Dr. Michael Doarn, MD

Hand and Upper Extremity SurgeryMaleAge 39

Dr. Doarn
Accepting new patients

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Michael Doarn, MD is a Hand and Upper Extremity Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL. He is accepting new patients. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Doarn to book an appointment.

Compare with other Hand and Upper Extremity Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Doarn with our nearby Hand and Upper Extremity Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

Filter by
Provider Ratings

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Dr. Doarn's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Doarn

5.0

Based on 67 ratings

5 Stars
97.01492537313433%
(65)
4 Stars
2.985074626865672%
(2)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
0%
(0)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Doarn
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Atmosphere, to me, is the most important aspect when meeting with my doctor, and I can attest that the atmosphere at Dr. Doarn’s office is fantastically friendly, calm, and comfortable. Dr. Doarns demeanor has been wonderfully kind and engaging, he expresses true interest in his patients’ wellbeing with a very laid back style. He is just great. India Perez is his assistant, and her personality is unreal awesome, approachable, and lighthearted. She is super diligent, ensures patients’ needs are met, and breaks down insurance barriers when necessary. Unassuming Superstars they are, and I am grateful! Dorothy A.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
Helpful
Dorothy Adams – Nov 29, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Fixed my problem in one visit.
Helpful
G.Reece – Nov 19, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Dr. Doarn treated my wrist and arm after a trip and fall. He performed surgery to shorten my ulna and correct my wrist. He and the staff at FL Ortho are amazing. He was very detailed in his descriptions of my diagnosis and made sure I understood everything. I would be very comfortable seeing him and the staff at Riverview again.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Aug 07, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Dr. Doarn gave me exactly what I was hoping for. A slow progression of treatment starting at the bottom. Then if needed we’ll work our way up. I’ve had other doctors that try to start at the top. Explained everything thoroughly. Very satisfied.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
WaltR – Aug 04, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Such a friendly staff. Was promptly greeted and directed to my zone. I had to get an additional x ray and get a cast. They were extremely efficient and my visit was quick for everything I had done. The front desk staff in zone 2 were so sweet, friendly, and fun. The first doctor I saw was very nice and so was Dr. Doran. They knew what they were doing and educated me. The cast techs were also great! The two guys talked to me the whole time and made sure I was set to go.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
Helpful
Radius fracture – Jun 25, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Currently a bedside provider for 35 years, I understand how our healthcare system has evolved (devolved?). Patients are increasingly treated as commodities that are processed much like cattle in a processing plant. It also does not help when you visit a surgeon whose ego and attitude precede him as he walks through your exam room door. Dr. Doarn is the complete opposite of so many physicians. He may be cognizant of how much of his time he's sharing with you, but I never felt like he was rushing me. He allowed me to speak interruption free because he was completely engaged and professional. Again, surgeon's can be the worst in terms of their egos and attitudes, but Dr. Doarn was humble, relaxed, pleasant and without one ounce of condescension. From Dr. Doarn to the front office staff, the entire FOI experience was five star. There's no question as to why he has so many positive reviews.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jun 17, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Superb bedside manners. Very thorough and very friendly staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jun 17, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
I had minor surgery on my hand and am very happy with Dr. Doran. He explained everything clearly, answered any questions I had and has a pleasant attitude. I would recommend Dr. Doran to anyone.
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Beverly Hill – Apr 17, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Great Doctor and outstanding staff always on time
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Joseph Edward Anderson – Mar 31, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
From the front office staff where Tiffany and the Dr. Doarns great assistant everything runs very smoothly. I highly recommend them as they make your visit relaxing and professional. I can't say enough good things about Dr. Doarn. He treats you like family.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
George Patten – Mar 10, 2021
George, thank you for your 5 star review of Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Very personable. Explained the diagnosis clearly. Provided me w the various options. I chose to have a steroid injection, which he gave with great care. Excellent physician!
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Barb C. – Jan 20, 2021
Barb, thank you for your 5 star review for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Dr. Doarn explained carpel tunnel and what could be done to fix the problem. When I was prepped for surgery he noticed my “trigger thumb” and said he could do that surgery at the same time. This saved me from another surgery at at later date. I am very pleased with the results.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Nov 28, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star rating and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
I went to see Dr. Doarn on 11/05/2020 I had severe pain in left wrist, hand & fingers with numbness & tingling. It appeared to be carpal tunnel syndrome. I received a cortisone injection and Gabapentin capsules. I started getting relief instantly. I was very pleased with the treatment. I would recommend Dr. Doarn to anyone that has a need for treatment in the hand area. Thank you Dr. Doarn and staff. Brenda Douglas
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Brenda Douglas – Nov 06, 2020
Brenda, thank you for your 5 star rating and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Great experience
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
R. S. – Feb 11, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
I was having a problem with my hands feeling numb. I had carpal tunnel surgery completed on both wrists. The amazing part of results is that a persistant back pain went away as well as a 25 year old scar that had opened up, healed up. My general health greatly improved and am enjoying more benifit from this surgery than I ever expected. Dr. Doarn and his staff did a great job. Verne Climer
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Verne C. – Dec 31, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Dr Doarn listened and explained everthing clearly
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
L. S. – Nov 08, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
great doctor will recommend, excellent staff i will miss them.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Dale T. – Nov 05, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Doctor was excellent. Experience was great.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Debra P. – Oct 04, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
very happy with
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
C. M. – Oct 03, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?
Reply
Great experience
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
D. K. – Aug 22, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Doarn?

About Me

Care Philosophy

Dr. Michael Doarn, MD is an orthopedic surgery specialist in Sioux City, Iowa and has been practicing for many years. He graduated from Univ Of Cincinnati...Read more

Biography

Dr. Michael Doarn, MD is an orthopedic surgery specialist in Sioux City, Iowa.

Specialties

  • Hand and Upper Extremity Surgery

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Michael Doarn, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Michael Doarn, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Doarn's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Michael Doarn, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Doarn accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Michael Doarn, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Doarn frequently treats Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist, Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, and Osteoarthritis of Hands. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Doarn treats.

Where is Dr. Michael Doarn, MD's office located?

Dr. Doarn's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

Does Dr. Michael Doarn, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Doarn has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Michael Doarn, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Doarn's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Doarn's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Doarn treats Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist more than 97% of his peers

Dr. Doarn treats this condition more than 97% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Osteoarthritis of Wrist
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Doarn treats Carpal Tunnel Syndrome more than 93% of his peers

Dr. Doarn treats this condition more than 93% of his peers

Osteoarthritis of Hands
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Doarn treats Osteoarthritis of Hands more than 92% of his peers

Dr. Doarn treats this condition more than 92% of his peers

Dr. Doarn's conditions and procedures:

  • Ankle Replacement
  • Arm Surgery
  • Arthroscopic Shoulder Surgery
  • Carpal Tunnel Release
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • De Quervain's Disease
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Fracture Care
  • Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand or Wrist Tendon Transfer
  • Hip Replacement
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Steroid Injection
  • Trigger Finger
  • Wrist Fracture

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Doarn accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Doarn accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Alliance Select

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

Brandon560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101 Brandon, FL 33511
2
Riverview11286 Boyette Rd Ste 101 Riverview, FL 33569
3

Compare with other Hand and Upper Extremity Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Doarn with our nearby Hand and Upper Extremity Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

Filter by
Provider Ratings

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.