Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD

Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD

Orthopedic SurgeryMaleAge 42

Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

(813) 588-8283

Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD is a Orthopedic Surgery Specialist in Temple Terrace, FL. Dr. Palumbo has more experience with Knee & Lower Limb Surgery and Hip & Pelvic Surgery than other specialists in his area. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital and Adventhealth Tampa. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Palumbo to book an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute

North Tampa13020 N Telecom Pkwy Temple Terrace, FL 33637
1
Wesley Chapel2653 Bruce B Downs Blvd Ste 201 Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
2

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital America's 250 Best Hospitals Award™ See hospitals

More Orthopedic Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Dr. Palumbo's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Palumbo

4.8

Based on 241 ratings

5 Stars
94.19087136929461%
(227)
4 Stars
0.8298755186721992%
(2)
3 Stars
0.4149377593360996%
(1)
2 Stars
0.8298755186721992%
(2)
1 Star
3.7344398340248963%
(9)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Palumbo
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Great! Surgeon, Great bedside manner, listens and seems to really care. Doesn't rush you. You won't regret seeing him for your orthopedic needs.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
G. Reece – Nov 19, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Nothing worse than a practitioner that does not take the time to listen and speak with a patient. Arrogance in this way causes mistakes and negative outcomes for the patient but exacerbated when documentation is false after an adverse event. Do no harm should always be at the center of care.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Oct 29, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Dr. Palumbo performed a left knee replacement for me in July, 2021. I traveled from Sarasota to have him operate because of his stellar credentials and the ease of working with his staff right from first contact. The knee surgery was and is a complete success and I healed and regained my full flexibility so fast that my physical therapists were stunned. His staff of assistants were both responsive and thorough, arranging my post-op care with ease. What a satisfying surgical experience!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Ann G. – Oct 07, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Had total replacement of my left knee in July of 2020. Middle of August I'm ready to go back to my very physical job of railroad work. Heavy repairs, lifting, cutting, welding etc. I had to travel over an hour to get to this doctor because no other doctor in my area would do the surgery. This doctor said he would on the first visit and that he even fixes other doctor's screw ups. The only thing he needs to work on is his appointment keeping. Be prepared for him to be at least an hour behind appointment times. This happened to me regularly for my visits. If you have a 10 am appointment, don't expect to get into the office until after 11am....other than that I highly recommend him.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Brian Broda – Oct 01, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
I was fortunate to have Dr Palumbo to do my knee replacement and it was perfect. His instructions, guidelines made me easy to recover fast. His staff is very co-operative and efficient and follow-ups are pretty easy. Dr Palumbo is one of the best orthopedic surgeons and I highly recommend for knee replacements. He is pleasant and have lot of patience to answer my concerns. I felt my knee was in good hands.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Syam Tangirala – Sep 24, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Dr. Palumbo and staff were pleasant, efficient and professional. To schedule appointments and surgeries were very easy. The follow up appointments were handled very well. I had both hips replaced. I experienced very little pain or down time.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Angela Maultsby – Sep 17, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Did quite a bit of research before selecting knee replacement provider. It really paid off! Dr Palumbo, his staff, his facilities, and methodology is absolutely top notch. So happy with my choice to use him for my knee replace the. Highly recommend for anyone considering the same.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Happy Knee Replacement patient – Sep 10, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
One of the best orthopedic surgeons. He goes above and beyond to make sure his patients are doing well. If you need a surgeon who treats you with respect and goes above and beyond to provide best care than Dr. Plumbo is the answer to your prayers. I have been to other specialities and was treated as a number but Dr. Palumbo and his staff Nurse Practioner Erica and his assistant Soily, they are all amazing. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Syeda Bokhari – Sep 09, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
This is not specific to Dr Palumbo - already left a review on his poor service. This is about the Florida Orthopedic Institute (FOI) Billing dept. as it relates to Radiology (MRI ) services. A family member required an MRI - our insurance information was provided and we asked for the cost and were told the estimate was $ 100. We paid $100 at the time of service as were told the cost would be. Now FOI has sent us a bill for $494 for a total cost of $594.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Didn't explain conditions well
