Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD

GastroenterologyMaleAge 47

Dr. Whitt
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

RMG Gastroenterology of Clayton

900 S Lombard St Ste 106 Clayton, NC 27520

Make an Appointment

(919) 341-3638

Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD is a Gastroenterology Specialist in Clayton, NC. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as Rex Hospital and Wakemed Cary Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Whitt to book an appointment.

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Gastroenterology Specialists in your area

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Whitt is affiliated with Rex Hospital Raleigh, a highly rated and top awarded hospital for gastroenterology.

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth
    This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital
    Gastrointestinal Care Excellence Award™ See hospitals

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for North Carolina
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Whitt's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Whitt's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Benign Neoplasm of the Digestive System
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Whitt treats Benign Neoplasm of the Digestive System more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Whitt treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Diverticulitis, Intestinal
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Whitt treats Diverticulitis, Intestinal more than 99% of his peers

Dr. Whitt treats this condition more than 99% of his peers

Diverticulosis, Intestinal
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Whitt treats Diverticulosis, Intestinal more than 99% of his peers

Dr. Whitt treats this condition more than 99% of his peers

Dr. Whitt's conditions and procedures:

  • Abdominal Pain
  • Achalasia
  • Acidosis
  • Acne
  • Acute Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
  • Acute Laryngitis
  • Acute Pharyngitis
  • Acute Upper Respiratory Infection
  • Acute Venous Embolism Thrombosis
  • All Headaches (incl. Migraine)
  • Allergic Rhinitis
  • Anal or Rectal Pain
  • Anemia
  • Animal Allergies
  • Anxiety
  • Arthritis
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Asthma
  • Atherosclerosis
  • Back Pain
  • Barrett's Esophagus
  • Bedsores
  • Benign Chronic Pain Syndrome
  • Benign Neoplasm of the Digestive System
  • Bile Duct Procedure
  • Biliary Atresia
  • Bladder Infection
  • Blood in Urine (Hematuria)
  • Bronchitis
  • Calcium Metabolism Disorders
  • Candidiasis of Skin and Nails
  • Canker Sore
  • Celiac Disease
  • Cellulitis
  • Chest Pain
  • Chest Wall Pain Syndrome
  • Cholecystitis and Gallstones
  • Chronic Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
  • Chronic Fatigue Syndrome
  • Chronic Neck Pain
  • Chronic Pain
  • Chronic Sinusitis
  • Cirrhosis
  • Coccygeal Pain
  • Colon Cancer Screening
  • Colonoscopy, Proctosigmoidoscopy, and Sigmoidoscopy
  • Colorectal Cancer
  • Colorectal Cancer Screening
  • Constipation
  • COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease)
  • Cough
  • Crohn's Disease
  • Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
  • Dehydration
  • Dermatitis
  • Diabetes Type 1
  • Diabetes Type 2
  • Diabetes With Renal Manifestations
  • Diabetic Polyneuropathy
  • Diaphragmatic and-or Hiatal Hernia
  • Diarrhea
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Diffuse Esophageal Spasm
  • Diverticulitis, Intestinal
  • Diverticulosis, Intestinal
  • Dizziness
  • Down Syndrome
  • Duodenal Polypectomy
  • Duodenal Ulcer
  • Duodenitis
  • Dysentery
  • Dyslipidemia
  • Dysphagia
  • Electrocardiogram (EKG)
  • Emphysema
  • Endoscopy (Esophagus, Stomach, Small Intestine)
  • Enlarged Prostate (BPH)
  • Enteritis
  • Eosinophilic Esophagitis
  • ERCP (Endoscopic Retrograde Cholangiopancreatography)
  • Esophageal Achalasia and Cardiospasm
  • Esophageal Cancer
  • Esophageal Diverticulum
  • Esophageal Motility Disorders
  • Esophageal Ulcer
  • Esophageal Varices
  • Esophagitis
  • Essential Tremor
  • Familial Adenomatous Polyposis
  • Familial Hypercholesterolemia
  • Fecal Impaction Removal
  • Fever
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Folic Acid Deficiency
  • Food Allergy
  • Food Poisoning
  • Gait Abnormality
  • Gallbladder Scan
  • Gallstones
  • Gas-Bloat Syndrome
  • Gastric Ulcer
  • Gastritis
  • Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)
  • Gastrointestinal Bleeding
  • Gastrointestinal Malabsorption
  • Gastrojejunal Ulcer
  • Gastroparesis
  • Genital Warts
  • Gout
  • Hair Loss
  • Headache
  • Heart Disease
  • Heart Palpitations
  • Heartburn
  • Hemochromatosis
  • Hemorrhoidectomy or Excision of Anal Tags
  • Hemorrhoids
  • Hepatitis A
  • Hepatitis A Screening
  • Hepatitis B - Immune Response
  • Hepatitis B Virus Screening
  • Hepatitis C
  • Hepatitis C Virus Screening
  • Hepatitis Screening
  • Hepatopulmonary Syndrome
  • Hepatorenal Syndrome
  • Hernia
  • Herpes Zoster Without Complication
  • Hiatal Hernia
  • Hidradenitis
  • HIV (Human Immunodeficiency Virus)
  • Hydrocele
  • Hypercalcemia
  • Hyperkalemia
  • Hyperlipidemia
  • Hypertension
  • Hypokalemia
  • Hypotension
  • Hypotension (Excluding Maternal)
  • Hypothyroidism
  • Ileus
  • Immunization Administration
  • Impedance Testing
  • Indigestion
  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Influenza (Flu)
  • Insomnia
  • Instrumental Diagnostic Evaluation for Dysphagia
  • Intestinal Ischemia
  • Intestinal Obstruction
  • Iron Metabolism Disorders
  • Irritable Bowel Syndrome
  • Ischemic Colitis
  • Itchy Skin
  • Jock Itch
  • Joint Pain
  • Kidney Infection
  • Kidney Infection, Acute
  • Lactose Intolerance
  • Laryngitis
  • Limb Cramp
  • Limb Pain
  • Limb Swelling Caused by Fluid Overload
  • Lipid Disorders
  • Liver Biopsy
  • Liver Damage from Alcohol
  • Liver Function Test
  • Loss of Taste
  • Low Back Pain
  • Low Blood Oxygen Level
  • Lyme Disease
  • Magnesium Metabolism Disorders
  • Malaise and Fatigue
  • Mallory-Weiss Syndrome
  • Malnutrition
  • Manometry
  • Meckel's Diverticulum
  • Megacolon
  • Menstrual Disorders (incl. Dysmenorrhea)
  • Mesenteric Panniculitis
  • Migraine
  • Mineral Metabolism Disorders
  • Muscle Weakness
  • Mycobacterial Lung Infection
  • Nausea
  • Neoplasm of Gastrointestinal Tract
  • Nighttime Urination (Nocturia)
  • Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease
  • Non-Neonatal Jaundice
  • Noninfectious Gastroenteritis and Colitis
  • Obesity
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip and Thigh
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteopenia
  • Osteoporosis
  • Outer Ear Infection
  • Overactive Bladder
  • Overweight
  • Pancreatitis
  • Pelvic Abscess
  • Peptic Ulcer
  • pH Probe
  • Pharyngitis
  • Pneumonia
  • Pollen Allergy
  • Polymyalgia Rheumatica (PMR)
  • Polyneuropathy
  • Polyuria
  • Postnasal Drip
  • Pouchitis
  • Primary Biliary Cholangitis
  • Proteinuria
  • Purpura
  • Pyloric Stenosis
  • Rash
  • Reflux Esophagitis
  • Ringworm
  • Rosacea
  • Salmonella Food Poisoning
  • Sarcoidosis
  • Sciatica (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Screening Colonoscopy
  • Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
  • Shingles
  • Shortness of Breath
  • Sickle Cell Disease
  • Sinus Bradycardia
  • Sinus Tachycardia
  • Sinusitis
  • Sleep Apnea
  • Sleep-Related Leg Cramp
  • Small Intestine Cancer
  • Stomach and Small Intestine Cancer
  • Stomal Ulcer
  • Swine Flu
  • Throat Pain
  • Thyroid Goiter
  • Tobacco Use Disorder
  • Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA)
  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • Ultrasound, Endoanal
  • Ultrasound, Esophageal
  • Unexplained Weight Loss
  • Urinary Incontinence
  • Urinary Stones
  • Urinary Tract Infection (UTI)
  • VAP Lipid Testing
  • Venous Compression
  • Venous Embolism and Thrombosis
  • Venous Insufficiency
  • Vertigo
  • Viral Enteritis
  • Viral Hepatitis
  • Viral Infection
  • Vitamin B Deficiency
  • Vitamin B12 Deficiency
  • Vitamin D Deficiency
  • Vomiting Disorders
  • Warts
  • Wheezing
  • Wireless pH Testing

