Dr. Howard Jackson, MD

Interventional Spine MedicineMaleAge 55

Interventional Spine Medicine

Dr. Howard Jackson, MD is an Interventional Spine Medicine Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL and has over 28 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Hahnemann University in 1994. He is affiliated with medical facilities Adventhealth Carrollwood and Tampa General Hospital. His office accepts new patients and telehealth appointments.

Dr. Howard Jackson, MD

Florida Orthopaedic Institute- NORTH TAMPA - TEMPLE TERRACE

13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number
Telehealth services available

Accepting new patients

Compare with other Interventional Spine Medicine Specialists

Compare Dr. Jackson with our nearby Interventional Spine Medicine Specialists at HCA Florida Largo Hospital.

Make an appointment at HCA Florida Largo Hospital today at (727) 440-4823.

These providers are on the medical staff of HCA Florida Largo Hospital.

Dr. Jackson's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Jackson

3.0

Based on 22 ratings

5 Stars
40.90909090909091%
(9)
4 Stars
4.545454545454546%
(1)
3 Stars
9.090909090909092%
(2)
2 Stars
4.545454545454546%
(1)
1 Star
40.90909090909091%
(9)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Below Average
First, the wait times are better than some of the earlier reports, but not good. Finally saw him about 100 min after appointment time (before noon). He gave me an opinion on my condition that I knew was completely wrong. I used to work in the field. I went to 2 other specialists who both gave me matching recommendations AND both, as professionally as possible, strongly disagreed with Dr. Jackson. One of the other doctor's assistants guessed that it was Dr. Jackson who had given the opinion without me using his name. Wow. That's not good. No respect from his peers. He's not a bad person. He's personable, polite and calming. I don't doubt that he is subjectively trying to help patients... but his advice, in my case, has been disagreed with by two other specialists and an additional two doctors (my primary and a doctor in a related field) both highly suggested I listen to the other specialists. That's 4 docs who think he's wrong... if you see him at least get a 2nd opinion.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Just a patient – Jul 16, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
horrendous. where do i begin? the staff is nasty. when you call the office, you NEVER get to speak to a human.......always voicemail & sometimes they don't even call you back. dr jackson is probably the worst physician i have ever encountered. his epidurals (& there were many) caused a major infection that could have been life threatening. his manner is curt, his skills are questionable & i'm sorry i didn't read the reviews before i let him treat me.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Aug 10, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
Give this review serious consideration and think about the implications. I’m a surgical RN who has been a patient of Dr. Jackson's for close to 7 yrs. During this time, he has sent me for physical therapy, performed steroid injections etc. and nothing has helped. Recently, Dr. Jackson suggested I undergo another round of steroid injections, which I agreed to. The treatment was supposed to be a series of 2 injections every other week for a total of 6. After the first round, I was feeling some rel
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 21, 2019
Hello, Thank you for providing your feedback. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
It is difficult me to rate a physician at a higher level than one star when I cannot even see said physician, but here is the story: Dr. Jackson gave me four epidural shots over two weeks for chronic neck pain with a scheduled follow-up with him. Instead, I saw his PA even though there were numerous things I wanted to discuss with him. Twice, she left the room to convey my comments to him. There were things that he should have heard directly! Slightly ridiculous medicine!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
7 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sandy Scott in Seminole, FL – Dec 19, 2018
Hi Sandy, we did receive your initial review and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
Be prepared to wait. Runs very late. Takes plenty of time with each patient.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Feb 11, 2018
We sincerely apologize for the extended wait time...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
I love Dr. Jackson. He is gentle and caring. Takes time to talk to you, so you understand. I live a 4.5 hr. drive away and they have been great about scheduling so I can make a 1 day trip. I have confidence in Dr. Jackson.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Ocala, FL – Nov 29, 2017
Wow, four and half hour drive, that is...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
I was unhappy to get the doctor Howard Jackson MD, whu said that my leg pain is caused by the displacement of the vertebral disks, based on the MRA three years ago. And without making fresh pictures, he directed me to a physical therapist. Although I said that the pain in me is now of a different nature and the right leg hurts (three years ago my left leg hurted). It seems only logical that when the pain and location has changed, the pictures from years before are not a good basis for diagnosis.
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
Alena in Ruskin, FL – Aug 05, 2017
Alena, thank you for the detailed review. We will...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
Dr. Jackson has changed my perspective, I now know that I can get better and live a much more fulfilling life. Thank you Dr. Jackson and you team of caring professionals.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Bart Bonbrest in Tampa, FL – Jun 10, 2017
Thanks Bart! We will share this with Dr. Jackson...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
Horrible experience. And rude to me as a Pt with medical knowledge. Won't return, or recommend.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
West Palm Beach, FL – May 16, 2017
We are very sorry, we care immensely about our...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
I expected higher standards. I was seen by the nurse practitioner who was super nice. The doctor came later with his spine mold and spoke to me about what he thinks I may have. I was not examined by the doctor and there was not further questioning to find the possible source of the injury or what it could be. I was written for physical therapy and an anti inflamatory creme. I feel that a lot more could have been done to check my injury and what to expect in terms of recovery.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Long wait times
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Max B in Miami, FL – Nov 04, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?
Reply
I had been stuck with FOI for close to an year for my cervical and Lambar pain. They had given me 6 injections on neck and 7 on lower back with no relief. After the last shots Doctor tells me that is best he can offer and i should visit some other doctor!!! When i asked for appointment they tell me to come after a month appointment. Even though i requested i am in pain they tell me go visit urgent care for pain relief? Why should i visit some urgent care for pain relief when i am already visitin
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Ankit in Brandon, FL – Sep 24, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Jackson?

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

About Me

Care Philosophy

My goal is to educate, guide, and manage my patients through the nonsurgical and surgical care of their spinal condition.

Specialties

  • Interventional Spine Medicine

Education

1999
Hospital Of The University Of Pennsylvania
Fellowship Hospital
1998
Hospital Of The University Of Pennsylvania
Residency Hospital
1995
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center
Internship Hospital
1994
Hahnemann University
Medical School
1990
Villanova University
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

  • Clinical Associate, Rehabilitation Medicine, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, 1998-1999

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Interventional Spine Medicine Specialists practice nearby?

Click here to compare with other Interventional Spine Medicine Specialists.

Does Dr. Howard Jackson, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Jackson has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

What are Dr. Howard Jackson, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Jackson frequently treats Degenerative Disc Disease, Sacrum Disorders, and Spondylolisthesis. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Jackson treats.

Where is Dr. Howard Jackson, MD's office located?

Dr. Jackson's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Howard Jackson, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Jackson's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Jackson's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Degenerative Disc Disease
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Jackson treats Degenerative Disc Disease more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Jackson treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Sacrum Disorders
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Jackson treats Sacrum Disorders more than 95% of his peers

Dr. Jackson treats this condition more than 95% of his peers

Spondylolisthesis
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Jackson treats Spondylolisthesis more than 70% of his peers

Dr. Jackson treats this condition more than 70% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Cervical Spondylolisthesis
  • Degenerative Spondylolisthesis

Dr. Jackson's conditions and procedures:

  • Celiac Plexus Block
  • Cervical Radiculopathy
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Chest Wall Pain Syndrome
  • Coccygeal Pain
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Epidural Steroid Injections
  • Facet Syndrome
  • Herniated Disc
  • Kyphosis
  • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
  • Lumbar Radiculopathy
  • Metastatic Spinal Cord Cancer
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Runner's Knee
  • Sacrum Disorders
  • Scoliosis
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation
  • Spinal Infections
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Spondylitis
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Upper Back Pain

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Jackson accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 978-9700

Dr. Jackson accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care
Group Plan PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Principal Financial Group
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute- NORTH TAMPA - TEMPLE TERRACE

Florida Orthopaedic Institute13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
2