Dr. David Watson, MD

Dr. David Watson, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMale

Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Dr. David Watson, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL. Dr. Watson has more experience with Knee & Lower Limb Surgery and Hip & Pelvic Surgery than other specialists in his area. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital and Bayfront Health Seven Rivers. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Watson to book an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1

At a Glance

  • Offers Telehealth This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ See hospitals
  • Hospital Satisfaction Patients said they were highly satisfied at this doctor's hospital. See hospitals

More Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Dr. Watson's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Watson

3.6

Based on 27 ratings

5 Stars
62.96296296296296%
(17)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
7.407407407407407%
(2)
1 Star
29.62962962962963%
(8)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Watson
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Dr. Watson and his ARNP, Stephanie Cooke, were recommended to me by someone in the ortho business, and it was immediately 100% clear to me why. Dr. Watson and Stephanie ARE simply the best! I had a total hip replacement using the "anterior approach," and am simply amazed at how well the whole process worked, and how they anticpated and explained any/all questions I had--and the results! As with most major surgeries, the surgeon will focus on the actual operation, so the assistant(s) who spends the most time with the patient simply must be literally joined at the hip (no pun intended)--and Stephanie was. Further, Dr. Watson and Stephanie are well-known at Tampa General Hospital (TGH) where I had my surgery done, and their reputation, high level of coordination, attention to detail, and efficiency by all at TGH were superb. Take it from an old military officer who has always lived by these things--they are great! Thank You Dr. Watson, Stephanie, TGH, and Florida Ortho!
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Fred W. Van Cleave – Oct 21, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Had a Labrum tear in my hip join. As well as severe Ilio Tibial Band inflammation coupled with Greater Trochanteric Bursitis. Dr Watson performed surgery. The whole office visit, subsequent surgery and post-op visit went very well. Dr Watson and Stephanie went through everything in great detail. Have full faith.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Sunil Bandarupalli – Jul 08, 2019
Sunil, thank you for the five-star review of Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
My experience with Dr. Watson was excellent. He listened to my issues and we came to mutual decision regarding the problem. I didn't feel rushed even though I knew he was running behind that day. He explained the pros and cons of the surgery well. I would highly recommend him.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Karen in San Antonio, FL – Apr 15, 2019
Hi Karen, Thank you for sharing your feedback...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Giant ego, doesn't listen, bad temper, for a physician. He doesn't care about patients. He admitted with me he followed no known medical treatment protocol, and that is why he missed the fact that my hand was broken, not "sprained", and I had rotator cuff injuries and a torn ACL, not "aging joints." He never once examined me nor sent me for diagnostic tests that would have revealed my actual injuries. He tells new patients he's "the expert" in whatever conditions they have. Total poser and liar
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
10 people found this helpful
Helpful
Ben in Largo, FL – Dec 22, 2018
Ben, we are very sorry that you left our office...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Dr. Watson and his PA Stephanie are ROCK STARS! They are excellent, replaced my hip as an outpatient, in TGH at 5am home by noon the same day. Had little pain and back to work within four days! Superior results and precise execution. Now I can get around with NO pain and living a normal life! THANK YOU!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dale Aggen in Tampa , FL – Sep 27, 2018
Dale, that is a incredible! We are so happy to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Dr. Watson is wonderful. I just hiked a path up to the top of Whiteface Mountain in NY to an elevation of 4 867' which never would have been possible without having total hip replacement last February. Him and his team are amazing. Thank you so much for giving me a new active lifestyle. ???
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Heidi Davis, FL – Aug 01, 2018
Wow, that is incredible! Thank you for sharing...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Dr Watson is a fine doctor and a fine gentleman. I am confident by the way he examined and diagnosed. I listened, then asked questions. I surely recommend Dr Watson and FOI. Thank you Dr Watson.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Joanne in Tampa, FL – Apr 12, 2018
Thanks Joanne! We are happy to hear that Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
The worst, from front desk to the Doc. Doc didn't look at chart, he announced "I don't even know if I preformed this surgery". Knee high cast was remove from the foot & leg of my 87 year old mother, which left her with an exposed pin atop her foot and what looks like an exposed wound. We were NOT PROVIDED ANY CARE INSTRUCTIONS, Dr. Watson said my mom could take a shower. The nurse that fitted my mom's boot told us not to get anything wet! Asked to arrive early, had a 2 hour wait, Pathetic!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Maxine in Tampa, FL – Jun 28, 2017
Hi Maxine, we are disappointed to hear about...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Felt like he was working for someone else and not for me.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
7 people found this helpful
Helpful
Clearwater – Mar 08, 2017
Oh no! That is not the experience we want you to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
Cold, uncaring, rushed through apts. puffing up himself b 4 treating his patient. so smug and patronizing to my mother who spent 35 years as an RN it was insulting. She asked intelligent questions but he was clearly threatened by this and got nasty. Told her "patients who asked questions were difficult" and "were trouble." What? He kept mixing up her case details with someone Else's. Scary. We would never recommend him and don't get why he is at FOI. Very bad news. Run away and save yourself.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
9 people found this helpful
Helpful
Tampa, FL – Mar 07, 2017
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
I have had positive experience meeting Dr. Watson both times I have been to Fl Orthopedic Institute. I met him first time when I had intense pain around my neck area. His diagnosis was sound and accurate. 4 months of physical therapy along with pain meds has made my medical issue very manageable till today. Same with my visit for knees today. He patiently listened to all my questions and alleviated my concerns. Great doctor!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Varun Sharma in Tampa, FL – Nov 08, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?
Reply
I THINK THAT DR. DAVID WATSON, IN MY OPINION, IS ABSOLUTELY, WITHOUT A DOUBT, THE VERY GREATEST SURGEON ALIVE!!! RENNEA BURGESS, A PATIENT OF HIS!!!!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
RENNEA D BURGESS in Lakeland, FL – Sep 23, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. David Watson, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Watson?