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
FOI poos business practices – Sep 01, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
He was kind, and informative
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
Helpful
Jul 15, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Great doctor experience, lengthy wait time, staff very busy but would highly recommend Dr Palumbo to anyone needing a highly qualified orthopedic doctor!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Jul 13, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
I did not want to get both of my knees replaced. I tried everything from steroid shots to gel injections, but I had no choice. I am so happy Dr. Palumbo was my doctor through all of this...he is the best in Tampa and now I am pain free and back to my normal life. Don't wait, call his office today!
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jan P. – Jul 13, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Dr Palumbo is the Best Orthopedic Surgeon. I was in a life changing motorcycle accident in 2017. After many surgeries and several Orthopedic Doctors, I was told they were going to take my leg above the knee due to infection. I met with Dr Palumbo and he said, the last thing I want to do is to take your leg. Working closely with my infectious disease Doctor and many surgeries, I still have my leg. He designed a device that allows my leg to bend as if I had a knee. Dr Palumbo took the time, had the determination and the talent to save my leg. Caring, Compassionate and a great surgeon. Thanks again Dr Palumbo and all the staff at Florida Orthopedics. You all went above and beyond expectations!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Terry V Williams – Jul 07, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Dr. Palumbo maybe a good surgeon, but he demonstrated an unprofessional bedside/office manner to my Mom, so much so, that the Quality department got involved, and all I asked was that he apologize to her, and he refused. So, on that note, as an RN that has worked with many ortho surgeons in Tampa, I do not recommend him.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Long wait times
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Trina Mattingly – Jun 18, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Dr.Palumbo is the best orthopedic surgeon. He is the only surgeon that was able to assist with my situation. I was so happy and mobile with the first procedure on one knee that I went back for the other knee. He is awesome.
What went well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mobile Again – May 30, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
I had knee surgery by another dr. This led to an infection. Dr Palumbo stepped in and helped me with another surgery. Dr Palumbo has done an amazing job . I feel he is doing everything possible to get rid of the infection, saving my leg and live the rest of my life.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Leon Merkle – Apr 30, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
I met with Dr Palumbo for a second opinion about a hip replacement. He used digital x-rays and was able to expand the images to show me where I had issues. He answered all my questions in a personable, professional way. We discussed what technique he would use for my surgery and he recommended the anterior approach for me, which meant a quicker recovery with few restrictions. He successfully performed the surgery. His team made sure I had all the support and medications I needed for a non-eventful recovery The physical therapist has me walking outdoors ten days after surgery without a walker. Everyone is very responsive. When I requested a few additional days of PT the prescription was transmitted the next day.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 28, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
It has been three years since Dr. Palumbo did my partial knee replacement. Before the replacement I couldn't walk more than a few feet without pain. I am so happy I had this replacement. It has been a life changer. Thank you Dr. Palumbo.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jo Ann Kruk – Apr 07, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Had my 2nd. knee replacement this past month. My experiences with the 1st knee replacement caused me to have him do the 2nd one and I was not disappointed! As a matter of fact it was better in as much as the hospital Advent Health (carrolwood). Dr. was very direct in his instructions along with providing ample prescription to address a swelling after the procedure which quickly corrected my issue. time in hospital was reduced to same day which was reduced from previous process. Well satisfied with Dr. Palumbo BUT hope not to see him in the near future!!
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
John Mochel – Mar 25, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?
Reply
Dr. Palumbo is exceptional at dealing with difficult cases. I had a revision of a revision of my hip. It was complicated, tricky, and painful. Dr. Palumbo studied my case and determined a surgery procedure that would correct the problem.. It seems it did perfectly. I am 2 months after surgery and doing great. Thank you Dr. Palumbo.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Arlene Smith – Mar 24, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Palumbo?

