Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Dr. Pappou
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

6117 GUNN HWY Tampa, FL 33625

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Tampa, FL and has over 17 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Technical University Of Munchen / Faculty Of Medicine medical school in 2004. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Pappou to book an appointment.

Compare with other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Pappou with our nearby Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

Filter by
Provider Ratings

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital.

Dr. Pappou's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Pappou

4.5

Based on 85 ratings

5 Stars
85.88235294117646%
(73)
4 Stars
1.1764705882352942%
(1)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
1.1764705882352942%
(1)
1 Star
11.764705882352942%
(10)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Pappou
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
He is an incredible doctor. He is very knowledgeable, explains your problem and treatment options thoroughly, and doesn’t talk down to you. I have had many poor experiences with doctors but he is excellent.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Ashley – Oct 05, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I wish I didn't go to this provider for a nerve problem.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Didn't explain conditions well
Helpful
May 18, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Dr Pappou replaced my shoulder. He did an excellent job! He also did carpel tunnel on both hands for my husband. We are so pleased with our outcome! Highly recommend Dr Pappou!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Catherine D. – May 12, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Dr. Pappou is very thorough. He is kind and wants to be sure you understand your treatment options. He first takes a conservative approach and only suggests surgery when all other options have been exhausted. He also engages with you and encourages your participation in the decision making process of your treatment plan.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Victoria Ellis – Mar 11, 2021
Victoria, thank you for your 5 star review of Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I went to Dr. Pappou in July 2019. I had fractured the humoral neck of my right shoulder. Dr. Pappou was straight forward on initial visit and every visit thereafter. He was positive and encouraging but also very truthful of how long it would take for this injury to heal. He was easy to talk to and the Staff in Palm Harbor were very caring.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Tammy Wallace – Dec 03, 2020
Tammy, thank you for your 5 star rating with Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I was referred to Dr. Pappou by the Countryside Mease Baycare ER DR. I was very nervous since I was vacationing in FL when the accident occurred to my wrist. Dr. Pappou quickly put me at ease. He is very nice, professional and provides timely and complete office visits. I also had surgery on my wrist. This was a successful procedure and I was kept comfortable. Excellent care provider. Thank you.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Daneen – Jul 28, 2020
Hi Daneen, thank you for the great review for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I had read a lot of reviews and hoped that this doctor would take the time to listen to my questions and concerns. He seemed rushed and rather curt and generally not that interested or compassionate towards me and my condition, which is hand related. This was a first visit. I think his diagnosis is accurate and treatment plan is appropriate but I didn't feel heard and left with a few of the questions I came in with. Disappointing.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 05, 2020
Hello, we are very sorry that you left with this...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Dr. Pappou did Carpal Surgery on both my arms a few years ago..I recently saw him for a hand injury (still in progress). Dr. Pappou hasn't changed a bit..still BEST DR. EVER!!????... Skilled, knowledgeble..but most of all answers & explains all my questions perfectly! Highly recommended.. Staff very helpful & professional
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Kathryn Negrin – Feb 20, 2020
Hi Kathryn, thank you for sharing your experience...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Terrible office!! All patients made to wait well over 1 hour or more! Staff does not seem to care. No apologies were offered. I won’t be back. Go elsewhere...for your sake!
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Didn't explain conditions well
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Sep 25, 2019
Hello, we are looking to improve in any way we...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Very knowledgeable about carpal tunnel syndrome and treatment. Did a amazing job on fixing both of my hands.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sep 16, 2019
Hello, thank you for the five star review of Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Dr Pappou recently transformed my index finger into a brand new one! He cleaned out the joint which was crooked and terribly painful and inserted a wire and the entire experience was excellent The follow up is excellent and I would certainly recommend him to anyone considering hand surgery.
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Aug 06, 2019
Thank you for the five star review, we passed...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Everyone very polite and very helpful and skilled at what they did! Dr Pappou was very interested in my issues and took appropriate time with me. Excellent bedside manner!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sharon White – Jul 28, 2019
Hi Sharon, thank you for the 5 star review! Love...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I've seen Dr. Pappou for multiple problems with shoulder, elbow and hands. His expertise in diagnosis and treatment is extraordinary. His shows much concern and compassion for the patient. Dr. Pappou is non-aggressive in his approach and doesn't pressure patient into any unnecessary treatment or diagnostic testing. I'm very comfortable in this office as I have a fear of needles and cortisone shots were quick and painless. I highly recommend Dr. Pappou.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
leonard macaluso – Jul 10, 2019
Leonard, thank you for the five-star review! Glad...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Very bright. Very knowledgeable and current. Genuine listener.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
LeRoy in Palm Harbor – Jun 29, 2019
LeRoy, thank you for the five-star review! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I am pretty happy with the results of my surgeries. Dr Pappou did an excellent job! I had seen some other doctors before him but no one of them gave me such an awesome treatment. I highly recommend him. I would give him 10 stars instead of 5.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Ademar Dos Santos in Palm Harbor, FL – Jun 04, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your story...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
My husband and I have nothing but praise for his knowledge, bedside manner. and follow ups. He takes time to explain everything, even the amount of pain you will experience and healing time.
Helpful
May 10, 2019
Awe, thank you for the kind review about your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
He takes time to listen, explain and I have been very pleased in all my appointments with him! And the results in my situations!
Helpful
May 09, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Dr. Pappou was very nice and took the time to explain my options going forward which cleared up any questions I had. I felt confident in his knowledge and will definitely go to him when my issue requires surgical intervention.
Helpful
Apr 27, 2019
Thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
I met Dr Pappou in the Fall of 2014 due to pain in my right wrist. In the following months I received multiple cordizone injections. In July of 2015 we opted for wrist surgery. I had outpatient surgery at Helen Ellis hospital in Tarpon Springs. I got no follow up instructions from him. He left for Greece and I developed a serious septic infection. I lost the use of my right wrist and my immune system was wrecked. Dr Pappou's incompetence has ruined my life. He made me a cripple.
Helpful
Apr 09, 2019
Hello, We are sorry to hear that you are still...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?
Reply
Dr Pappou was extremely professional. He diagnosed my condition and provided and explained treatment options and surgery options if needed at a later date. Office front desk staff were polite and courteous. X-ray technician was friendly and considerate to the patient’s needs. 0-15 minute wait time to see Dr. Overall, an excellent experience with Florida Orthopaedic Institute.
Helpful
Mar 20, 2019
Thank you for sharing your story with Dr. Ioannis...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Pappou?

About Me

Care Philosophy

My goal with each patient encounter is not just to find what's wrong and fix it, rather to listen to their concerns, educate and engage them in the formulation...Read more

Biography

Born and raised in Rhodes Greece.

At age of 18 migrated to Germany to complete MD PhD. Top of class and Magna cum Laude. 

2...
Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Orthopedic Hand Surgery
  • Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

2013
Florida Orthopaedic Institute
Fellowship Hospital
2012
Uva Mc
Fellowship Hospital
2011
University Of Kentucky Medical Center
Residency Hospital
2007
University Of Kentucky Medical Center
Internship Hospital
2004
Technical University Of Munchen / Faculty Of Medicine
Medical School
2000
Ludwig Maximilians University
Undergraduate School
,

Languages

  • English
  • French
  • Greek
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Pappou has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Pappou's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Pappou accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Pappou frequently treats Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow), Limb Pain, and Broken Arm. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Pappou treats.

Where is Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD's office located?

Dr. Pappou's office is located at 6117 GUNN HWY, Tampa, FL 33625. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD speak?

Dr. Pappou speaks Spanish, French, and Greek. View profile to see all.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Ioannis Pappou, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

1 malpractice claim Found
  • Settlement (10/2/2019)View details
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Pappou's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Pappou's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Pappou treats Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow) more than 99% of his peers

Dr. Pappou treats this condition more than 99% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Lateral Epicondylitis (Tennis Elbow)
  • Medial Epicondylitis (Golfer's Elbow)
Limb Pain
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Pappou treats Limb Pain more than 98% of his peers

Dr. Pappou treats this condition more than 98% of his peers

Broken Arm
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Pappou treats Broken Arm more than 97% of his peers

Dr. Pappou treats this condition more than 97% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Colles' Fracture
  • Distal Radius Fracture
  • Elbow Fracture
  • Wrist Fracture

Dr. Pappou's conditions and procedures:

  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • All Shoulder or Elbow Replacement Procedures
  • Ankle Fracture
  • Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) or Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear
  • Arthritis
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Arthritis of the Shoulder
  • Arthroscopic Rotator Cuff Repair
  • Arthroscopic Shoulder Surgery
  • Arthroscopic Wrist Surgery
  • Arthroscopy
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Back Pain
  • Brachial Plexus Palsy
  • Broken Arm
  • Broken Neck
  • Bursitis
  • Carpal Tunnel Injection
  • Carpal Tunnel Release
  • Carpal Tunnel Release Surgery, Endoscopic
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Chronic Neck Pain
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • Complex Shoulder Joint Replacement
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • De Quervain's Disease
  • De Quervain's Release
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Dislocated Elbow
  • Dislocated Joint
  • Dressing and-or Debridement of Wound, Infection, or Burn (incl. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy)
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Dupuytren's Contracture Injection
  • Elbow Arthroscopy
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Elbow Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Elbow Injuries
  • Elbow Reconstruction
  • Elbow Replacement
  • Elbow Sprain
  • Elbow Tenotomy
  • Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
  • Excision of Humerus
  • Excision of Metacarpal and Carpal
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Excision of Scapula, Clavicle, Rib, or Sternum
  • Excision of Tibia or Fibula
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot and Ankle Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Foot Fracture
  • Fracture
  • Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
  • Gait Abnormality
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Gout
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Hand Conditions
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand or Wrist Tendon Transfer
  • Hand Tendon Repair
  • Herniated Disc
  • Hip Replacement
  • Hip Replacement Revision
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Joint Replacement Surgery
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Sprain
  • Knee Tendon Repair
  • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
  • Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL) Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Below Knee (incl. Ankle)
  • Limb Pain
  • Low Back Pain
  • Lupus
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Myofascial Trigger Point Injection
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Nerve Release
  • Nerve Root Injury and Plexus Disorders (incl. Pinched Nerve)
  • Neuroplasty
  • Non-Unions and Malunions of Fractures
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip and Thigh
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteochondritis Dissecans
  • Osteopenia
  • Partial Shoulder Replacement
  • Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
  • Pathological Spine Fracture
  • Pelvic Fracture
  • Peripheral Nerve Block
  • Peripheral Nerve Disorders
  • Peripheral Nerve Repair
  • Prosthetic Joint Mechanical Failure
  • Pyogenic Arthritis
  • Radiculopathy (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Reverse Total Shoulder and Total Shoulder Replacement
  • Revision of Shoulder or Elbow Replacement
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Rotator Cuff Injuries
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Rotator Cuff Tear
  • Scapular Fracture
  • Scoliosis
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Disorders
  • Shoulder Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Labral Tear
  • Shoulder Pain
  • Shoulder Replacement
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Shoulder, Elbow, Hand, and Wrist Joint Replacement
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Spine Fractures, Traumatic
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Steroid Injection
  • Synovial Biopsy
  • Systemic Chondromalacia
  • Tendon Injuries
  • Tendonitis
  • Thoracic Spine Fracture
  • Tibia and Fibula Fractures
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Total Joint Replacement
  • Trigger Finger
  • Trigger Finger Release
  • Trigger Point Injection
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery
  • Wrist Fracture
  • Wrist Fusion
  • Wrist Ligament Reconstruction
  • Wrist Replacement

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Pappou accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9797

Dr. Pappou accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
AvMed
Open Access
Beech Street (Multiplan)
Beech Street (Multiplan) EPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Preferred Patient Care PPO
Blue Select
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care
Coventry Health America
Group Plan PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) EPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
HFN
Workers Compensation
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Medicaid
Medicare
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
United Healthcare

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Citrus Park6117 GUNN HWY Tampa, FL 33625
1

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Palm Harbor36413 Us Highway 19 N Palm Harbor, FL 34684
2

Compare with other Orthopedic Surgery Specialists

Compare Dr. Pappou with our nearby Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital today at (813) 994-0358.

Filter by
Provider Ratings

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital.