Dr. Christopher Baker, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMaleAge 42

Dr. Baker
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

2653 Bruce B Downs Blvd Ste 201 Wesley Chapel, FL 33544

Make an Appointment

(813) 910-3668

Dr. Christopher Baker, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Wesley Chapel, FL and has over 16 years of experience in the medical field. Dr. Baker has more experience with Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery than other specialists in his area. He graduated from University Of Florida medical school in 2005. He is affiliated with medical facilities Adventhealth Tampa and AdventHealth Wesley Chapel. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Baker to book an appointment.

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Orthopedic Surgery Specialists in your area

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Baker is affiliated with AdventHealth Wesley Chapel Wesley Chapel, a highly rated hospital.

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth
    This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital
    America's 250 Best Hospitals Award™ See hospitals

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Baker

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Baker treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Baker treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 910-3668.

Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery

Shoulder and upper arm conditions include arthritis, bursitis, rotator cuff injuries, and dislocations, with treatment options such as surgery or physical therapy.Compare with other Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery specialists.

Dr. Baker is experienced in the area of Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 22 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Baker
Similar Providers
Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
Shoulder Arthroscopy
Rotator Cuff Surgery
Glenoid Labrum Tear
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Baker's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Baker's conditions and procedures:

  • ACL Surgery
  • Adhesive Capsulitis
  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) or Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Broken Arm
  • Bursitis
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Chondrocalcinosis
  • Clavicle Fracture
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Elbow Arthroscopy
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Elbow Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Elbow Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Elbow Sprain
  • Elbow Tenotomy
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Epidural Block, Facet Blocks
  • Excision of Radius or Ulna
  • Excision of Tarsal or Metatarsal
  • Femur Fracture
  • Glenoid Labrum Tear
  • Hip Fracture
  • Hip Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Hip Pointer Injuries
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Juvenile Chronic Arthritis
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Sprain
  • Lateral and Medial Epicondylitis (Tennis and Golf Elbow)
  • Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL) Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
  • Leg Fracture Below Knee (incl. Ankle)
  • Limb Pain
  • Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL) Sprain
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Neck Strain (incl. Whiplash Injury)
  • Neuroplasty
  • Non-Unions and Malunions of Fractures
  • Osgood Schlatter Disease
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Shoulder
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Osteochondritis Dissecans
  • Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
  • Radiculopathy (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Reverse Total Shoulder and Total Shoulder Replacement
  • Rotator Cuff Surgery
  • Rotator Cuff Tear
  • Rotator Cuff Tendinosis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Scapular Fracture
  • Shoulder Arthroscopy
  • Shoulder Dislocation
  • Shoulder Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Shoulder Fracture Treatment
  • Shoulder Impingement Syndrome
  • Shoulder Replacement
  • Shoulder Tendinitis and Tenosynovitis
  • Spinal Nerve Block
  • Spondylitis
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Steroid Injection
  • Synovial Biopsy
  • Tibia and Fibula Fractures
  • Tibia or Fibula Stress Fracture
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate
  • Wrist Fracture

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Baker accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 910-3668

Dr. Baker accepts the following insurance:

AARP
Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Allstate
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Medicaid
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Advantage HMO
Blue Card PPO
Blue Traditional
Blue Traditional HMO
Blue Traditional PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Select
BlueDental Choice
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CareOregon
Medicaid
CareSource
Medicaid
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Community Health Choice
Medicaid
CoreSource
Coventry Health Care
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Guardian
Health Net
Medicaid
HealthPartners
HealthPlus
Medicaid
HealthPlus Amerigroup
Medicaid
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey
Medicaid
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Humana HMO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay CoreNet
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Husky Health
Medicaid
inHealth
Medicaid
INTotal Health
Medicaid
Medica
Medicaid
Medicaid
Special Needs Plan SNP
Midwest Health Plan
Medicaid
Molina Healthcare
Medicaid
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Peach State Health Plan
Medicaid
Simply Healthcare Plans
Medicaid
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Medicaid
Options PPO
United Healthcare
Wellcare of Georgia
Medicaid

