Dr. Eric F. Berkman, MD

Dr. Eric F. Berkman, MD

Save

Orthopedic Surgery | Male | 54 years old

20 reviews| Leave a review
You've got options
Here's a few other providers to consider
Filter Your Results
LOADING
LOADING
LOADING
LOADING
LOADING
LOADING
LOADING

Learn about this doctor

Care Philosophy

I feel what makes me unique is that my staff and i give 110 percent to each patient so they feel comfortable to make the right decision for the treatment of their condition. We spend time with each patient, provide videos and literature to address any questions or concerns. I have excellent outcomes after 20 years in private practice in both the conservative and surgical treatment arenas. If I don't feel that i can help a patient with a specific problem that I may not treat, then I will find the right physician to help with the treatment plan. We have over 95 orthopedic surgeons in our group so if I can't help, we will find someone who can.Read more

Personal Bio

I feel it's very important that I and my staff give 110% to every patient. We spend time with each...Read more

Dr. Berkman's Experience

0ExperienceMatch
Experience Match

See how Dr. Berkman's experience matches your preferences.

3
Specialties

For the best healthcare for your needs, choose a doctor who specializes in your medical condition.

1
Board Certifications

Board certification indicates that a doctor is highly qualified in the medical field in which they practice.

34
Conditions Treated

Check to see that this provider treats your medical condition.

17
Procedures Performed

Check to see that this provider performs the procedure that you need.

Background Check

Check to see if your provider has any malpractices, board actions, or sanctions.

Education

Learn more about where this provider went to medical school, residency, and more.

Awards & Recognition

View information about special awards and recognition for this provider.

Languages Spoken

Check to see what languages this provider and/or staff speak.

Memberships & Professional Affiliations

View memberships and affiliations associated with this provider.

Visiting Dr. Berkman

Dr. Berkman accepts 19 insurance carriers

Affiliated Hospitals

Hospital Quality
Check out the quality of care at the 1 hospitals where Dr. Berkman has admitting privileges.

Dr. Berkman's Reviews

Likelihood of recommending Dr. Berkman to family and friends
3
based on 20 total surveys (3 with reviews)
Dr. Berkman's Performance
  • Trustworthiness
    GOOD
  • Explains condition(s) well
    GOOD
  • Answers Questions
    GOOD
  • Time well spent
    GOOD
Office & Staff Performance
  • Scheduling
    GOOD
  • Office environment
    VERY GOOD
  • Staff friendliness
    GOOD
  • Average wait time
    16 to 30 minutes
Patient Reviews (3)
in Houston, TX |
Dr. Berkman has performed 3 surgeries on me through the years. I highly recommend him. I consider him to be an excellent physician and a very fine person.
in Houston, TX |
Dr.Berkman sent me to foot specialist, MRI because he couldn't pinpoint my pain, lost my medical records during his office move, did not provide physical therapy referral paper although dozen of correspondences took place over THREE MONTHs. More than 1- 1/2 year later, he sent me a bill for his service! I called my insurance and find out when Berkman made his move, he failed to tell me his new affiliation is not in network. How can you do this in the middle of a treatment? Zero trustworthiness
in Missouri City, TX |
It is probably rare for orthopedic surgeons to have repeat patients. Dr. Berkman repaired a rotor cuff tear in my left shoulder 13 years ago. When I started having problems with my right shoulder earlier this year, I knew exactly who I wanted to treat it based on my past experience. Now, just 3 months after repairing a complete rotor cuff tear and removing bone spurs from my right shoulder, I am nearly 100% again, and I owe it all to a great surgeon. I highly recommend Dr. Berkman.
Have you seen Dr. Eric F. Berkman, MD?
Are you Dr. Berkman?
Respond to your reviews and manage your personalized profile today!
Post your response

Dr. Berkman says...

I feel it's very important that I and my staff give 110% to every patient. We spend time with each patient so they feel comfortable to make the right decision for the treatment of their condition.

Undergraduate - University of Texas – AustinEducation B.A. Biology / Psychology1984

Postgraduate - University of TexasEducation Health Science Center – San Antonio M.D. Degree1989

