Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD

NeurosurgeryMaleAge 46

Dr. Zavala
Accepting new patients

Neurosurgery & Spine Consultants

4611 Centerview San Antonio, TX 78228

Make an Appointment

(210) 255-8935

Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD is a Neurosurgery Specialist in San Antonio, TX and has over 21 years of experience in the medical field. Dr. Zavala has more experience with Spine Disorders & Surgical Procedures than other specialists in his area. He graduated from University of Texas Medical School At San Antonio medical school in 2000. He is accepting new patients. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Zavala to book an appointment.


Compare Providers

Quickly compare more Neurosurgery Specialists in your area

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Recent Reviews
    Reviews made in the last 30 days. See reviews
  • Trustworthy
    Patients said this doctor is trustworthy. See reviews

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Texas
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Zavala

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Zavala treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Zavala treats other conditions, please contact the office at (210) 255-8935.

Spine Disorders & Surgical Procedures

Spine specialists diagnose and treat conditions affecting the bones of the spine, including degenerative spine disease, herniated discs, stenosis, and fractured vertebrae, with treatments including medication, physical therapy, and surgery.Compare with other Spine Disorders & Surgical Procedures specialists.

Dr. Zavala treats at a

very high

frequency compared to similar providers

Based on claims data for 57 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Herniated Disc
Radiculopathy (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
Low Back Pain
Spinal Stenosis
Normal Frequency
High Frequency
Very High Frequency
Dr. Zavala
Similar Providers

Check Dr. Zavala's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Zavala's conditions and procedures:

  • Ankylosing Vertebral Hyperostosis
  • Brain Surgery
  • Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) Shunt - Insertion, Repair or Removal
  • Cerebrospinal Fluid Leak (CSF Leak)
  • Cerebrovascular Disease
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Chiari Malformation Type 1
  • Chiari Malformation Type 2
  • Chiari's Deformity
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Dural Repair or Other Spinal Cord Repair
  • Dural Tear
  • Herniated Disc
  • Herniated Disc Surgery
  • Hydrocephalus
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease
  • Lamina Procedures (incl. Laminectomy, Laminoplasty, Laminotomy)
  • Low Back Pain
  • Lumbar Spine Fracture
  • Meningiomas
  • Myelopathy
  • Nerve Root Injury and Plexus Disorders (incl. Pinched Nerve)
  • Neuroplasty
  • Neurostimulation
  • Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Pathological Spine Fracture
  • Pituitary Tumor
  • Polyneuropathy
  • Post-Laminectomy Syndrome
  • Radiculopathy (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Scoliosis
  • Spinal Compression Fracture Repair
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Spinal Cord Stimulation
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Spine Deformities
  • Spine Fractures, Traumatic
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Thoracic Spine Myelopathy
  • Upper Back Pain

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Zavala accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(210) 255-8935

Dr. Zavala accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Ambetter
Superior Health Plan
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas
Blue Choice
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CHAMPVA
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Government Employees Health Association (GEHA)
GEHA
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Mail Handlers Benefit Plan (MHBP)
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Pyramid Life
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
WellCare