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Whitt accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(919) 341-3638

Dr. Whitt accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Cigna
Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
MedCost
MedCost PPO
Medicaid
Tricare
Standard
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare

Dr. Whitt's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Whitt

4.1

Based on 58 ratings

5 Stars
74.13793103448276%
(43)
4 Stars
1.7241379310344827%
(1)
3 Stars
1.7241379310344827%
(1)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
22.413793103448278%
(13)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Whitt
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
I have nothing but positive comments for Dr Whitt and his in office staff. I can’t get an appointment scheduled. It took 5 days and 2 calls from me to get a call back. I missed the call and immediately called back. Am I supposed to be holding my phone for days and immediately ready for a call back. I left a message another message that I wanted an appointment. Two more days and no call from the scheduler. Method of scheduling stinks.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
Helpful
William S Eggleston – Sep 10, 2021
I willing definitely recommend Dr. Whitt and his staff. Everyone was very friendly and made me feel very comfortable. They answered all my questions and concerns. I will definitely be returning in 5 years. Thank you all for everything you do.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mary H. – Jul 28, 2021
I had a colonoscopy performed by Dr. Whitt, he was very professional and knowledgeable. He has been very kind, thorough, and thoughtful with the follow up about concerns with the findings of the colonoscopy. He has been very timely in scheduling appointments and calling with the results. I am not overly enthusiastic about the medical profession, but I have been very impressed with Dr. Whitt. Since I had to have a doctor for this procedure, I am extremely glad that it was Dr. Whitt. I would highly recommend Dr. Whitt and his staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mary P – Jun 05, 2021
We will see u this February 10 th with interpter winks . I don’t forget u smile thank u
Helpful
Jerri L Stewart – Feb 07, 2021
Has done endoscopy twice for me and it has been a very smooth process both times with minimal discomfort.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Aug 13, 2020
Engaging, kind, funny, real, available and one helluva a Doctor!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mayhem – May 28, 2020
The best Dr. I have ever had the experience of working with. Always makes me feel like he has time for me. I would highly reccomend him to anyone.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mike t – Jan 21, 2020
I had an excellent with Dr. Whitt. His bedside manner was great. No doubt he cares about his patients and is passionate about what he does. Entire staff was great. Especially office manager Gail Benton at the Clayton location. I had extremely high anxiety and she made an effort to make me feel at ease through the whole process. She is amazing at what she does and can tell she loves her work and all the patients.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Charles Norwood – Jan 15, 2020
I am having the worst experience ever with their billing department. They made a mistake on my insurance information and billed me with entire care cost. Then, I try to reach them every day, but nobody picks their phone and no one responds to your message. It's been a week and I left a message to their message box including their billing department director and office adminitrators, I haven't received any call yet.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Nov 22, 2019
Out of all the different types of doctors I have seen in my life, Doctor Whitt is the first doctor that made me so happy that I wanted to write a review. My recent visit was my second time with him for a colonoscopy. He talked to me before and after the procedure. I'm sure they all do, but he does this in a friendly and informative way that makes you feel like he enjoys meeting with you. He has the best manner and excellent personality that makes you feel at ease. If you get the opportunity to request him, definitly do that.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Carolyn – Sep 13, 2019
.Dr. Whitt and his team were wonderful on the day of the procedure and Dr Whitt followed up with me afterwards to explain the results and answer any questions.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jul 11, 2019
I recently had a colonoscopy with Dr. Whitt, and was very pleased with the experience. Dr. Whitt is a very gifted physician, and has a friendly bedside manner. He answered all of my questions thoroughly, and I left feeling very knowledgeable about my health.
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mar 18, 2019
We had an outstanding visit with Dr. Whitt this past Wednesday, March 6th. He possess a great deal of medical knowledge and seems willing to share this with his patients. Upon meeting him for the first time, he made my wife feel at ease and comfortable talking with him. If there was a six-star rating, we would give him that designation without hesitation!
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mar 09, 2019
Great
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
JUDY KING in Nashville – Apr 12, 2018
Great experience with endoscopy. Highly recommend. Very informative. ST
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Nc – Apr 04, 2018
Dr.Whitt is very thorough and never makes you feel rushed at appointments. He makes sure you understand everything he has discussed, and any options you may have for treatment, I have had one office visit and 2 procedures. Everything went as explained. The office staff always follows up the day after a procedure to be sure you are feeling well and have no more questions.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
GARNER – Feb 19, 2018
Dr Whitt was so nice! He answered all my questions and was so friendly! I was very happy with my treatment and procedure!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Raleigh – Jan 10, 2018
I just want to thank you and your staff for making my experience at your office a positive one. To be honest, I was not expecting to have a good experience. You and your staff, from the ladies at the check in desk to the guy wheeling me out to my car, were very friendly, courteous, and professional.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Russ Holley in Apex, NC – Oct 06, 2017
Could not have had a better colonoscopy experience. This doctor really cares about his patients and is a genuinely nice person.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Matthews, NC – Aug 24, 2017
Had a very difficult time getting any information from their office. Left several messages that were unreturned.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Clayton, NC – Aug 17, 2017