Dr. Baker's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Baker

4.3

Based on 47 ratings

5 Stars
78.72340425531915%
(37)
4 Stars
4.25531914893617%
(2)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
4.25531914893617%
(2)
1 Star
12.76595744680851%
(6)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Baker?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Office environment (36)
  • Appointment scheduling (35)
  • Staff friendliness (35)
What could be improved
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions (8)
  • Appointment was rushed (7)
  • Didn't explain conditions well (7)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
Dr Baker has repaired both my right and left rotator cuffs over the last few years. Both were major tears and they were fixed. I am back to playing softball and both shoulders are doing well. I can throw a softball and swing a bat just fine. I highly recommend Dr Baker if you are having shoulder problems
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Tom Levicky – Jan 31, 2021
Tom, thank you for your 5 star review for Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
I had a massive tear and several other tears in my rotator cuff from a mountain bike accident. I saw two different orthopedic surgeons for opinions and chose Dr. Baker. He spent the time to review my MRI and discus in detail what the surgery would entail including grafting in cadaver ligaments to help strengthen the extensive damage to my shoulder. I was back to 100% in 6 months and so thankful I chose him for the surgery. He now specializes in shoulders only and would highly recommend him to any one with shoulder problems.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Joe McColl – Aug 07, 2020
Hi Joe, Thank you for sharing your story and the...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr Baker did two surgeries on my shoulder. The second surgery was a “experimental” surgery. It also didn’t last that long. I’ve been in a lot of pain and my shoulder is constantly out of place. I tried to get back in to see him and his assistant Ashley got rude with me and hung up the phone. I’m so disappointed with his work and staff. After that call with Ashley they stopped sending me the surveys to see how I was doing. I’m sure If I could get in to see him he'd be willing to make this right but I can’t get pass his staff.
What went well
  • Wait times
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sep 05, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
I am an electrician that was electrocuted at work. Due to my injury I dislocated my shoulder the emergency room ended up breaking my bone and I need surgery. The doctor in the E.R in ended up giving me a 7 inch scare and a metal plate to hold my bone together. I couldn’t lift my arm or even throw a ball. Dr Baker was awesome!!! he took the plate out my shoulder with 4 small cuts no more then an inch. My shoulder isn’t fixed due to the head of my humorous bone being flat. Every doctor recommended I replace it later in life. Dr Baker gave me more mobility and less pain in my shoulder. When I am ready I plan to go back to replace the head of my humerus bone. I would recommend DR Baker if you have any problems with you shoulder
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
George Hale – Aug 21, 2019
Hi George, thank you for the five star review! We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Completely professional and always courteous. Most importantly, he listens to the patient and he prefers less aggressive forms of treatment first.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Roger W. – Jul 19, 2019
Roger, thank you for the five star review!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Baker did a great job on my right shoulder, considering the damage that was done when I slipped and fail down on my job due to their negligence. He did explain to me that I will not be back to 100% but through it all surgery and therapy it relieved a lot of pain. Even after this next surgery coming up and my Workman's Comp case is over, I will refer him to anyone that need this kind of care. He did a great job on a lady that I call my Grandmother, she broke her hip. She is walking now which is great for a older person in her 80's.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sabrina Magwood – Jul 19, 2019
Thank you for the five-star review, Sabrina!...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Thank you FOI and Dr. Baker for seeing me today! It was a very positive experience. Huge sigh of relief after his PA's examination and his explanation and diagnosis of my knee. The brace he recommended has already made a huge improvement of functionality of the knee and tons of relief from the horrible pain I was feeling when I first arrived there. THANK YOU so much!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Rhonda – Jul 04, 2019
Thank you for your kind review, Rhonda! Happy to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Baker is friendly and he takes the time to explain your options so that you can make the best decision regarding your health going forward
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jane in San Antonio, FL – Jun 29, 2019
Jane, thank you for the five-star review! We are...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
My experience with Dr Baker and his staff FAR EXCEEDS any experience I’ve ever had a doctor’s office! From the friendly office staff that checked me in to the awesome X-ray tech to the super sweet staffer that checked me out with a smile, Dr Baker’s staff was amazing! I waited less than 10 minutes (may have been like 5 ??) to see Dr Baker. He spent time with me and listened intently...something you rarely see nowadays...and treated me promptly. My knee is already feeling better and I have no doubts will be in tip top shape in a day or so. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Dr Baker if you’re in search of a great experience with an ortho doc!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Kathleen in Wesley Chapel , FL – Jun 27, 2019
Thank you for the five-star review, Kathleen! We...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. BAKER did a great job rebuilding my right shoulder with the amount of damage that I had done to it.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Tim Lee in Oxford, FL – Jun 26, 2019
Tim, thank you for your review of Dr. Baker! Glad...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Best experience in a doctor office I ever experienced. It was a pleasure talking to Dr. Baker and his staff.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
May 16, 2019
Thank you for complimenting Dr. Chris Baker and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Baker is a godsend. He’s personable, and you can tell he truly cares for his patients. I'd been dealing with extreme shoulder pain for 6 months and was told by another physician I'd need surgery to fix the issue. Dr. Baker advised against it, saying I had “frozen shoulder”, and opted for cortisone shots and physical therapy instead. The shots and PT have helped immensely. I now have more range of motion with my right arm and can raise it above my head, something I couldn't do for half a year
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 23, 2019
Hello, Thank you for the kind review about Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Fabulous Orthopedic Specialist especially if you are hurting... He will help you (Period)...
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Apr 03, 2019
Thank you for the kind review! We agree that he...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
He is a caring and compassionate doctor. He always takes his time to answer my questions and to explain any needed procedures. He has done surgery on me twice and I never had an infection or other complications post op. I highly recommend Dr. Baker as an orthopedic surgeon
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mar 26, 2019
Thank you for complimenting Dr. Christopher Baker...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Baker has suggested a plan for the long term so that I can stay active and be conservative at the same time. He offers solutions as if he is the patient (money, time and health conscious), not as if he is the Doctor looking for the next surgery experience. Of course with an amazing doctor comes and amazing staff! Nina, Rhonda, Ashley, Amy, Keisha, Josie and Alishia are professional and fun, making each visit almost like a "Field Trip". Thanks for your care and professionalism!!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Mar 15, 2019
Thank you for complimenting our Wesley Chapel...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Unfortunately I have had 2 shoulder surgeries within the past 6 months from 2 completely unrelated injuries. Dr. Baker and his staff have been amazing. My physical therapist has even been amazed at how quick my recovery has been as well as my range of motion. I highly recommend Dr. Baker
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sandy Grant in Wesley Chapel, FL – Jan 21, 2019
Sandy, thank you for choosing Dr. Baker at...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Baker is extremely informative abut what was wrong with my knee and the surgery went amazing . I would definitely recommend him to any friends or family.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Nov 21, 2018
Thank you for recommending Dr. Chris Baker at...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
I am starting this review by saying that I am a physician in hospice and palliative medicine with over 11 years in urgent care, emergency medicine. I sent my spouse to see him for her debilitating left knee pain and the complaints I received from her was absolutely jaw dropping and ridiculous . I went into medicine for the passion... the passion to help people, not for the money. This dr Baker is the absolute opposite of a caring physician . Let's mention that my spouse is a RN with trauma expe
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Horrified patient in Tampa , FL – Sep 01, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
We have been very pleased since our 1st appt with him. He & his staff scheduled her surgery very quickly to get it in during her Christmas Break from college. He explained the procedure and even had my 17 yr old completely at ease. Since surgery he and his office staff have always been pleasant & quickly responsive! He has even done research into my daughter's sport to safely get her back into shape and competing. Highly recommend this GREAT DR!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Dade City – May 01, 2018
Awe, thank you for the kind review and for...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?
Reply Flag
My experiences with Dr. Christopher Baker, FL Orthopedic Institute, have been very impressive. Dr. Baker and his staff, have been very professional, timely, and most importantly he has been a skillful, experienced and knowledgeable surgeon. Over the past 3+ years, he has surgically repaired my rotator cup, my broken arm and my chronic knee problems. What keeps me going back to him has been how efficiently he has identified my problems, his treatment plans and his follow-up.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jan Long in Land O Lakes, FL – Nov 23, 2017
Jan, thank you for the kind words! We are happy...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Baker?

About Me

Care Philosophy

"The most rewarding part about my job is seeing the faces of my patients after they have had a successful outcome, whether it is from surgery or from conservative treatment."

Biography

Dr. Baker is board certified in orthopedics by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery and fellowship trained in sports medicine and shoulder reconstruction....Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

  • Orthopaedic Sports Medicine
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Education

2011
Steadman-Hawkins Sports Medicine Clinic
Fellowship Hospital
2010
University Of Pittsburg Medical Center
Residency Hospital
2006
University Of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Internship Hospital
2005
University Of Florida
Medical School
2001
University Of Florida
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Christopher Baker, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Baker has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Christopher Baker, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Christopher Baker, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Baker's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Christopher Baker, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Baker accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Christopher Baker, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Baker frequently treats Shoulder & Upper Arm Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Baker specializes.

Where is Dr. Christopher Baker, MD's office located?

Dr. Baker's office is located at 2653 Bruce B Downs Blvd Ste 201, Wesley Chapel, FL 33544. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Christopher Baker, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

Wesley Chapel2653 Bruce B Downs Blvd Ste 201 Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
1

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Baker is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Adventhealth Tampa

Tampa, FL

68% Patient Experience Rating, 1% lower than the national average

AdventHealth Wesley Chapel

Wesley Chapel, FL

83% Patient Experience Rating, 14% higher than the national average

9 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ (2018)