Dr. John Small, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Orthopedic Surgery

Dr. John Small, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL and has over 32 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from University of Nebraska / College of Medicine medical school in 1990. He is affiliated with medical facilities Adventhealth Carrollwood and Tampa General Hospital. His office accepts new patients and telehealth appointments.

Dr. John Small, MD

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

13020 Telecom Pkwy North Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Telehealth available

Accepting new patients

Compare with other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Small with our nearby Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Dr. Small's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Small

3.9

Based on 63 ratings

5 Stars
65.07936507936508%
(41)
4 Stars
4.761904761904762%
(3)
3 Stars
4.761904761904762%
(3)
2 Stars
4.761904761904762%
(3)
1 Star
20.634920634920636%
(13)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Small
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Appt
Drove approximately 40 miles to an appointment only to be told since I didn't have my MRI scans I had to reschedule poor customer service no regard for the customers valuable time
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Didn't explain conditions well
Helpful
James Walsh – Apr 05, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Dr. Small was absolutely wonderful. Very selfless with his time. Very professional. He answered all my questions and concerns and even provided additional information. Post surgery he checked on me multiple times to make sure I was feeling as best as I could. I flew in out of state to be operated on by Dr. Small and he did not disappoint. I will use him again and again if needed. Loved him!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
JLH – Feb 13, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
I have been dealing with back problems since before my first back surgery in 1974. Now that I am retired and moved to the Tampa area, I was determined to find a Doctor who could find a long-term solution. I honestly believe my prayers have been answered when I met Dr. John Small. Dr. Small is the only Doctor (out of many) who suggested getting a Cat Scan with Dye Injection to confirm his suspicion that my problem may be due to blockages of my spinal fluid. Dr. Small performed my spinal stenosis surgery on Nov. 1st and a month later I am feeling 90% better than I have since 1974!! I will be forever grateful to Dr. Small for my new lease-on-life! He and his staff have been wonderful to work with. I can't thank them enough!
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
William Roberts – Dec 04, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Up in the air about recommendation. Had two surgeries with Dr. Small in the past and was very satisfied. Now 12 years later, I cannot make an appt. to see him, only can see his ARNPs. I requested to see him during my ARNP appt. prior to my first visit 2 months ago and didn't, was told he wasn't even there. I've requested to see him again during my next appt. next week. Let's see what happens. Requesting and paying for a Dr. visit, you should see one, especially when requested. Highly disappointed.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
R.H. – Oct 15, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Dr Small is an amazing physician. Highly skilled and really really cares about his patients. He is very available. He explains things in clear terms. You will be in his great hands.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Jul 01, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
I had serious problems and pain in my back. I had a curved spine with no disc between L4/L5. Saw Dr Small and he explained this crazy surgery to go front and back. He was so patient and explained everything so I could understand. Even consulted with other surgeons to get their opinion and all agreed this was the best option. This man is a genius! This crazy surgery fixed my back when others said no surgery would fix me. I will always be grateful to Dr Small. Now when I go out I will be able to walk without pain. Thank you to his staff and Ann for all their help.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sandi Hill – Jun 08, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
You cannot see Dr. Small until the day of surgery. That is not acceptable to me. I met with Ann Gowski and all I got was that the next step would be to schedule a surgery date and when I asked what would be done all I got was that I would get rods and pins. These procedures may be commonplace to you guys but it's a major decision for me and that is just not enough information. How can you expect anyone to schedule surgery without an explanation of what is to be done and being able to meet the doctor that will do your surgery?
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Daisy Diaz – Dec 30, 2020
Daisy, we are sorry your expectations were not...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
He refuses to see anyone who has EVER been in an sort of an auto accident, ever. Really? I thought doctors are supposed to help people who live with chronic pain no matter what.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sep 24, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
I can no longer recommend Florida Orthopedic! Ann Gowski totally misdiagnosed my condition and provided me with a major disservice with my two back pain issues in 2019. In November 2016 Dr. John Small performed disc surgery on L4-L5. Dr. small advised me that I had 4 bad discs in my lower back. He fixed the worst one and said that I would be back down the road for the others. In May 2019 I called to get an appointment with Dr. Small for bad pain in my lower back and in my neck. The first available was September 2019. At the appointed I was told that I had to be seen by Ann Gowski, Dr. Small’s NP. She ordered two MRI’s. Upon returning in October she advised me that there was “nothing there” and therefore I was not allowed to see Dr. Small. I asked for an appointment with Dr. Small so that he could review the MRI’s. My request was denied! So, I visited another orthopedic practice in Tampa. In 20 minutes Dr. Philip Henkin diagnosed a bone spur at C5-C6 and Sagittal Imbalance
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
7 people found this helpful
Helpful
Richard Eha – Jul 13, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
I'm two years postop lumbar fusion and doing fantastic. Dr. Small did my 5th and hopefully last back surgery (each different problems). After my being around a number of spine surgeons, he truly impressed me with his knowledge, ability with interpreting my problems, ability to explain and show the procedure, and the surgery execution as well. He has made a tremendous positive impact in my life by removing my pain and the need for pain meds. LIFE CHANGING for the better! The follow up visits were always efficient and confirming of my status improvements. I do highly recommend Dr Small to any of my friends who have had a fun albeit hard life related to the spine.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Kevin P. – Jan 15, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Was having a great deal of back pain and Dr Small reviewed MRI, X Rays and gave me a comprehensive exam and explained my injury while reassuring me he felt I can get better without surgery; surgery would be the last resort. He made me feel so comfortable as well as the office staff. Now I know why he was recommended by a few of my friends. Thank you Dr Small
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Al Rosen – Oct 24, 2019
Hi Al, Thank you for your very kind words. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Dr. Small is very personable and efficient. Getting to see him is difficult, but worth the wait and effort. Very satisfactory surgical outcome.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Mary Ann – Oct 10, 2019
Hi Mary Ann, thank you for the five star review!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Dr Small performed an experimental surgery on me while also performing a normal fusion without telling me or my insurance company and I discovered my insurance company never would have approved the experimental surgery. I now have permanent nerve damage and Dr Small classified my surgery as “Failed Back Surgery”.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
James – Sep 12, 2019
Hi James, thank you for your feedback. We assure...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
My appointment with Christian Cruz at the Telecom Parkway office was certainly worthwhile. We viewed the new X-rays together and confirmed that physical therapy would be most beneficial considering a change in circumstances for me. (As my husband has some peripheral neuropathy, I'm doing most of the driving which results in neck pain.) Also, Christian provided a list of medical massage centers to receive some therapeutic massage after I complete PT at the South Tampa FOI location. My husband and I really appreciated his support!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Kathleen Markham – Jul 06, 2019
Kathleen, thank you for the five-star review!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Awesome doctor! Very kind and listens. He understands your concerns.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Sarasota, FL – Jun 09, 2019
Thank you for the five star review! We are glad...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
I recommend Dr Small, excellent Surgeon, listens to you, always wants the best for his patients.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Carol P in FL – May 31, 2019
Carol, thank you so much for the recommendation...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Dr. Small is both kind, compassionate, and an excellent surgeon. The fact that he has 2 PAs working for him is a tribute to how popular and busy he is every day. Several of the specialist I see also commented what an excellent doctor I had for my back surgery. My back is pain free now after my surgery! Thank you, Dr. Small!
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 17, 2019
Hello, Thank you for sharing your story with us!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Dr. Small diagnosed my cervical spine issue, and after studying the situation and explaining in detail the suggested surgery, I agreed that it was necessary, and we proceeded. I can't say enough good things about the way Dr. Small treated me and my family. he was gracious kind, courteous and always open to questions. After the surgery and recovery, Dr. Small came to my room to check on me, and answer any questions or concerns I might have had. He is a very caring and true professional. Thank you
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 15, 2019
Hello, Thank you for sharing your story! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
My husband was suffering for 4 years with excruciating lower back pain. He could barely walk, he was hunched over and was miserable. Thanks to Dr. Small who did his surgery my husband is walking, he not hunched over anymore and the only pain he is experiencing is surgical pain. This was only 2 weeks ago and my husband and I can not thank this wonderful doctor enough. He is compassionate, has great bedside manners and we are truly grateful for all that he and his staff has done.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 02, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?
Reply
Excellent and caring doctor. Took the time to talk about my back issues and listened to me. He is a very thorough doctor and I would highly recommend him to family and friends.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
PG in Lutz, FL – Feb 20, 2019
Thank you PG, we appreciate your recommendation...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. John Small, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Small?

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

About Me

Care Philosophy

Dr. Small provides nonsurgical and surgical expert care to ensure each patient receives individualized treatment. He specializes in spine surgery.

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Orthopedic Spine Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

1996
Kerlan-Jobe Orthopaedic Clinic
Fellowship Hospital
1995
University Of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Residency Hospital
1990
University of Nebraska / College of Medicine
Medical School
1982
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

  • Healthgrades Honor Roll
  • Clinical Assistant Professor, University of South Florida, Department of Orthopaedics, 2005
  • Affliate Assistant Professor, University of South Florida, Department of Orthopaedics, 2008
  • Site Director, University of South Florida, University Community Hospital Carrollwood, Spine Rotation, 2008

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists practice nearby?

Click here to compare with other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists.

Does Dr. John Small, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Small has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

What are Dr. John Small, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Small frequently treats Osteoarthritis of Spine, Spondylolisthesis, and Spinal Stenosis. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Small treats.

Where is Dr. John Small, MD's office located?

Dr. Small's office is located at 13020 Telecom Pkwy North, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. John Small, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Small's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Small's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Osteoarthritis of Spine
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Small treats Osteoarthritis of Spine more than 98% of his peers

Dr. Small treats this condition more than 98% of his peers

Spondylolisthesis
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Small treats Spondylolisthesis more than 96% of his peers

Dr. Small treats this condition more than 96% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Cervical Spondylolisthesis
  • Degenerative Spondylolisthesis
Spinal Stenosis
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Small treats Spinal Stenosis more than 92% of his peers

Dr. Small treats this condition more than 92% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Lumbar Spinal Stenosis

Dr. Small's conditions and procedures:

  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Ankylosing Vertebral Hyperostosis
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Dural Tear
  • Excision of Scapula, Clavicle, Rib, or Sternum
  • Herniated Disc
  • Laminoforaminotomy
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Neck Strain (incl. Whiplash Injury)
  • Neuroplasty
  • Neurostimulator Implantation
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Pelvic Fracture
  • Periacetabular Osteotomy
  • Polyneuropathy
  • Rib Fracture
  • Scoliosis
  • Spinal Cord Stimulation
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Upper Back Pain
  • Vertebral Column Tumors
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Small accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Small accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Medicaid
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Assurant Health
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
NetworkBlue
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CareOregon
Medicaid
CareSource
Medicaid
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
Community Health Choice
Medicaid
Coventry Health Care
Wellpath Preferred PPO
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Employer Group Open Access HMO
Coventry Health Care of Florida, Inc.
Employer Group PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Golden Rule
Health Net
Medicaid
Tricare
HealthPlus
Medicaid
HealthPlus Amerigroup
Medicaid
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey
Medicaid
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Tricare
Husky Health
Medicaid
inHealth
Medicaid
INTotal Health
Medicaid
Medica
Medicaid
Medicaid
Medical Mutual of Ohio
Midwest Health Plan
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Medicaid
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
National Elevator
Peach State Health Plan
Medicaid
Simply Healthcare Plans
Medicaid
Staywell (Wellcare)
Medicaid
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Medicaid
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
Wellcare of Georgia
Medicaid

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 Telecom Pkwy North Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
2