  • Internships - Training Louisiana State UniversityMedical Center – Shreveport Transitional Internship 7/1/89-6/30/9
    • Louisiana State UniversityMedical Center – Shreveport Orthopaedic Surgery Internship7/1/90-6/30/91
  • Residencies
    • Louisiana State UniversityMedical Center – ShreveportOrthopaedic Surgery Residency7/1/91-6/30/95
  • Fellowships
    • Spine and Trauma FellowshipDr. E. Morscher and Dr. Gachter, Baseland St. Gallen, Switzerland 9/4/95 – 10/31/95
    • Offices Held and Memberships 
      • Foundation Surgical Hospital Governing Board 2008
      • River Oaks Hospital Orthopaedic Trauma Director 2008
      • Foundation Surgical HospitalOperating Room Committee 2007
      • Good Samaritan FoundationBoard of Trustees 2004-2008, 2009-2012
      • Governing BoardRiver Oaks Surgical Center2000-2008
      • Governing Board ChairmanRiver Oaks Surgical Center 2002-2003
      • Orthopaedic Section ChairmanMemorial Hermann Hospital Southwest 2005-2006
      • Infection Control Committee of theMedical Staff of Memorial Southwest Hospital for the year 1998
      • Head of Trauma Committee Memorial Southwest Hospital1996-1997, 1998-1999
      • Memorial Family Practice ProgramVolunteer Faculty Memorial Hermann Southwest
      • Orthopedic Service Line Memorial Hermann Southwest
      • Quality Assessment Committee1997-1998-1999
      • Patient Satisfaction Committee Memorial Southwest Hospital
      • President, House StaffLouisiana State University Medical Center 1990-1994
      • Outstanding Resident of the Year Louisiana State University Medical Center Shreveport 1993
      • Harry Morris AwardLouisiana Orthopaedic Association Resident Competition October, 1993
      • 14th Southern Biomedical Engineering Conference Best Resident Paper Shreveport April, 1995
      • Publications
        • E.F. Berkman, R.N. Kruse, D.P. Mukherjee, K.K. Sadasivan and J.A. Albright: Relationship between Bone Mineral Density and Burst Fracture Load: A Biomechanical Study. Transactions of Orthopaedic Research Society, 19 (2):530, 1994
        • E.F. Berkman, R.N. Kruse, D.P. Mukherjee, K.K. Sadasivan and J.A. Albright: A Comparative Biomechanical Evaluation of the Thoracolumbar Burst Fracture in Human and Canine Specimens. Orthopaedic Transactions, J. Bone Joint Surg., 18 (2) : 517, 1994
        • E.F. Berkman, R.N. Kruse, D.P. Mukherjee, K.K. Sadasivan and J.A. Albright: A Method to Characterize Burst Fractures. Proceedings of the 1995 Fourteenth Southern Biomedical Engineering Conference, pp 51-52, Apr. 1995
        • E.F. Berkman, R.N. Kruse, D.P. Mukherjee, K.K. Sadasivan, J.A. Albright: A Comparative Biomechanical Evaluation of the Thoracolumbar Burst Fracture in Human and Canine Spines. Submitted for publication
        • E.F. Berkman: The Effect of Unilateral Application of Local Hemostatic Agent in a Bilateral Total Knee Arthroplasty. Sept. 2005

Dr. Berkman's Care Philosophy

I feel what makes me unique is that my staff and i give 110 percent to each patient so they feel comfortable to make the right decision for the treatment of their condition. We spend time with each patient, provide videos and literature to address any questions or concerns. I have excellent outcomes after 20 years in private practice in both the conservative and surgical treatment arenas. If I don't feel that i can help a patient with a specific problem that I may not treat, then I will find the right physician to help with the treatment plan. We have over 95 orthopedic surgeons in our group so if I can't help, we will find someone who can.

Dr. Berkman's experience matches your search based on the following criteria:

  •  Based on total number of patients treated over the last 12 months
  •  Specializes in Orthopedic Surgery
  •  Board certified in Orthopedic Surgery
  •  No malpractice claims found
  •  No sanctions found
  •  No board actions found

Awards & Recognition

  • Awards & Honors
    • Healthgrades Honor Roll
    What is a recognized doctor
  • Media & Publications

    Dr. Berkman has no media or publications listed.

Background Check

  • 0
    Malpractice Claims

    No malpractice history found for Texas.

    What is medical malpractice
  • 0
    Sanctions

    No sanctions history found for the years that Healthgrades collects data.

    What is a sanction or disciplinary action
  • 0
    Board Actions

    No board actions found for the years that Healthgrades collects data.

    What are board actions

Board Certifications

Why It Matters: Dr. Berkman's Board Certifications

Board certification should be one of your top considerations when choosing a doctor. Board certification is an official recognition given to doctors who have met specific requirements set by national medical specialty boards in the... More

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Conditions Treated

  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) or Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear
  • Baker’s Cyst
  • Bone Disorders
  • Bursitis
  • Chondrocalcinosis
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Fracture
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Disorders
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Below Knee (incl. Ankle)
  • Limb Pain
  • Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL) Sprain
  • Non-Unions and Malunions of Fractures
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
  • Pyogenic Arthritis
  • Rotator Cuff Tear
  • Runner's Knee
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Disorders
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Tibia and Fibula Fractures

Education

  • Medical School
    University of Texas Medical School At San Antonio

    Graduated in 1989

  • Internship Hospital
    Louisiana State University Health Shreveport / School of Medicine

    Completed in 1991

  • Residency Hospital
    Louisiana State University Health Shreveport / School of Medicine

    Completed in 1995

  • Fellowship Hospital
    Spine and Trauma Dr. E. Morscher and Dr. Gachter in Basel Switzerland

    Completed in 1995

  • Undergraduate School
    University of Texas / Austin Campus / School of Medicine

    Graduated in 1984

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Memberships &
Professional Affiliations

Dr. Berkman does not have any memberships or affiliations listed. If you are Dr. Berkman and would like to add memberships or affiliations, please update your free profile.

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Orthopedic Knee Surgery
  • Orthopedic Shoulder & Elbow Surgery

Procedures Performed

  • ACL Surgery
  • Arthroscopic Shoulder Surgery
  • Fracture Care
  • Joint Drainage
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Surgery
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Partial Shoulder Replacement
  • Peripheral Nerve Block
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Steroid Injection
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate