Dr. Grant Garlick, MD

Dr. Grant Garlick, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

(813) 588-8347

Dr. Grant Garlick, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Brandon, FL. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as Memorial Hospital Of Tampa and Adventhealth Carrollwood. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Garlick to book an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Brandon560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101 Brandon, FL 33511
1
South Tampa909 N Dale Mabry Hwy Tampa, FL 33609
2

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital America’s 100 Best Hospitals for Orthopedic Surgery Award™ See hospitals

More Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at Memorial Hospital of Tampa

Dr. Garlick's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Garlick

4.2

Based on 73 ratings

5 Stars
79.45205479452055%
(58)
4 Stars
1.36986301369863%
(1)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
1.36986301369863%
(1)
1 Star
17.80821917808219%
(13)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Garlick?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Office environment (63)
  • Staff friendliness (63)
  • Appointment scheduling (60)
What could be improved
  • Didn't listen or answer questions (12)
  • Appointment was rushed (10)
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions (10)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
I just had my one year follow up with Dr. Garlick who performed a partial knee replacement on me in January 2020. I cannot express how much this procedure has changed my life! I should say given my life back. I am now able to go on walks, toss the football with my 10 year old and I am now able to even play basketball with NO pain in my need! Don't make the mistake of thinking all orthos are the same! What Dr. Garlick has the ability and experience to accomplish is nothing short of amazing. Do not proceed without first having an appointment with Dr. Garlick!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
John Jackson – Feb 12, 2021
John, thank you for your 5 star review of Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Every visit went smoothly and the outcome worked very well in every situation. I could not be more pleased. All staff personnel I came in contact with were always pleasant and competent. Wait time was consistently brief, making the visits concise. Love it.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Steve LaLonde – Nov 04, 2020
Steve, thank you for your 5 star rating for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
I appreciated how Dr Garlick explained everything .very professional. Very comfortable
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Oct 30, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star rating and compliments...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Had surgery at memorial in Tampa. Out of hospital in 28 hrs. Off of walker 1 week! Never used a cane! The most spectacular outcome from a surgery ever! He is very skillful at what he does and I have recommended him to many people. He is honestly the BEST, and no, I am not his mom!
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jean Aldrich – Oct 26, 2020
Jean, thank you for your 5 star rating and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply
Dr Garlick didnt send fluid to the lab he removed from my knee and because of this my other Dr lacked information about my knee. I also saw him in June 2020 for broken leg and he didnt tell me a potential blood clot and subsequent Pulmonary Embolism from my leg to my lung could occur and did. I could have died as these can both be fatal. A very basic thing an Orthopedic Doctor should tell a patient but Dr Garlick failed to do it. I'm lucky to be alive no thanks to him. And i missed an opportunity to appeal insurance decision to have acid shots in my knees because of his poorly qualified secretary and staff. Would not see him again because of his unprofessional attitude, demeanor and failure as a Doctor. I recommend finding someone else if you value your life. The bare minimum one should expect from their physician is to be talked to respectfully and told basic life saving information. I would not want a Dr who cant do that to operate on me.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
Helpful
Oct 05, 2020
We are sorry that your expectations were not met...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Garlick performed a partial knee replacement on my left knee last year. I can’t say enough good things about him. The surgery was a success and a life changer for me. I highly recommend Dr. Garlick and all of his staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Tracie Ferguson – Feb 05, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
When I viewed the doctors profiles on the FOI website and Dr. Garlick said his focus/interest was on the knee, I decided to schedule an appointment with him. I had a total knee replacement in July 2019 & would highly recommend him. His nurse Stephanie, assistant Caitlin & PA Elizabeth make a great team.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Tracy K. in Apollo Beach, FL – Oct 28, 2019
Hi Tracy, we appreciate the five stars and kind...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Doctor Grant Garlick replaced my left knee 12-18 and replaced my second knee 11 days ago. I highly recommend he and his staff for any knee problems. I am looking forward to my life without knee pain!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Kathleen Brothers – Sep 29, 2019
Hi Kathleen, thank you for your kind words and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Excellent care, had a partial rt knee replacement, I am 5 weeks post surgery and my knee has not felt this good in 10+years. The care I received at each visit was great the entire staff from check-in to seeing the Dr. special kudos to Dr Garlick, Elizabeth, and Caitlin all made me feel like a real person versus just a number
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Brian B – Jul 02, 2019
Brian, thank you for the five-star review! Very...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
