Dr. Garcia has more experience with Hand & Wrist Surgery than other specialists in his area. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital and HCA Florida West Tampa Hospital, A part of HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Garcia to book an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
1

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ See hospitals

More Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Dr. Garcia's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Garcia

3.8

Based on 24 ratings

5 Stars
66.66666666666667%
(16)
4 Stars
4.166666666666667%
(1)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
4.166666666666667%
(1)
1 Star
25%
(6)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Garcia
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Dr. Garcia performed my elbow surgery and ligament repair after a bad break. I am very happy with how everything has turned out and he has been great throughout all of the follow up appointments. His office is fast and I am in and out within 30 minutes.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Rachel – Aug 25, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Unsuccessful hand surgery
Helpful
Mar 19, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Spent 2 minutes with me. Didn’t get the questions answered I needed to recover or receive follow up care. Started walking away when I was asking questions. Find another job if you don’t care about your patients. I will never go back and now have to see another doctor for care. Also, they say online all patients must wear masks, they weren’t! Beware! Waited an hour for nothing.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jun 23, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Dr Garcia performed double elbow surgery for my cubital tunnel syndrome 4Q19, as I had a lengthy period of neuropathy symptoms creating a significant level of constant discomfort. Only certain home circumstances would support double surgery and this was confirmed in advance. Such a relief to start the healing process quickly with both elbows and get back to golfing! My neuropathy symptoms quickly resolved but my nerves were now overly sensitive (expected for many post "release" of the constricted nerve.) Dr Garcia prescribed desensitization therapy and after that process he gave me elbow shots. Within 48 hours of that quick, in office treatment and I had 100% relief. No neuropathy and no more pissed off nerves! Dr Garcia is a quick thinker, frank, efficient, expert and a joy to visit. I'm enjoying my golf more than ever and sleeping well, without discomfort!!! Fantastic!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
May 30, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Dr. Garcia spends time with his patients , answers all questions, explains diagnosis and possible treatment modalities. Very thorough, engaging and professional. Excellent all the way around.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Frank A Fernandez – Apr 01, 2020
Dr. Garcia's Reply –
Thanks for the great review, Frank!
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
I had Dr Garcia for 2 surgeries. Hand and shoulder. He did an excellent job! He explained everything and was very personable. I would highly recommend him.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Ellen Walters – Aug 27, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Went for a second opinion for a total joint surgery. MRI didn’t get forwarded from my Orthopedic office as requested, so cancelled the appointment; but got billed anyhow (for phantom visit, joint drainage, and cortisone injection). Called billing office to protest bill, was assured it would be cancelled, but then got a bill from a collection agency.. I have to get proof, so called back to office, they sent email with attachment I couldn’t open. I had to call back to Florida Orthopedic to call
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
, – Jul 15, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
I am leaving this gratitude for Dr. Michael Garcia. He is phenomenal in his practice to our community. He performed surgery on my right elbow in 2015 and is an outstanding surgeon as well as he takes time to explain and answers all questions. He is a super doc!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Catherine H. in Tampa – Jun 08, 2019
Hi Catherine, thank you for taking time to review...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Dr. Garcia and entire staff have their act together! I went there to find out if I have a broken bone in my hand, and everything went seamlessly throughout my appointment. All of my questions were addressed, and I received guidance to care for my arthritis (as it turned out after the x-rays there was no broken bone). Strongly recommend Dr. Garcia and his entire staff!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
AR in Wesley Chapel, FL – Jun 07, 2019
Thank you AR! We are glad that all of your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
A fantastic hand and elbow physician. He has fixed me up twice now and both experiences have been flawless. He knows his stuff. He works at a very fast pace and is definitely good at what he does. He is paired with a great team, and they all work well together.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Tampa, FL – May 01, 2019
Awesome to hear! We are glad that you have had...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Finding the best surgeon for me was a serious thing. I read alot of reviews and spoke with alot of friends. I am so glad I found FOI and Dr Garcia. He operated on both of my shoulders for rotator cuff injuries between 2012 and 2018, and I can truly say he is a very competent surgeon who cares about his patients. Even though at times he was very busy he always took time to answer every question I had and I never felt rushed. I have recommended him to many friends, coworkers and acquaintances.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Christie in Ruskin, Fl – May 02, 2018
Hi Christie, thank you taking time to write this...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?
Reply
Dr. Garcia is an excellent physician - he listened carefully to everything I said, acknowledged it, processed it, and prescribed a course of action that resolved my issues quickly and efficiently. He is thorough, personable, and professional, and I would recommend him highly to anyone seeking assistance in his field of specialty.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dale M in Tampa, FL – Sep 23, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Garcia?

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Garcia

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Garcia treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Garcia treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 978-9700.

Hand & Wrist Surgery

Hand and wrist conditions including arthritis, carpal tunnel syndrome, Dupuytren's contracture, and fractures or sprains, with treatment options such as surgery or physical therapy.Compare with other Hand & Wrist Surgery specialists.

Dr. Garcia is experienced in the area of Hand & Wrist Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 24 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Garcia
Similar Providers
Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
Hand Fracture
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Garcia's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Garcia's conditions and procedures:

  • Achilles Tenotomy
  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • All Shoulder or Elbow Replacement Procedures
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Carpal Tunnel Injection
  • Carpal Tunnel Release
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • De Quervain's Disease
  • De Quervain's Release
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Dressing and-or Debridement of Wound, Infection, or Burn (incl. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy)
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Excision of Humerus
  • Excision of Metacarpal and Carpal
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Excision of Scapula, Clavicle, Rib, or Sternum
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot Sprain
  • Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand or Wrist Tendon Transfer
  • Hand Tendon Repair
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Juvenile Chronic Arthritis
  • Knee Replacement
  • Limb Cramp
  • Limb Pain
  • Lumbar Spine Fracture
  • Muscular Dystrophy (MD)
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Myofascial Trigger Point Injection
  • Myositis Ossificans
  • Neck Strain (incl. Whiplash Injury)
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Nerve Sheath Tumors
  • Neuroplasty
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Periacetabular Osteotomy
  • Peripheral Nerve Block
  • Peripheral Nerve Disorders
  • Pyogenic Arthritis
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Reverse Total Shoulder and Total Shoulder Replacement
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Rotator Cuff Tendinosis
  • Scapular Fracture
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Replacement
  • Spondylitis
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Steroid Injection
  • Synovial Biopsy
  • Systemic Chondromalacia
  • Trigger Finger
  • Trigger Finger Release
  • Trigger Point Injection
  • Wrist Fracture
  • Wrist Fusion
  • Wrist Replacement

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Garcia accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 588-8117

Dr. Garcia accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care
Group Plan PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Molina
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
UnitedHealthCare
United Healthcare

About Me

Care Philosophy

I believe in treating the whole patient to provide rapid return to function after injury.

Biography

Dr. Garcia joined Florida Orthopaedic Institute in 2009. An undergraduate of the University of Florida at Gainesville, Dr. Garcia received his medical...Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • General Hand Surgery

Board Certifications

  • Hand Surgery
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Education

Harvard/Brigham and Women's Hospital
Fellowship Hospital
Loyola University
Residency Hospital
Loyola University
Internship Hospital
University of South Florida
Medical School
University Of Florida
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Michael Garcia, MD?

Call (813) 816-2259 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Does Dr. Michael Garcia, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Garcia has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Michael Garcia, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Michael Garcia, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Garcia's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Michael Garcia, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Garcia accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Michael Garcia, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Garcia frequently treats Hand & Wrist Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Garcia specializes.

Where is Dr. Michael Garcia, MD's office located?

Dr. Garcia's office is located at 909 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Garcia is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Tampa, FL

66% Patient Experience Rating, 3% lower than the national average

2 Awards Received

HCA Florida West Tampa Hospital, A part of HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Tampa, FL

1 Award Received

St. Joseph's Hospital

Tampa, FL

79% Patient Experience Rating, 10% higher than the national average

11 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2021)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

6 Awards Received