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Watson

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Watson treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Watson treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 978-9700.

Knee & Lower Limb Surgery

Knee and lower limb surgeons perform procedures such as total knee replacement, partial knee replacement, and tendor repair, to treat conditions including arthritis, ligament tears, or bone fractures.Compare with other Knee & Lower Limb Surgery specialists.

Dr. Watson is experienced in the area of Knee & Lower Limb Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 30 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Watson
Similar Providers
Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
Osteoarthritis of Knee
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Hip & Pelvic Surgery

Hip surgery includes arthroscopy, fracture repair, resurfacing, and replacment to treat conditions affecting the hip, such as arthritis, dysplasia, and injuries.Compare with other Hip & Pelvic Surgery specialists.

Dr. Watson is experienced in the area of Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 12 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Watson
Similar Providers
Hip Sprain
Unicompartmental Hip Surgery
Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Watson's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Watson's conditions and procedures:

  • Achilles Tendon Rupture Repair
  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • Adult Joint Reconstruction
  • All Shoulder or Elbow Replacement Procedures
  • Ankle Arthroscopy
  • Ankle Fracture
  • Ankle Replacement
  • Ankle Sprain and Achilles Tendon Sprain or Rupture
  • Ankle Sprains and Strains
  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) or Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear
  • Arm Surgery
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Back Pain
  • Baker’s Cyst
  • Broken Arm
  • Bunion Surgery
  • Bursitis
  • Cerebrospinal Fluid Leak (CSF Leak)
  • Chondrocalcinosis
  • Chronic Pelvic Pain
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Coccygeal Pain
  • Coccyx or Sacrum Fracture
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Dressing and-or Debridement of Wound, Infection, or Burn (incl. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy)
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Elbow Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Elbow Replacement
  • Elbow Tenotomy
  • Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Excision of Femur or Knee
  • Excision of Humerus
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Excision of Tarsal or Metatarsal
  • Excision of Tibia or Fibula
  • Fat Embolism
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot and Ankle Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Foot and Ankle DislocationTreatment, Open
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Foot and Ankle Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Foot and Ankle Ligament and Tendon Repair
  • Foot Fracture
  • Foot Sprain
  • Fracture Care
  • Gait Abnormality
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Gout
  • Hammer Toe Repair
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand Tendon Repair
  • Hip Arthroscopy
  • Hip Fracture
  • Hip Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Hip Pointer Injuries
  • Hip Replacement
  • Hip Replacement Revision
  • Hip Resurfacing
  • Hip Sprain
  • Hip Surgery
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Cartilage Treatment
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Ligament Reconstruction
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Replacement Revision
  • Knee Sprain
  • Knee Surgery
  • Lamina Procedures (incl. Laminectomy, Laminoplasty, Laminotomy)
  • Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL) Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
  • Leg Fracture Below Knee (incl. Ankle)
  • Limb Cramp
  • Limb Pain
  • Marfan Syndrome
  • Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL) Sprain
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Myositis Ossificans
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Nerve Block, Sympathetic
  • Neuroplasty
  • Non-Unions and Malunions of Fractures
  • Osgood Schlatter Disease
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip and Thigh
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteochondritis Dissecans
  • Osteopenia
  • Osteosarcoma
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Partial Shoulder Replacement
  • Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
  • Pelvic Fracture
  • Periacetabular Osteotomy
  • Pyogenic Arthritis