If you want to feel you are in good hands when your body is feeling like a broken bird, this is the doctor to go to. Dr. Garlick has a great bedside manner with all his patients. He will take the time to understand your problem or injury. I have gone to him for my knees; as well as a shoulder injury. I have found relief in both areas of my body with Dr G. recommendations and treatments. As we age, our mind is young, but the body starts showing something different otherwise. Dr. Garlick is superb and I feel confident that I will get better in his care. Also his staff is wonderful and friendly. 5 star rating.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Arlane DiGiovanni in Odessa, FL – Jun 21, 2019
Arlane, thank you for taking time to compliment...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
I had a partial knee replacement a year ago. I can not say enough about the care and compassion of Dr. Garlick and his staff. I can honestly say that he gave my life back to me. I was in so much pain I didn't want to do anything. Now, a year later, I am doing great.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Brenda Courtney in Tampa, FL – Mar 05, 2019
Brenda Courtney, thank you for taking time to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
I have had both knees replaced, right is 14 weeks old, left is less than 6 weeks. With Therapy the recovery has been quick return to normal living with little to no pain in less than 3 weeks for me. He is high energy and attentive explained his use of equipment and reason for using visionaire knee prosthetic.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Doug B. in Seffner, FL – Mar 04, 2019
Doug B., wow, two knee replacements! We are so...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Garlick has treated my advanced osteoarthritis in both knees for several years, mainly with shots. He recently performed a total knee replacement on my9 left knee, which as is normal, is still in treatment through physical therapy to adopt to the implant. After one month, the repaired left knee is already functioning to the extent that I can walk fairly normally and returned to basic activities. Surgery went very well, and pain management was effective.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
George Gutwirth in Tampa, FL – Feb 14, 2019
Thanks for sharing your story George! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Garlick is without peer. I’ve had other orthopedic surgeries & physicians, none of which come close to his knowledge, individualized treatment and procedures. I would recommend that friends/family (outside of Florida) travel here to Tampa for a knee replacement. Not that I want to do my other knee, but if I needed to, Dr. Garlick is the only surgeon I would even consider.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
TCLiggett in St. Petersburg, FL – Feb 13, 2019
Thank TCLiggett! We appreciate your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
I was told 7 Yrs ago I was a candidate for a new knee. I had Cortisone injection that enabled me to function for just under 5 Yrs. After the second injection Dr. Garlick and Elizabeth were surprised that I did not ask for a knee replacement. I waited because I though I might never have to have it replaced. I was doing fewer and fewer activities. The pain persisted. Dr Garlick replaced my knee. Now I wish I had had the Knee joint replace earlier. Dr Garlick answered all my questions.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Joe Adles in Wesley Chapel – Feb 08, 2019
Joe, thank you for sharing your story for others...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
From the Office staff to Dr Garlick, I cannot tell you how nice and caring these people are. I had both my knees replaced by Dr Garlick . The first one I had done in October and the second one a week before Xmas and I am out and about doing my normal everyday things. He is the best, he listens, gives you his opinions, and if he had too I am sure he could perform the surgery in his sleep . From Kaleigh, Kaitlyn, Elizabeth to DR Garlick I thank you all for taking good care of me .
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jim in FL – Jan 16, 2019
Jim, thank you for complimenting Dr. Garlick,...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Outstanding doctor. Kept me informed throughout the entire journey of getting my knee replaced. The surgery went off like clock work. Dr. Garlick and his staff were the epitome of how a true caring professional should work and act. Absolutely no doubt in my mind, I would choose Dr. Garlick again!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
J Hester in Tampa, FL – Jan 11, 2019
J Hester, thank you for taking time to share your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr, Garlick is hands-down one of the best Orthopedic doctors in the Bay area. He doesn't come across egotistical as many confident doctors do. I have had the greatest experience with him & staff from the diagnose of my knee problems to the partial replacement that he performed in 2016. I recently come to see him again through a work related injury to my knee. He was able to immediately tell me what the exact damage was & the time it would take to heal. He was spot on & now I am back to normal.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Dawn Cato in Temple Terrace, FL – Jan 10, 2019
Thanks Dawn! We are pleased to hear you've had a...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Garlick and his staff was very professional, down to earth and easy to talk to. He answered all my questions and made me feel at ease about my surgery. He did an excellent job repairing my patella tendon. I highly recommend him to anyone needing orthopedic surgery. He is the BEST at what he does. I am grateful that I had him as my doctor.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
R. Hawkins Sr in Lakeland, FL – Jan 04, 2019
R. Hawkins Sr., we are pleased to hear that Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Garlic worked with me over the past five years with my left knee deterioration and arthritis issues. He did not want to rush me into knee replacement surgery but we both agreed that point would come in the future. Dr. Garlic always told me I would know when the time comes and it did this past summer. I had my knee replacement on 8/22 and my results have been fantastic. The rehab and recovery that Florida Ortho had in placed worked extremely well. My life has improved dramatically!!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jeffrey A. jacobs in Lithia, FL – Dec 31, 2018
Mr. Jacobs, we appreciate you sharing your story...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Garlick?

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Garlick's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Garlick's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Osteoarthritis of Knee
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Garlick treats Osteoarthritis of Knee more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Garlick treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Joint Drainage
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Garlick performs Joint Drainage more than 98% of his peers

Dr. Garlick performs this procedure more than 98% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Joint Arthrocentesis
Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
high
high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Garlick treats Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear) more than 91% of his peers

Dr. Garlick treats this condition more than 91% of his peers

Dr. Garlick's conditions and procedures:

  • Achilles Tendon Rupture Repair
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Coccygeal Pain
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot and Ankle Ligament and Tendon Repair
  • Hip Fracture
  • Hip Replacement
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Replacement Revision
  • Knee Sprain
  • Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL) Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
  • Leg Fracture Below Knee (incl. Ankle)
  • Limb Pain
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Muscular Dystrophy (MD)
  • Non-Unions and Malunions of Fractures
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
  • Pyogenic Arthritis
  • Radiculopathy (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Sacrum Disorders
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Sjögren's Syndrome
  • Soft Tissue Sarcoma
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Systemic Chondromalacia
  • Tibia and Fibula Fractures
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Garlick accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 588-8347

Dr. Garlick accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Choice PPO
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Medical Mutual of Ohio
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
Worker's Compensation
Worker's Compensation WC

About Me

Care Philosophy

I believe in a team approach to medicine. My patients commit to the process and we work together toward a common goal.

Biography

Dr. Garlick has advanced training in all areas of sports and joint replacement-including complex cartilage restoration, ligament reconstruction and joint...Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

2008
Florida Orthopaedic Institute
Fellowship Hospital
2006
University of Medicine and Denistry of New Jersey
Residency Hospital
2006
University of Medicine and Denistry of New Jersey
Internship Hospital
1997
Unveristy of South Florida
Undergraduate School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Grant Garlick, MD?

Call (813) 588-8347 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Does Dr. Grant Garlick, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Garlick has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Grant Garlick, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Grant Garlick, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Garlick's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Grant Garlick, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Garlick accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Grant Garlick, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Garlick frequently treats Osteoarthritis of Knee, Joint Drainage, and Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear). See all procedures and conditions Dr. Garlick treats.

Where is Dr. Grant Garlick, MD's office located?

Dr. Garlick's office is located at 560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101, Brandon, FL 33511. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Grant Garlick, MD speak?

Dr. Garlick speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Garlick is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Memorial Hospital Of Tampa

Tampa, FL

66% Patient Experience Rating, 3% lower than the national average

1 Award Received

Adventhealth Carrollwood

Tampa, FL

75% Patient Experience Rating, 6% higher than the national average

Adventhealth Tampa

Tampa, FL

68% Patient Experience Rating, 1% lower than the national average

Brandon Regional Hospital

Brandon, FL

62% Patient Experience Rating, 7% lower than the national average

10 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Orthopedic Surgery Excellence Award™ (2020)

St. Joseph's Hospital

Tampa, FL

79% Patient Experience Rating, 10% higher than the national average

11 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2018)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

3 Awards Received