Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD

OphthalmologyFemaleAge 52

Dr. Sung
Accepting new patients

Pacific Eye Associates

2100 Webster St Ste 214 San Francisco, CA 94115

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD is a Ophthalmology Specialist in San Francisco, CA. She is affiliated with California Pacific Medical Center - Van Ness Campus. She is accepting new patients. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Sung to book an appointment.


Dr. Sung's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Sung

4.7

Based on 19 ratings

5 Stars
89.47368421052632%
(17)
4 Stars
5.2631578947368425%
(1)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
5.2631578947368425%
(1)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Sung?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Staff friendliness (18)
  • Appointment wasn't rushed (17)
  • Explained conditions well (17)
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed (1)
  • Didn't explain conditions well (1)
  • Didn't listen or answer questions (1)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
Over 6 years of getting eye injections for ARMD, I can't imagine an ophthalmologist who would be better at explaining everything, answering questions and human contact with patients.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
San francisco, CA – Sep 07, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
The Dr. does an excellent job.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Oakland – Aug 17, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
some times the waiting time long. She is a good doctor.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Pui F Leung in San Mateo, CA – Aug 11, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Sung is a caring doctor. She provides me excellent care for my eye problems. Compared with my previous provider at West Coast Retina, it's day-and-night difference for me. Under Dr. Sung's care, she has stabilized my condition and improved my condition whereas when I was under West Coast Retina care, my condition was kept getting worse primarily due to certain doctors' arrogance and maybe due to insurance differences.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jim in Daly City, AZ – Jul 15, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
Professional, warm and thorought
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mar 03, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Sung is excellent as always.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Feb 06, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
Worst experience ever with a health care professional & office, from start to finish. Waited hour & a half past appointment time. Dr. Sung spent 30 seconds with me before someone came in the room and told her another patient was ready in another room, so I got the bum's rush. She spent three minutes with me max, told me retinas were fine (that was not my concern or reason for seeing her), gave me ambiguous page full of typos for treating dry eyes and left, without even showing me what to do.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jan 07, 2018
We thank you for your feedback and honesty. ...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?
Reply Flag
Excellent and professional!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Dec 29, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Sung?

About Me

Care Philosophy

Our practice is committed to providing the highest quality care to all of our patients. We stand for service and products that allow human beings to live...Read more

Biography

I am a board-certified ophthalmologist with subspecialty fellowship training in the medical and surgical diseases of the macula, retina, and vitreous. ...Read more

Specialties

  • Ophthalmology
  • Vitreoretinal Disease & Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

Evanston Hospital
Residency Hospital
Jackson Mem Hosp/jackson Health
Residency Hospital
Northwestern University
Undergraduate School

Languages

  • English
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Ophthalmology Specialists practice nearby?

Click here to compare with other Ophthalmology Specialists.

What are Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Sung frequently treats Retina Diseases, Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis), and Eye Infections. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Sung treats.

Where is Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD's office located?

Dr. Sung's office is located at 2100 Webster St Ste 214, San Francisco, CA 94115. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD speak?

Dr. Sung speaks Spanish, French, and Korean. View profile to see all.

Does Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Sung has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Jennifer Sung, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for California
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Check Dr. Sung's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Sung's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Retina Diseases
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Sung treats Retina Diseases more than 64% of her peers

Dr. Sung treats this condition more than 64% of her peers

Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis)
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Sung treats Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis) more than 64% of her peers

Dr. Sung treats this condition more than 64% of her peers

Eye Infections
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Sung treats Eye Infections more than 24% of her peers

Dr. Sung treats this condition more than 24% of her peers

Dr. Sung's conditions and procedures:

  • Destruction of Lesion of Retina and Choroid
  • Eye Infections
  • Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis)
  • Repair of Retinal Detachment or Retinal Tear
  • Retina Diseases
  • Vascular Disease
  • Vitrectomy (incl. Macular Hole Repair)
  • Vitreoretinal Surgery

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Sung accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(415) 923-3007

Dr. Sung accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California
Advantage Preferred DirectAccess Plus PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California PPO
Select Plus HMO
Select PPO
Blue Shield of California
Access Plus Savenet
Local Access Plus HMO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Chinese Community Health Plan (CCHP)
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
CoreSource
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Health Net
Medicare Advantage PFFS
Humana
Mail Handlers Benefit Plan (MHBP)
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
National Elevator
Principal Life
Thrivent Financial
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
United Healthcare

Locations

Pacific Eye Associates

Pacific Eye Associates2100 Webster St Ste 214 San Francisco, CA 94115
1

Affiliated Hospitals

Check the quality of care at hospitals where Dr. Sung treats patients.

Learn more

California Pacific Medical Center - Van Ness Campus

San Francisco, CA

61% Patient experience rating, 8% lower than the national average

  • America's 250 Best Hospitals Award™ (2018)