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Whitt?

About Me

Biography

Dr. Whitt is a Virginia native.  He earned his medical degree from the University of Virginia School of Medicine.  He completed his residency...Read more

Specialties

  • Gastroenterology
  • Internal Medicine
  • Transplant Hepatology

Education

Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Fellowship Hospital
University Of Tennessee
Fellowship Hospital
University of Alabama At Birmingham
Residency Hospital

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Whitt has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Whitt's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Whitt accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Whitt frequently treats Benign Neoplasm of the Digestive System , Diverticulitis, Intestinal, and Diverticulosis, Intestinal. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Whitt treats.

Where is Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD's office located?

Dr. Whitt's office is located at 900 S Lombard St Ste 106, Clayton, NC 27520. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Kerry Whitt, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

RMG Gastroenterology of Clayton

RMG Gastroenterology of Clayton900 S Lombard St Ste 106 Clayton, NC 27520
1
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Fri: 8:00am - 4:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions
Wake Endoscopy Ctr LLC Dba Clayton Endoscopy Ctr900 S Lombard St Ste 104 Clayton, NC 27520
2
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Fri: 8:00am - 4:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions

RMG Gastroenterology/Wake Endoscopy Center

3
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Fri: 8:00am - 4:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions
Wake Endoscopy Center2601 Lake Dr Ste 201 Raleigh, NC 27607
4
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Fri: 8:00am - 4:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions
RMG Gastroenterology of Smithfield540 North St Smithfield, NC 27577
5
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 4:30pm
    • Fri: 8:30am - 4:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Whitt is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Rex Hospital

Raleigh, NC

81% Patient Experience Rating, 12% higher than the national average

16 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2021)

Wakemed Cary Hospital

Cary, NC

71% Patient Experience Rating, 2% higher than the national average

3 Awards Received

WakeMed Raleigh Campus

Raleigh, NC

76% Patient Experience Rating, 7% higher than the national average

8 Awards Received