Dr. Brian Lake, DO

Endocrinology, Diabetes & MetabolismMaleAge 43

Dr. Lake
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Lake Endocrinology and Diabetes

13123 66th St Largo, FL 33773

Make an Appointment

(727) 477-1039

Dr. Brian Lake, DO is a Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Specialist in Largo, FL and has over 17 years of experience in the medical field. Dr. Lake has more experience with Diabetes & Glucose Monitoring and Thyroid Disorders than other specialists in his area. He graduated from A T Sill U Hlth Sci Kirksville Coll Osteo Med medical school in 2004. He is affiliated with Palms Of Pasadena Hospital. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Lake to book an appointment.

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Specialists in your area

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Lake is affiliated with Palms Of Pasadena Hospital South Pasadena, a highly rated hospital.

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Offers Telehealth
    This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital
    Patient Safety Excellence Award™ See hospitals

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Frequently Treated by Dr. Lake

Based on treatment records, we have identified the following as areas of care that Dr. Lake treats more often than their peers. If you are unsure whether Dr. Lake treats other conditions, please contact the office at (727) 477-1039.

Diabetes & Glucose Monitoring

Diabetes specialists manage and treat a range of diabetes-related conditions including type 1 and type 2 diabetes and diabetic ketoacidosis through procedures such as continuous glucose monitoring and insulin therapy.Compare with other Diabetes & Glucose Monitoring specialists.

Dr. Lake is experienced in the area of Diabetes & Glucose Monitoring. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 9 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Lake
Similar Providers
Diabetes With Renal Manifestations
Diabetes Type 1
Diabetes Type 2
Diabetic Ketoacidosis
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Thyroid Disorders

Thyroid disorders specialists diagnose and treat conditions affecting the thyroid gland, including hyperparathyroidism, thyroid disease, and thyroid nodules.Compare with other Thyroid Disorders specialists.

Dr. Lake is experienced in the area of Thyroid Disorders. See the graph below to learn more about his experience.

Based on claims data for 17 conditions and procedures

Treatments
Dr. Lake
Similar Providers
Hypothyroidism
Thyroid Goiter
Hashimoto's Disease
Thyroiditis
Normal
Frequency
High
Frequency
Very High
Frequency

Check Dr. Lake's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Lake's conditions and procedures:

  • ACTH (Cosyntropin) Stimulation Test
  • Adrenal Gland Diseases
  • Adrenal Incidentaloma
  • Adrenal Insufficiency
  • Autoimmune Thyroid Diseases
  • Calcium Metabolism Disorders
  • Cholesterol Screening
  • Continuous Glucose Monitoring
  • Dexamethasone Suppression Test
  • Diabetes Counseling
  • Diabetes Mellitus, Secondary
  • Diabetes Screening
  • Diabetes Type 1
  • Diabetes Type 2
  • Diabetes With Renal Manifestations
  • Diabetic Evaluation
  • Diabetic Ketoacidosis
  • Dual-Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA) Scan
  • Dynamic Endocrine Function Test
  • Dyslipidemia
  • Female Infertility
  • Goiter
  • Graves' Disease
  • Growth Hormone Deficiency
  • Gynecomastia
  • Hashimoto's Disease
  • Hypercalcemia
  • Hyperlipidemia
  • Hyperparathyroidism
  • Hyperthyroidism
  • Hypoglycemia
  • Hypogonadism
  • Hypoparathyroidism
  • Hypopituitarism
  • Hyposmolality and Hyponatremia
  • Hypothyroidism
  • Insulin Pump Therapy
  • Lipid Disorders
  • Malaise and Fatigue
  • Male Infertility
  • Menstrual Disorders (incl. Dysmenorrhea)
  • Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia
  • Obesity
  • Oral Glucose Tolerance Test
  • Osteopenia
  • Osteoporosis
  • Overweight
  • Parathyroid (Gland) Disease
  • Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome
  • Proteinuria
  • Symptomatic Menopause
  • Testicular Dysfunction
  • Thyroid Biopsy
  • Thyroid Cancer
  • Thyroid Goiter
  • Thyroid Nodule Evaluation
  • Thyroid Scan
  • Thyroid Screening
  • Thyroiditis
  • Thyrotoxicosis Factitia
  • Ultrasound, Thyroid
  • VAP Lipid Testing
  • Vitamin D Deficiency
  • Water Deprivation Test

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Lake accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(727) 477-1039

Dr. Lake accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Ambetter
Superior Health Plan
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
AvMed
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida PPO
Blue Options
Blue Preferred Patient Care PPO
NetworkBlue
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
CHAMPVA
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Freedom Health
Freedom Network
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Sunshine Health
Medicare Advantage
Tricare
Standard
TriCare for Life
UnitedHealthCare
AARP Supplement
Medicare Advantage

Dr. Lake's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Lake

4.4

Based on 103 ratings

5 Stars
85.4368932038835%
(88)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
14.563106796116505%
(15)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Lake
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
I had an appointment with Dr Lake, but was unable to keep it. When I called to reschedule, I was told by the very rude person that answered the phone that I was supposed to call 15 before my appointment and that he doesn’t take rescheduled appointments. I would not recommend this doctor to anyone ever!!!!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
May 10, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr Lake is arrogant and not big on listening to his patients.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Nov 19, 2020
I appreciate your review and am sorry you felt...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
My wife and I are both type 2 diabetic and Dr Lake helped us both to achieve excellence A1C levels after many years of being treated by other doctors. Wish we had found him years ago. Great personality and bedside manner.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Randy and Margie – Nov 15, 2020
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr Brian Lake is an exceptional person and physician! He has each patients care and well being is fore most. He listens to you, and is very honest with you . I have been seeing him for care of Type I diabetes and hypothyroidism for years. I followed him from Winter Haven to Pinellas Park. His care is so goodI would follow his practice out of state ! He is very, very knowledgeable and he delivers quality care
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Mary Weppelman – Nov 10, 2020
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr, Lakemisthe finest endocrinologist I have used in all of my 74years of diabetes. He understands every aspect and goes above and beyond every time I need him, He is amazing, and I am thankful that I have him for a doctor.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Lschindlb – Oct 22, 2020
I appreciate your review and the opportunity to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr Brain Lake is a rock star. We had to go to Dr Lake for a consultation which was done via tele medicine { painless and extremely efficient } . He was knowledgeable , listened to us, explained all the different issues, very approachable. He was extremely professional and was able to explain and make us understand what was going on medically with me and what options we had. On deciding on the best course of treatment. An MRI was needed and the insurance company denied it. Dr Lake called the insurance company and got it approved medically within 4 hours . He got the results of the MRI and did not waste any time and got me in front of some specialist and surgery was scheduled. He was 100% on top of all the different tests/ doctor visits. After surgery I needed a prescription that got rejected by the pharmacy and he called the pharmacy in 20 minutes on a Saturday 6 pm. He is such a rock star it getting things done and making sure you get the medical treatment needed.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
ASHISH – Sep 04, 2020
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Rude office staff. Where to begin, first they will set an appointment for let’s say 2 o’clock but then send you a text to be there 30 minutes before that time because they need you to do stuff. Like what, you have already filled everything out in their redundant and repetitious paperwork which they send you online. So why not make the appointment for 1:30 because that would be common sense. Mr. Lake has forgotten that he works for the patients and not the other way around. And quite frankly he doesn’t have a degree in psychology as he so presumes. I really hate it when I see a grown man that still needs to grow up and actually act like a grown man. But I do want to say that I wish you the best of luck in the future, Mr. Lake. Other than that this is Florida and doctors are a dime a dozen. Stay away from this one unless you like condescending passive aggressive arrogance at its best. And did I mention, the office staff is rude.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
Helpful
Sep 01, 2020
I am sorry for your experience. I do not...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Very informative.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Aug 25, 2020
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Thank you for the wonderful review.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
YES... Dr Lake has been able to combine Rx’s to get my diabetes under control. I have seen several Endocrinologist sense 2011, non have been able to help me reach my goal. Dr. Lake has reduced my average glucose from high 200-300 to my now average of 120 and lower.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Cindy Goswick – Aug 18, 2020
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Glad to help. Thank you for the review.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
After a major surgery at the age of 53, I became a Type I diabetic. Dr. Lake is the ONLY endocrinologist out of three that truly understands my condition, including the one assigned to me by the hospital. He is kind, helpful, empathetic and just an all-around decent person. I found out about him on a site, maybe even this one, where he had great and well-deserved reviews. I will continue to drive the 75 miles to visit this 5-star doctor.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jackie Lassen – Jun 16, 2020
Thank you so much for the review. It is my...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr Lake is very friendly and very open in his conversations. He is clear in his directions and typically does what he says he will do. I am a new patient so only have 2 visits to go by, BUT I would highly recommend Dr Lake to anyone with thyroid or diabetes issues. My husband overheard our online conversation and he said he sounded knowledgeable and very nice.
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 19, 2020
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Thank you for the wonderful review.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
unlike all of the other reviews, my diabetes is NOT under control. it has gotten progressively worse. and as for the office staff, they don't know how to do the insurance billing, I've been there 4 times and 3 times I had insurance billing problems.
What went well
  • Office environment
What could be improved
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jan 14, 2020
Thank you for your review. I would be happy to...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr. Lake understands Diabetes extremely well. That is someone you need. He will tell you what you need to help you get and keep your diabetes under control. Very helpful!
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Sheila Miller – Sep 16, 2019
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Extremely knowledgeable and professional, from the office staff right up to Dr. Lake!
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Ann Shevenell – Aug 14, 2019
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
I met w/one of Dr. Lake's female PC assoc. in Aug '18 about concerns with my endocrine system. Something was interfering w/my system and type 1 diabetes care so I needed help. I started there with many drs. prior. I am a T1D (40 yrs) w/o any issues. I had a near fatal car accident in Sept. '18. Four wks after the accident, struggling, I met with Dr. Lake. Yes, I got myself to an appt quickly. He has never worked with me before. He met with me for a short time, stripped me of my insulin and let me go. Barely interacted with me after. With the new insulin my sugars were all over the place. I called in with "I need my original insulin & schedule". He was unhappy and threatened me with "I will file a complaint to the DMV dept." ASAP I found a new female dr. It turns out my THYROID is failing. Him ignoring my thyroid is worrisome. He specializes in thyroid care. Please reconsider. I was physically & emotionally challenged at my short appt. and he treated me like an irresponsible patient.
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
St. Petersburg Patient – Jul 16, 2019
Dr. Lake's Reply –
I wish you the best of luck in your future care.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
This is an update to my 11/17/18 post. Based on all of these reviews, it seems Dr. Lake is very good at all things diabetes. If you have any other endocrine problem, he is probably not your guy, especially if you have subclinical symptoms like I did. I had my active adrenal tumor (and gland) removed in December. I have now been off blood pressure meds for 4 months, my cholesterol has dropped 20 units, A1c is down 0.1, and have lost 15 pounds without any changes to diet, and unfortunately, less exercise. Weaning off hydrocortisone has not been fun, but I'm hoping to return to normality within a couple of months.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
9 people found this helpful
Helpful
Jul 03, 2019
I am glad that you sought a second opinion as I...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
I, also, had the great misfortune of being referred to dr Brian lake. He was annoyed, uncaring & dismissive. I will never return.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Difficult to schedule appointment
  • Office environment
  • Staff wasn't friendly
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
St Petersburg, FL – May 31, 2019
I am perplexed by your assessment as I have...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
Dr. Lake is a great doctor and very knowledgeable. He knew what I needed without searching the internet or asking someone else for help. Very caring.
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
May 04, 2019
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Thank you for your review. I am glad to help.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
I was very impressed with Dr. Lake on my first visit. He had not yet received my medical records from my PCP but discussed my medical history. In his examination he found nodules on my thyroid and did an ultrasound while I was there and reviewed with me. My A1C has been very high and I was referred to him by my PCP for management of my diabetes. Follow up in May and I am excited to be working with Dr. Lake to get my diabetes under control.
4 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 26, 2019
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Thank you for your review. I am glad to help.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?
Reply
I have never been so pleased with a doctor who treats Diabetes!
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Apr 07, 2019
Dr. Lake's Reply –
Thank you for your review. I am glad to help.
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Brian Lake, DO?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Lake?

About Me

Care Philosophy

The team at Lake Endocrinology and Diabetes, PLLC offers compassionate, comprehensive endocrine care to all of our patients in order to improve quality...Read more

Biography

Dr. Brian Lake, D.O., completed his undergraduate degree at the University of Florida, medical school at Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine in...Read more

Specialties

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism

Board Certifications

  • Diabetes, Metabolism & Endocrinology
  • Endocrinology
  • Internal Medicine

Education

2009
Medical University Of South Carolina
Fellowship Hospital
2007
Northside Hospital And Heart Institute
Residency Hospital
2005
Northside Hospital And Heart Institute
Internship Hospital
2004
A T Sill U Hlth Sci Kirksville Coll Osteo Med
Medical School
2000
University Of Florida
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Dr. Brian Lake, DO offer telehealth services?

Dr. Lake has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Brian Lake, DO accepting new patients?

Dr. Brian Lake, DO generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Lake's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Brian Lake, DO accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Lake accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Brian Lake, DO's top areas of care?

Dr. Lake frequently treats Diabetes & Glucose Monitoring and Thyroid Disorders. See all practice areas where Dr. Lake specializes.

Where is Dr. Brian Lake, DO's office located?

Dr. Lake's office is located at 13123 66th St, Largo, FL 33773. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Brian Lake, DO?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

Lake Endocrinology and Diabetes

Lake Endocrinology and Diabetes, PLLC13123 66th St Largo, FL 33773
1
  • Call
  • Fax
  • Hours
    • Mon: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Tue: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Wed: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Thu: 8:00am - 5:00pm
    • Fri: 9:00am - 12:00pm
    • Sat: closed
    • Sun: closed
  • Directions

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Lake is affiliated with the following hospital. Select the hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

Palms Of Pasadena Hospital

South Pasadena, FL

69% Patient Experience Rating, Equal to the national average

2 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Patient Safety Excellence Award™ (2019)