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Rib Fracture
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Rotator Cuff Tear
  • Rotator Cuff Tendinosis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Sacrum Disorders
  • Scapular Fracture
  • Sciatica (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Scoliosis
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Replacement
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Spine Fracture Treatment
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Sternum Fracture
  • Steroid Injection
  • Stress Fracture of Foot
  • Synovial Biopsy
  • Systemic Chondromalacia
  • Tibia and Fibula Fractures
  • Tibia or Fibula Stress Fracture
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Trigger Point Injection
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate
  • Wrist Fracture

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Watson accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 588-8224

Dr. Watson accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Medicaid
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Assurant Health
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
NetworkBlue
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CareOregon
Medicaid
CareSource
Medicaid
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
Community Health Choice
Medicaid
CoreSource
Coventry Health Care
Wellpath Preferred PPO
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Employer Group Open Access HMO
Coventry Health Care of Florida, Inc.
Employer Group PPO
Federal Employee Program (FEP)
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Golden Rule
Government Employees Health Association (GEHA)
GEHA
Health Net
Medicaid
Tricare
HealthPlus
Medicaid
HealthPlus Amerigroup
Medicaid
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey
Medicaid
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Tricare
Husky Health
Medicaid
inHealth
Medicaid
INTotal Health
Medicaid
Medica
Medicaid
Medicaid
Midwest Health Plan
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Medicaid
Molina
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
MVP Health Care
NGS CoreSource
Ohio State University Health Plan
NGS CoreSource
Peach State Health Plan
Medicaid
Simply Healthcare Plans
Medicaid
State Farm
Staywell (Wellcare)
Medicaid
Tricare
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Medicaid
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
WellCare
Wellcare of Georgia
Medicaid
Worker's Compensation
Worker's Compensation WC

About Me

Care Philosophy

I take great pleasure in seeing people return to previously abandoned activities after successful reconstruction.

Biography

Dr. Watson provides nonsurgical and surgical expert care to ensure each patient receives individualized treatment. He specializes in adult reconstruction...Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

Florida Orthopaedic Institute | Cornell University
Fellowship Hospital
Queen's University
Residency Hospital
Dalhousie University Faculty Of Medicine
Medical School
1996
Dalhousie University
Undergraduate School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Spanish

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. David Watson, MD?

Call (813) 588-8223 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Does Dr. David Watson, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Watson has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. David Watson, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. David Watson, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Watson's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. David Watson, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Watson accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. David Watson, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Watson frequently treats Knee & Lower Limb Surgery and Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Watson specializes.

Where is Dr. David Watson, MD's office located?

Dr. Watson's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. David Watson, MD speak?

Dr. Watson speaks Spanish and English. View profile to see all.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Watson is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Tampa, FL

66% Patient Experience Rating, 3% lower than the national average

2 Awards Received

Bayfront Health Seven Rivers

Crystal River, FL

55% Patient Experience Rating, 14% lower than the national average

St. Joseph's Hospital

Tampa, FL

79% Patient Experience Rating, 10% higher than the national average

11 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2021)

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

6 Awards Received