Dr. Mark Frankle, MD

Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow SurgeryMaleAge 62

Dr. Frankle
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Mark Frankle, MD is a Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL and has over 36 years of experience in the medical field. Dr. Frankle has more experience with Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery than other specialists in his area. He graduated from Rush Medical College Of Rush University medical school in 1985. He is affiliated with medical facilities Adventhealth Carrollwood and Tampa General Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Frankle to book an appointment.

Compare with other Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Frankle with our nearby Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

Filter by
Provider Ratings

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Dr. Frankle's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Frankle

4.0

Based on 44 ratings

5 Stars
75%
(33)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
2.272727272727273%
(1)
1 Star
22.727272727272727%
(10)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Frankle
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
I want to thank Dr. Mark Frankle and the whole team as they did an excellent job taking care of me before, during and after elbow arthroscopy (on October 15, 2020). I really appreciate everything, and highly recommend the Dr. Frankle and his team. They are very caring and respectful.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
chronicallyfearless – Nov 07, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star rating and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Dr Frankel operated on my shoulder in January 2019, within three weeks I was well on the way to recovery. My shoulder was totally replaced. I am so happy that it was Dr Frankel who took care of my shoulder. He stilled my fears and gave me back my life. I will always be grateful to Dr Frankel and his staff, they were so professional. The entire procedure was handled in Tampa General, they were great. They wanted me to stay two nights, I left after one, I already felt better than when I went in. I did not take any pain pills, they offered them I declined, this was a great decision as I already was feeling little to no discomfort. I would strongly recommend Dr Frankel as I have complete confidence in his skills and support staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Tom Buechel – Apr 30, 2020
Hi Tom, thank you for the wonderful review of Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Three months ago I had a right shoulder replacement performed by Dr. Frankle. I was skeptical about the operation as I had read online that a shoulder replacement was more difficult to perform than a knee or hip replacement. Also I had known several people who had had to have the procedure done twice without totally satisfactory results. Well, I have only praise for Dr. Frankle. I have suffered minimal pain from the operation and have experienced marvelous results. I have complete mobility in my right shoulder--I can swim again, blow dry my hair, and attend yoga, Palates, Zumba, Barre, even weight classes. I should add that I am 87 years old. Dr. Frankle is a superb surgeon and we are all so lucky to have him in the Tampa Bay area.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
7 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sara M. Deats – Jul 12, 2019
Sara, thank you for the five-star review! Happy...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Dr. Frankle took sufficient time & dialogue to explain to me a difficult process required to diagnose/isolate & then treat my shoulder. It feels much better after this last treatment. Thank you.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Randal Wills – Jul 10, 2019
Randal, thank you for the five-star review! We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Dr Frankle and staff did an excellent job of diagnosing and treating my problem in one visit. It was a tremendous relief off my mind. It wasn't rushed and he did a great job of explaining. I would highly recommend.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Randy Grace – Jul 06, 2019
Thank you for the five-star review, Randy! Glad...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Supper great
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Martha Angold in Lake Wales , FL – Jun 08, 2019
Dr. Frankle's Reply –
Thank you Martha!
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Dr. Frankle was very straight forward with us about my surgery to repair my rotator cuff. My recovery was smooth and I would not only recommend him to anyone needing this surgery, but I would look to him for a recommendation should I ever need surgery on another joint.
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 29, 2019
We are so glad you had a successful outcome!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Excellent bedside manor, spent upwards of an hour discussing my case. I have had many surgeries never did a surgeon show so much interest in making sure I was sure about my decision and did not have unrealistic expectations . The best!!
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mar 25, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Had both shoulder replacement surgeries well pleased with what I’m able to do now. Great staff and Dr is easy to talk to and understand.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mar 23, 2019
Thank you for the kind review! We are pleased to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
He changed my life with shoulder surgery!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Alex Cooke in Punta Gorda, none – Feb 04, 2019
Alex, we are happy your life was changed! Thank...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Very knowledgeable about my situation and did not dismiss me as crazy. I had others act like I was not understanding that it was just my shoulder, when I wasn't able to move it above my head.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Lakeland, FL – Jan 15, 2019
Thank you! We appreciate you choosing Dr. Mark...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
In none of my appointments has the dr been punctual. Each time I have had to wait between 1-2 hours just to get into a room then more than 30min to see one of his aides. Very disrespectful of my time. Dr. Frankle only came in pre-op to explain surgery. Each post op visit someone else saw me. Although Dr Frankle is covered under my insurance, his aides are not so later I get an extra bill.
What went well
  • Office environment
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Orlando, FL – Nov 22, 2017
Thank you for your feedback so we can improve our...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
My mother went into a sinus tachycardia during her reverse shoulder surgery, heart rate of 200+. He should've done a ct scan immediately to check for stroke, he did NOT. He had the audacity to tell me everything went fine! No complications. Every doctor with will tell you THAT'S A BIG COMPLICATION. Kept her in recovery longer, no explanation. I asked for ct scan next day due to stroke symptoms, he did zero. Records and ct days after showed stroke during surg. 24 hr care after, her life destroyed
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
9 people found this helpful
Helpful
Cary Collier in Tampa, FL – Sep 03, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?
Reply
Highly recommend for his expertise in surgeries of the shoulder. Dr Frankle performs an in depth physical assessment and is hands down the best orthopaedic surgeon in Florida. Others mentioning that you may not always see the physician are correct, however all of his highly trained staff are wonderful....keep in mind that Dr Frankle is a teaching surgeon, other training and capable physicians are participants during surgery...just ask questions and you will know! 3 docs are better than 1!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
34 people found this helpful
Helpful
Kathy in North Port, FL – Mar 26, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Frankle?

About Me

Care Philosophy

The research that we perform provides continuous information about improved treatment methods so I can decide what is the best treatment available to my patients.

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

U S Fla
Residency Hospital
1992
Mayo Medical School
Fellowship Hospital
1991
A/O-Asif Davos
Fellowship Hospital
1990
U S Fla
Internship Hospital
1985
Rush University
Fellowship Hospital
1985
Rush Medical College Of Rush University
Medical School
1981
Grinnell College
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

  • Healthgrades Honor Roll
  • Best Scientific Paper, 7th International Conference on Surgery of the Shoulder, 1998
  • Best Scientific Paper, 1998
  • Who's Who in the World, 2000
  • Best Doctors in America, 2001-2010
  • America's Top Surgeons, 2002-2005

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Mark Frankle, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Frankle has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Mark Frankle, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Mark Frankle, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Frankle's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Mark Frankle, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Frankle accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Mark Frankle, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Frankle frequently treats Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Frankle specializes.

Where is Dr. Mark Frankle, MD's office located?

Dr. Frankle's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Mark Frankle, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Frankle

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Frankle treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Frankle treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 978-9700.

Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery

Shoulder and upper arm conditions include arthritis, bursitis, rotator cuff injuries, and dislocations, with treatment options such as surgery or physical therapy.Compare with other Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery specialists.

Dr. Frankle is experienced in the area of Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 22 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Frankle
Similar Providers
All Shoulder or Elbow Replacement Procedures
Reverse Total Shoulder and Total Shoulder Replacement
Shoulder Replacement
Humerus Fracture
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Frankle's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Frankle's conditions and procedures:

  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • All Shoulder or Elbow Replacement Procedures
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Baker’s Cyst
  • Bone Cancer
  • Bursitis
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Elbow Arthroscopy
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Elbow Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Elbow Replacement
  • Elbow Replacement Revision
  • Elbow Tenotomy
  • Excision of Humerus
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Excision of Tibia or Fibula
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Joint Drainage
  • Juvenile Chronic Arthritis
  • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
  • Lumbar Spine Fracture
  • Morton's Neuroma
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Neck Strain (incl. Whiplash Injury)
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteopenia
  • Pathological Spine Fracture
  • Periacetabular Osteotomy
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Reverse Total Shoulder and Total Shoulder Replacement
  • Revision of Shoulder or Elbow Replacement
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Rotator Cuff Tendinosis
  • Scapular Fracture
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Replacement
  • Shoulder Replacement Revision
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Steroid Injection
  • Thoracic Spine Fracture
  • Wrist Fracture

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Frankle accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Frankle accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Choice PPO
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Options PPO

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1