Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD

Ophthalmology •  Male • Age 59
  
Dr. Hartstein
Accepting new patients

Ilan Hartstein, M.D, La Palma Eye Care Center

7851 Walker St Ste 207 La Palma, CA 90623

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD is an ophthalmology specialist in La Palma, CA and has been practicing for 30 years. He graduated from Tufts U, School of Medicine in 1985 and specializes in ophthalmology, anterior segment ophthalmology, and more.


Dr. Hartstein's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Hartstein

4.5

Based on 16 reviews

5 Stars
87.5%
(14)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
12.5%
(2)

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Hartstein?
(Select your rating)
Average Reported Wait Time
  • 10 – 15 minutes
Dr. Hartstein's Performance
  • Trustworthiness
  • Explains condition(s) well
  • Answers questions
  • Time well spent
Office & Staff Performance
  • Scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What People Say About Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
I've been his patient for about 10 years. He's very thorough, explains everything in detail and his staff is pleasant and very helpful.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option1
thumbs down icon option
Mary F. in La Palma – Oct 29, 2018
Thanks so much for the kind words. We are all...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
Just recently took my son for an eye exam and staff was very friendly and accommodating as my son has a fear of anything coming too close to his eyes. Very sweet and patient with him, i greatly appreciate it. My son was diagnosed with Autism and some things take longer with him and this was a great choice of office to bring him to as everyone involved was super sweet and patient with him. Office is clean and parking is great. Thank You!!
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Vitia Villegas in Lakewood Ca – Jan 10, 2018
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
Excellent dr. I wouldn't trust anyone else to touch my eyes. Love him. Love the staff??
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Eileen Fitzgerald in Anaheim CA – Sep 13, 2017
Thanks Eileen, Your kind words and confidence in...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
Went to Dr. Hartstien and was very nice and very professional. He listened to all my concerns and is addressing all of my concerns over moderation of visits. I flew in from FL to have the right Doctor and I'm lucky to have found this pracrice!
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Cocoa , Fl – Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for coming all this way for your eye...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
I've seen Dr. Hartstein for many years and feel very comfortable with his abilities to provide the best care for my eyes.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Richard in Buena Park, CA – Jun 11, 2017
Thanks Richard, Your kind comments are greatly...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
Very good service from this office. Made me feel comfortable and staff very helpful. Answered all my questions. I am very happy with this eye doctor.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Frank Frawley in Buena Park, CA – Mar 25, 2017
Happy to be of service. Thanks for the kind...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply
Dr. Hartstein is an excellent doctor who clearly has a lot of experience. The doctor does all kinds of eye surgery but also does glasses, contacts, lasers and everything else. The diagnostic equipment that they use in the office is state of the art. Prices are fair and the staff always explains everything in great detail -- on a few occasions they have gone to bat for us with our insurance company and vision plan.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
David B. in New York – Dec 02, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
Excellent doctor with many years of experience. Has excellent results in cataract surgery (according to many friends who have had their surgery with him). Also, has huge optical shop with lots of options and reasonable prices. The staff are very experienced and professional. My entire family has been coming here for years and are very happy.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option
thumbs down icon option
Los Angeles, CA – Dec 01, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?
Reply Flag
Amazing doctor. I would highly recommend Dr. Hartstein for anyone looking for high quality eyecare.
Was this helpful?
thumbs up icon option1
thumbs down icon option
Jean Cabret in Los Angeles, CA – Nov 07, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. I am happy...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Hartstein?

About Me

We have been serving the community for over 40 years. Our doctor, Ilan Hartstein Eye M.D is among the most experienced in cataract, glaucoma, retina and optometric care.  We have been providing high quality care in a friendly and carin...

Specialties

  • Ophthalmology
  • Anterior Segment Ophthalmology
  • Cataract Surgery
  • Cornea & External Diseases

Board Certifications

Education

1990
Jules Stein Eye Inst
Fellowship Hospital
1989
Bronx-Lebanon Hosp
Residency Hospital
1987
Long Island Jewish Medical Center
Residency Hospital
1986
V A Long Beach Healthcare System
Internship Hospital
1985
Tufts U, School of Medicine
Medical School

Languages

  • French
  • English

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Ophthalmology Specialists practice nearby?

What are Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD's top areas of care?

Where is Dr. Ilan Hartstein, MD's office located?

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Hartstein accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(714) 522-4862

Dr. Hartstein accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Basic HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California
Advantage Preferred DirectAccess Plus PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California PPO
Priority Select HMO
Select Plus HMO
Blue Shield of California
Access Plus Savenet
Local Access Plus HMO
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for California
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Hartstein's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Hartstein's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis)
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Hartstein treats Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis) more than 96% of his peers

Dr. Hartstein treats this condition more than 96% of his peers

Allergic Conjunctivitis
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Hartstein treats Allergic Conjunctivitis more than 86% of his peers

Dr. Hartstein treats this condition more than 86% of his peers

Migraine
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Hartstein treats Migraine more than 74% of his peers

Dr. Hartstein treats this condition more than 74% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Basilar Migraine
  • Classic Migraine
  • Common Migraine
  • Complicated Migraine
  • Facioplegic Migraine
  • Familial Hemiplegic Migraine
  • Headache-Free Migraine
  • Menstrual Migraine
  • Migraine, Hormone-Induced
  • Migrainous Stupor Migraine
  • Oculomotor Migraine
  • Retinal Migraine
  • Visual Migraine

Dr. Hartstein's conditions and procedures:

  • Age-Related Macular Degeneration
  • All Headaches (incl. Migraine)
  • Allergic Conjunctivitis
  • Aphakia and Other Disorders of Lens
  • Astigmatism
  • Autoimmune Diseases
  • Benign Neoplasm of Eye
  • Benign Tumor
  • Blepharitis
  • Blepharoplasty
  • Cataract
  • Cataract Removal Surgery
  • Chalazion
  • Chorioretinal Scars
  • Corneal Abrasion or Laceration
  • Corneal Diseases
  • Corneal Ulcer
  • Diabetic Retinopathy
  • Diplopia
  • Drooping Eyelids (Ptosis)
  • Dry Eyes
  • Eye Infections
  • Eye Surgery
  • Eyelid Disorders
  • Eyelid Surgery
  • Floaters
  • Foreign Body Removal from Eye
  • Glaucoma
  • Glaucoma Surgery
  • Keratoconus
  • Lazy Eye
  • Migraine
  • Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis)
  • Pterygium
  • Relaxing Incisions, Corneal
  • Removal of Foreign Body from External Eye
  • Repair of Brow Ptosis and Blepharoptosis
  • Retina Diseases
  • Retinal Detachment and Retinal Tear
  • Senile Cataracts

Locations

Ilan Hartstein, M.D, La Palma Eye Care Center

La Palma Eye Care Center7851 Walker St Ste 207 La Palma, CA 90623
1
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 7:30am - 5:00pm
    • Tue: 7:30am - 6:30pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 4:00pm
    • Thu: 7:30am - 6:30pm
    • Fri: 7:30am - 4:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions

Affiliated Hospitals

Check the quality of care at hospitals where Dr. Hartstein treats patients.

Learn more

La Palma Intercommunity Hospital

La Palma, CA

61% Patient experience rating, 8% lower than the national average

  • Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2019, 2018, 2017)