Dr. Zavala's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Zavala

4.6

Based on 48 ratings

5 Stars
89.58333333333333%
(43)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
10.416666666666666%
(5)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Zavala?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Listened & answered questions (41)
  • Office environment (41)
  • Appointment scheduling (40)
What could be improved
  • Didn't explain conditions well (5)
  • Long wait times (5)
  • Appointment was rushed (4)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
I truly enjoyed my PT sessions. The therapist were so kind and attentive. They encouraged me and showed me that they cared very much about my well being. My pain has gone down quite a bit and I am more mobile. I am able to keep paint bay with the excerises I was shown.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Grace Perez – Dec 31, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
My mom have some complications regarding her age and conditions we try avoiding more surgery but things don't improve regardless all efforts. So we was concerned above the outcome do to previous complications with surgeries but by surprise came out great, event better the 2 previous ones. She was walking faster and longer the before, pain levels after surgery was minimum and only when she have to move. We been pts of him for long time and I say it before, Dr Zavala is our Angel he go above and beyond any expectations you can have. My momvwas treated like a Queen andshe love that lol. When he say welcome to the NSC family he means it. I was expecting a long way recovery, now i can say it is not going to be event half of the time i was thinking and that means less stress mecand less pain for her. Dr Zavala can't event get closer of imaging how greatful we are of having him in our provider words can't event get closer to it. May God keep blessing and keep you safe. ????????????
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
AA & BTA – Dec 16, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
some years back i had a lower back spine surgery with doctor gerardo zavala and my experian was so good he bring me back to life until nowdays i would like to have the oportunity to thank's doctor zavala and to all his stuff for all work they putting on me and againg thank you doctor zavala, Sincery: luciano
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Luciano Zepeda – Nov 29, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
recently i had a spine surgery with a doctor gerardo zavala and thanks god and doctor zavala everything was over expectation until now i feel great and i hope i continue ok till my ful recovery i would like to thank doctor zavala for his profesiolistmo for his care and his kindnnes and to all his team. and thank you againg doctor zavala and to all you staff sincery Sandra Zepeda
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sandra Zepeda – Nov 29, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Excellent
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Didn't explain conditions well
Helpful
J.Soto – Nov 18, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
My visit was a very positive experience. Dr. Zavala has very good bedside manners and cares very much about his patients. I went in to see Dr. Zavala with a very excruciating pain on my back and after surgery came out feeling great. I highly recommend Dr. Zavala He is the best!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Diana Cisneros – Oct 13, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Zavala performed cervical spinal surgery on me 5 years ago with outstanding results. I unfortunately had an recient accident and did substantial damage to my spine. Dr. Zavala performed surgery on me 2 weeks ago. He expertly repaired the extensive damage. I have no more pain in my arm and very minimal dull pain between my shoulders (the pain between my shoulders is getting better every day). God gave Dr. Zavala a special gift. His talent and skill as a surgeon is unmatched. If you have had an accident to your spine don't wait get an appointment with Dr. Zavala. He and his staff takes the time to listen to you and explain your options, procedures and results. Outstanding doctor.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Col. Tommy L. Gilmore, USAF, (Ret.) – Mar 28, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Zavala performed my back surgery December 2019. He did a great job! I feel so much better. I enjoyed meeting him and his staff at Centerview. I appreciate Dr. Zavala being upfront and honest with me and my family. Great personality and bed side manner! Thank you!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Maria Diaz – Feb 18, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Zavala performed extensive back surgery on me 6months ago. He is an excellent doctor.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Feb 15, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
I had been suffering with chronic lower back pain which radiated down my left leg for approximately 1.5 years. I had tried physical therapy and epidural steroid injections, but only temporary relief was obtained. Finally, I decided to pursue surgery and met with Dr. Zavala II. He evaluated my medical records, discussed my options, and explained the potential risks of surgery. I opted for surgery. The moment I awakened in the recovery room I new I made the right decision. The pain which had been radiating down my left leg was gone. I feel like I got my life back!!! I found Dr. Zavala and all his staff to be very professional, personable, and competent. I highly recommend to anyone with back pain issues to contact him for a consultation!!!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Ron Peterson – Jan 17, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
I had back surgery 2 months ago Not by Dr. Zavala but by another surgeon who made a very rare mistake. I have been without post care or any real help as to a plan of care going forward. My dad see's Dr. Zavala' s dad for his back & we were recommend by him to see Dr. Zavala. BEST DECISION EVER MADE!!! I was so scared because of course no one wants to clean up someone else's mess but Dr. Zavala was amazing. He is very knowledgeable about his profession and super caring with so much compassion. This Dr did more for me in the first hour than the other Dr has done for me in 2 months. Dr. Zavala said he was going to take good care of me & with that being said, I saw him on the 7th he has already set me up & scheduled CT, nerve testing, sacs compressions, knee/brace to help me walk, OT/PT, provider care, handicapped prescription & meds to help with my issues. Not only did he do that his office staff was amazing at setting me up & making sure I had all the referrals. I'm hopeful for recovery
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Samantha Ocejo – Jan 16, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Was scheduled twice for surgery and the last one was cancelled because the hospital would not give him two operating rooms. Dr. Zavala explained to me and my wife that he could perform the surgery because his Anesthesiologist was not available. But, unknown to Dr. Zavala, his anesthesiologist had already prepared me for surgery 30 minutes earlier. I do not like people lying to me. Zavala lacks serious integrity from my experience with him.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Robert Berg – Jan 03, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Went to see Dr Zavala this morning and I tell you he is the most vulgar and has a mouth and a liar Dr that I ever met. He accused me of going to a Dr's office and talking bad to the receptionist well I went over there to clarify and she told me he was mistaken in other words a liar..didn't check my wonder surgery which I had glue coming out from my back where he had done the surgery he got on my face I thought he was going to slap me or pick a fight...I seen so many surgeons and he is the worst....
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Rodolfo lozano – Oct 30, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Hi I had lower back surgery with dr Zavala 11 and I don’t have nothing wrong with the dr. Sometimes people from his staff do errors. But the doctor don’t have nothing to do with there mistakes that they do in the office. So I apologize to dr Zavala about the stars that I put days earlier, and also for my comments. He is a very good doctor that I recommend to eny one who needs surgery.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Ramiro del bosque jr – Aug 30, 2019
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. ...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Zavala was the most professional and caring doctor that I have ever been associated with. The back surgery he performed on me was a success and I was pain free the minute I awoke from anesthesia. I would recommend Dr. Zavala for any type of back or neurological treatment.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Bill Mayo – Aug 09, 2019
Thank you for taking time to leave a review! It...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Amazing physician! Felt at ease with him and he is now caring for my mother and father in law who have back issues. His staff is kind, patient, and very knowledgeable.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Aug 07, 2019
Thank you for taking time to leave a review! It...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
I had been suffering with lower back pain for years, I finally broke down and went for a consultation with Dr. Zavala at that point he recommended surgery, I was a little apprehensive because my niece had back surgery performed by another surgeon and it did not go well, Dr. Zavala explained all he was going to do and put me at ease, he did a wonderful job and now he is my hero, I went from severe back and leg pain to no pain at all, I highly recommend him, just do exactly what he says to do and all will be good. Also the staff at his office are awesome and attentive. D Jimenez Natalia Texas
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 31, 2019
Thank you for taking time to leave a review! It...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
I want to say that I've been under Dr. Zavala II care, for quite a few years. I owe my life to Dr. Zavala, because if it hadn't been for his medical decision to get a cardiac clearance for a neck surgery procedure, I would of possibly have had a heart attack during my procedure, and died. My opinion to everyone, especially the elderly, is to pay attention to the warning signs and make them known to your Doctor, weather it's your primary or specialist. Thank you Dr. Zavala II, for your care.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Margaret Valdes in San Antonio, TX – Mar 01, 2019
Thank you for taking time to leave a review! It...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
Having suffered back issues for years my new doctor in San Antonio refereed me to Dr. Z. When I finally pulled the trigger he and his team were very through in in making sure the CORRECT procedure and repair was recommended and performed. Now just two weeks after surgery I have NO pain. This speaks volumes as each day I was at a 6-to-8 and just learned to live with it. I know I', not fully healed yet, but I have more restful sleep and less stress as a result of the Laminectomy he performed. A+++
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dave S in San Antonio, TX – Jan 31, 2019
Thank you for taking time to leave a review! It...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?
Reply Flag
As a 68 yr. old veteran needing complicated back surgery I could not reccomend a better surgeon. The relief from pain and the regaining of my mobility have been unbelievable. I truly believe his hands are blessed. Trust him. He has your best interest at heart.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jack R. Word in Converse, TX – Nov 06, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Zavala?

About Me

Care Philosophy

My philosophy with surgical intervention is to "proceed with caution". Surgery is an invasive endeavor, which should be addressed with mutual respect and...Read more

Specialties

  • Neurosurgery
  • Minimally Invasive Neurological Spine Surgery
  • Neurological Spine Reconstructive Surgery
  • Neurological Spine Surgery
  • Peripheral Nerve Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

2008
Loyola University
Fellowship Hospital
2008
Loyola University
Residency Hospital
2001
University of Texas Health Science Center
Internship Hospital
2000
University of Texas Medical School At San Antonio
Medical School
1996
Rice University
Undergraduate School

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Zavala's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Zavala accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Zavala frequently treats Spine Disorders & Surgical Procedures. See all practice areas where Dr. Zavala specializes.

Where is Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD's office located?

Dr. Zavala's office is located at 4611 Centerview, San Antonio, TX 78228. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD speak?

Dr. Zavala speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

Does Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Zavala has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Gerardo Zavala, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

Neurosurgery & Spine Consultants

Neurosurgery & Spine Consultants4611 Centerview San Antonio, TX 78228
1
Neurosurgery & Spince Consultants - Stone Oak1139 E Sonterra Blvd # 565 San Antonio, TX 78258
2
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions
Neurosurgery & Spine Consultants - Southwest7500 Barlite Blvd Ste 305 San Antonio, TX 78224
3