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

1 malpractice claim Found
  • Settlement (3/20/2017)View details
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Palumbo

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Palumbo treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Palumbo treats other conditions, please contact the office at (813) 978-9700.

Knee & Lower Limb Surgery

Knee and lower limb surgeons perform procedures such as total knee replacement, partial knee replacement, and tendor repair, to treat conditions including arthritis, ligament tears, or bone fractures.Compare with other Knee & Lower Limb Surgery specialists.

Dr. Palumbo is experienced in the area of Knee & Lower Limb Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 30 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Palumbo
Similar Providers
Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
Osteoarthritis of Knee
Knee Replacement
Knee Fracture
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Hip & Pelvic Surgery

Hip surgery includes arthroscopy, fracture repair, resurfacing, and replacment to treat conditions affecting the hip, such as arthritis, dysplasia, and injuries.Compare with other Hip & Pelvic Surgery specialists.

Dr. Palumbo is experienced in the area of Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 12 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Palumbo
Similar Providers
Osteoarthritis of Hip
Hip Replacement
Total Hip Replacement
Hip Sprain
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Palumbo's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Palumbo's conditions and procedures:

  • Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) or Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Baker’s Cyst
  • Bunion
  • Bursitis
  • Cervical Spine Myelopathy
  • Difficulty With Walking
  • Enthesopathy of Hip (incl. Trochanteric Bursitis)
  • Enthesopathy of Knee (incl. Bursitis of Knee)
  • Epidural Block, Facet Blocks
  • Excision of Femur or Knee
  • Excision of Tibia or Fibula
  • Femur Fracture
  • Foot and Ankle Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Foot and Ankle DislocationTreatment, Open
  • Foot and Ankle Ligament and Tendon Repair
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Hammer Toe
  • Herniated Disc
  • Hip Fracture
  • Hip Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Closed
  • Hip Fracture and-or Dislocation Treatment, Open
  • Hip Replacement
  • Hip Replacement Revision
  • Hip Resurfacing
  • Hip Sprain
  • Humerus Fracture
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee and Leg Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Knee and Lower Leg Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Knee Dislocation
  • Knee Fracture
  • Knee Replacement
  • Knee Replacement Revision
  • Knee Sprain
  • Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL) Sprain
  • Leg Fracture Above Knee (incl. Hip)
  • Limb Cramp
  • Low Back Pain
  • Lumbar Spine Fracture
  • Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL) Sprain
  • Meniscus Surgery
  • Musculoskeletal Function Test
  • Nerve Block, Somatic
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteoarthritis of Ankle and Foot
  • Osteoarthritis of Hand or Wrist
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip
  • Osteoarthritis of Hip and Thigh
  • Osteoarthritis of Knee
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Partial Knee Replacement
  • Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome or Knee Pain
  • Peripheral Autonomic Neuropathy
  • Peripheral Nerve Block
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Separated Femoral Epiphysis Treatment
  • Sjögren's Syndrome
  • Spinal Nerve Block
  • Spine Fractures, Traumatic
  • Spondylitis
  • Spondylolisthesis
  • Synovial Biopsy
  • Systemic Chondromalacia
  • Thoracic Spine Fracture
  • Total Hip Replacement
  • Unicompartmental Hip Surgery

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Palumbo accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(813) 553-4014

Dr. Palumbo accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
AvMed
Open Access
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
Blue Care Elect PPO
Bluegrass Family Health
Worker's Compensation WC
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Tricare
TriCare for Life
Tufts Health Plan
Tufts Health Plans
Tufts PPO
UniCare
UniCare PPO
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
WellCare

About Me

Care Philosophy

I am extremely passionate and dedicated to ensuring that my patients receive the best treatment available for all of their musculoskeletal needs.

Biography

Dr. Palumbo treats patients with a spectrum of conditions including extremity fractures and general musculoskeletal issues. His specific clinical interest...Read more

Specialties

  • Orthopedic Surgery

Board Certifications

  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Education

Harvard University | Brigham and Women's Hospital
Fellowship Hospital
University of South Florida
Residency Hospital
University Of South Florida College Of Medicine
Medical School
2003
University of South Florida / College of Medicine
Internship Hospital
2003
University Of South Florida
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

  • Elected to the Barness/Behnke Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society, 03/2012

Media & Publications

  • Complicated Extraction of an Incarcerated S-ROM Prosthesis Secondary to Osseous Ingrowth into the Distal Coronal Slot: A Case Report. Journal of Arthroplasty. March 2011., 03/2011
  • Initial Experience of the Journey-Deuce Bicompartmental Knee Prosthesis: Review of Thirty-Six Cases. Journal of Arthroplasty- AAHKS sup, 05/2011
  • Results of Revision Total Hip Arthroplasty Using Tapered Femoral Modular Stems., Dec 2012
  • FOS Expands Grass Roots Advocacy Program, 02/2012
  • Advances in Segmental Endoprosthetic Reconstruction for Extremity Tumors: A Review of Contemporary Designs and Techniques, 06/2011

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD?

Call (813) 588-8283 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Does Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Palumbo has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Palumbo's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Palumbo accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Palumbo frequently treats Knee & Lower Limb Surgery and Hip & Pelvic Surgery. See all practice areas where Dr. Palumbo specializes.

Where is Dr. Brian Palumbo, MD's office located?

Dr. Palumbo's office is located at 13020 N Telecom Pkwy, Temple Terrace, FL 33637. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Palumbo is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

HCA Florida South Tampa Hospital

Tampa, FL

66% Patient Experience Rating, 3% lower than the national average

2 Awards Received

Adventhealth Tampa

Tampa, FL

68% Patient Experience Rating, 1% lower than the national average

AdventHealth Wesley Chapel

Wesley Chapel, FL

83% Patient Experience Rating, 14% higher than the national average

11 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2021)