Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD

Orthopedic Hand SurgeryMaleAge 57

Orthopedic Hand Surgery

Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD is a Orthopedic Hand Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL and has over 29 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH SCHOOL OF MEDICINE in 1993. He is affiliated with medical facilities Adventhealth Carrollwood and Tampa General Hospital. His office accepts new patients and telehealth appointments.

Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD

Florida Orthopaedic Institute- NORTH TAMPA - TEMPLE TERRACE

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number
Telehealth services available

Accepting new patients

Compare with other Orthopedic Hand Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Stone with our nearby Orthopedic Hand Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida Brandon Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida Brandon Hospital.

Dr. Stone's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Stone

3.6

Based on 26 ratings

5 Stars
65.38461538461539%
(17)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
34.61538461538461%
(9)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Stone
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
I'm 66 years old and have been very active my entire life. In lifting a heavy television I injured my shoulder, I believe a torn rotator cuff. I was referred to Dr Stone as an excellent orthopedic. I don't know how to rate Dr Stone because instead of seeing him I was handed off to an intern who examined me. I heard the intern discuss his opinion of my injury with Dr Stone in the hall who then came into the room, asked me to raise my arm once and then simply concurred with the intern's diagnosis. 60 seconds max. He then wanted me to return in 6 weeks to see how it felt before any further treatment. In reviewing the medical notes posted in my records it's states "shoulder sprain". 6 weeks later I am still experiencing sharp levels of pain with certain movements and even when sleeping. I have had multiple sprains throughout my life and know this is no sprain and there is some type of damage. How do you recommend a doctor who refused to examine you? Seeking another Dr.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Bill C – Dec 15, 2020
Bill, we are sorry your expectations were not met...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
Dr. Jeff Stone performed surgery on my hand after a palm frond impalement left potentially toxic material inside. Because of the danger, he cancelled his lunch to perform the surgery immediately. Highly recommend.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sep 19, 2020
Hi there! Thanks for sharing your story about...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
Unfortunately, Dr. Stone is the week link in the FOI organization. Would not recommend him to pop a pimple after his hack job, and tried to cover it up with arrogance and lies. Worst part about it, is the Administration liaison was almost as bad. Why cover up for a bad doctor, founding partner or not, Fire him.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
This doctor is an arrogant jerk. – Jul 16, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
Great Surgeon and office staff
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dr. Bill A – Jul 08, 2019
Thank you for the five-star review, Dr. Bill! We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
Very efficient and friendly office. Dr. Stone is very pleasant and clearly explains the diagnosis and treatment options.
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Mar 29, 2019
Thank you for complimenting our team and our...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
I would highly recommend Dr. Stone as he took exceptional care of me in my emergent situation. He treated me with kindness and compassion as I had a lot of unknowns happening all at once and he assured me we would tackle them one step at a time.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Lindsey in FL – Feb 13, 2019
Thank you for the kind review Lindsey! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
Please fine another hand surgeon. This one is not following the new HB 21 law regardin g the priscription of medications after surgery.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
disgruntled patient – Jul 17, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. Our practice...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?
Reply
Had two appts with Dr Stone. The first time we waited over 1 1/2 hour and finally left without seeing him. Next time, we were scheduled to see him (since it was a different location, I did not realize he was the same doctor until after the appt) and he called in sick, so we saw his PA. Then his office called to say we had to re-schedule the follow up visit- three strikes, Dr Stone.
10 people found this helpful
Helpful
Richard in Lutz, FL – Apr 15, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Stone?

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

About Me

Care Philosophy

Dr. Stone provides nonsurgical and surgical expert care to ensure each patient receives individualized treatment. He specializes in hand and wrist surgery.

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Hand Surgery
  • Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery

Board Certifications

  • Hand Surgery
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Education

2000
University Of Florida, Department Of Orthopaedics, Division Of Hand & Microvasular Surgery
Fellowship Hospital
1998
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Residency Hospital
1994
U Pittsburgh
Internship Hospital
1994
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Internship Hospital
1993
UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH SCHOOL OF MEDICINE
Medical School
1987
Dartmouth College
Undergraduate School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

  • Healthgrades Honor Roll
  • Clinical Instructor Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center and Oakland VA Medical Center, 1998-1999
  • Affliate Assistant Professor, University of South Florida College of Medicine, Department of General Surgery, 2004-2006
  • Excellence in Orthopaedic Surgery. Leonard Marmor Surgical Arthritis Foundation, 1999
  • FORE, 2009-prese
  • Clinical Faculty for Congenital Hand, Upper Extremity & Microvascular Surgery, Shriners Hosptials for Children, 2000-2009
  • Fellowship Training Program Instructor, Hand, Upper Extremity & Micovascular Surgery, 2000-2006

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Orthopedic Hand Surgery Specialists practice nearby?

Click here to compare with other Orthopedic Hand Surgery Specialists.

Does Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Stone has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

What are Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Stone frequently treats Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist, Osteoarthritis of Hands, and Trigger Finger. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Stone treats.

Where is Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD's office located?

Dr. Stone's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD speak?

Dr. Stone speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Jeffrey Stone, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Stone's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Stone's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Stone treats Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Stone treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Osteoarthritis of Wrist
Osteoarthritis of Hands
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Stone treats Osteoarthritis of Hands more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Stone treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Trigger Finger
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Stone treats Trigger Finger more than 97% of his peers

Dr. Stone treats this condition more than 97% of his peers

Dr. Stone's conditions and procedures:

  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Arthritis of the Wrist
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • De Quervain's Release
  • Dressing and-or Debridement of Wound, Infection, or Burn (incl. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy)
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Elbow Injuries
  • Elbow Sprain
  • Fracture
  • Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
  • Hand Conditions
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand Injury
  • Hand Ligament Rupture
  • Hand Muscle Strain
  • Hand Neuropathy
  • Hand Pain
  • Joint Pain
  • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Wrist
  • Trigger Finger
  • Wrist Disorders
  • Wrist Fracture
  • Wrist Injuries
  • Wrist Pain
  • Wrist Sprain

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Stone accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Stone accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Medicaid
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Assurant Health
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
NetworkBlue
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CareOregon
Medicaid
CareSource
Medicaid
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
Community Health Choice
Medicaid
Coventry Health Care
Wellpath Preferred PPO
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Employer Group Open Access HMO
Coventry Health Care of Florida, Inc.
Employer Group PPO
Federal Employee Program (FEP)
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Golden Rule
Government Employees Health Association (GEHA)
GEHA
Group Health Cooperative (GHC)
Group Health Cooperative
Health Net
Medicaid
Tricare
HealthPartners
HealthPlus
Medicaid
HealthPlus Amerigroup
Medicaid
HealthSmart
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey
Medicaid
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Tricare
Husky Health
Medicaid
inHealth
Medicaid
INTotal Health
Medicaid
Mail Handlers Benefit Plan (MHBP)
Medica
Medicaid
Medicaid
Midwest Health Plan
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Medicaid
Molina
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
NGS CoreSource
Ohio State University Health Plan
NGS CoreSource
Peach State Health Plan
Medicaid
POMCO Group
Simply Healthcare Plans
Medicaid
State Farm
Staywell (Wellcare)
Medicaid
Travelers
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Medicaid
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
WellCare
Wellcare of Georgia
Medicaid
Worker's Compensation
Worker's Compensation WC

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute- NORTH TAMPA - TEMPLE TERRACE

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Brandon Office305 E Brandon Blvd Brandon, FL 33511
2

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - South Tampa

South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
3

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

Brandon560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101 Brandon, FL 33511
4