Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD

Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD

General SurgeryMaleAge 65

General Surgery

Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD is a General Surgery Specialist in Jupiter, FL and has over 42 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from University Of Damascus, Faculty Of Medicine in 1980. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as HCA Florida JFK North Hospital and Hca Florida Jfk Hospital. His office accepts new patients.

Locations

Bassam Sayegh, MD

Bassam Sayegh MD224 Chimney Corner Ln Ste 1026 Jupiter, FL 33458
1

At a Glance

  • Friendly Staff Patients said the staff was friendly. See reviews
  • Hospital Satisfaction Patients said they were highly satisfied at this doctor's hospital. See hospitals
  • Easy Scheduling Patients said scheduling was easy. See reviews

More General Surgery Specialists at HCA Florida JFK North Hospital

Dr. Sayegh's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Sayegh

3.8

Based on 76 ratings

5 Stars
67.10526315789474%
(51)
4 Stars
2.6315789473684212%
(2)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
3.9473684210526314%
(3)
1 Star
26.31578947368421%
(20)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Sayegh
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
The Absolute BEST of the BEST!
Dr. Sayegh and his extraordinary skill saved my husband’s life! He is absolutely the BEST of the BEST and without question who you want to turn to if you are ever in need of surgery. He is an incredibly skilled surgeon who is also kind and funny and has a wonderfully warm and reassuring bedside manner. We were incredibly lucky that Dr. Sayegh was the surgeon on-call when my husband came to the ER in critical condition with a ruptured Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm. Dr. Sayegh performed nothing short of a miracle! He was able to stent the ruptured aorta and save his life! Eight weeks later my husband was able to walk our daughter down the aisle and we owe immeasurable gratitude to Dr. Sayegh and his team who made that day and every other possible. Dr. Sayegh also recently performed my appendix surgery, and those skilled hands made both my surgery and recovery quick and easy with no pain and barely any discomfort. We could never thank you enough for what you have done for our family!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Debra G. – Jul 08, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
It was my first major surgery, and the process was scary initially. To my suprise, everything went fantastic. The staff was exceptional!! Dr. Sayegh was kind and very professional. It anything like this happens again... I wouldn't go anywhere else!!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Danielle Marrs – Jun 16, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Excellent and caring
The staff at the center is without a doubt the best ever encountered. The doctor is knowledgeable and an excellent surgeon and though not pain-free, the whole procedure was made much less traumatic by the stress-free environment and genuine caring atmosphere.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Didn't explain conditions well
Helpful
Patrick – Jun 12, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Had a successful surgery
My surgery was handled very well and everything went smoothly. After my recovery from the surgery I have had no pain or after effects and basically gone back to my normal life. I would be happy to recommend Dr Sayegh and his team to anyone needing their services.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Brian – Mar 11, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Stay Away
Stay away from this doctor! I went to see Dr. Bassam Sayegh for an opinion on a wound I've had for 5 years. The doctor was extremely dismissive and arrogant. He did not listen to me, care about my medical history, or pay any attention to the important information I was trying to give him. Instead, without the necessary context, he roughly examined my wound. This not only caused me excruciating pain, but tore my wound open, undoing years of care. The repercussions of this visit have been severe for me, and I regret ever setting foot in his office. I have never had an experience this awful with another health care provider, and I can only hope my warning will prevent others from experiencing the same thing.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Richard G – Feb 08, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
My first visit was very easy. The staff made me feel welcome and the doctor was filled with information that put my mind to ease. I would definitely recommend this office to friends and family alike. Thank you, Terry W
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Terry W – Oct 30, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
I was fortunate to meet Dr.Sayegh at P.B. Gardens Medical Center after an emergency admission. His diagnosis called for immediate surgery for a burst appendix. Dr. Sayegh explained he had requested an O.R. Shortly thereafter, he returned to share I would be prepped for surgery and evening. I can honestly say he and his entire team were caring and professional.
Helpful
Cheryl Grantham – Sep 24, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Dr. Sayegh is direct and I appreciate his candor. His talent as a surgeon was verified through a bunch of personal referrals and Top Surgeons at Jupiter Hospital who said he was very talented. The facility was extremely clean and high end. The staff beyond courteous. Although I hope I never need his services again, I will go back with confidence if necessary.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Adam K – Jun 22, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
I consider myself lucky Dr Sayegh was the surgeon on call at Jupiter Medical center. Emergency room visit led to Abdominal surgery. The Dr is thorough, professional and his staff is more than competent. The Dr is unflappable which is exactly what I want from a competent Surgeon. I would seek his services anytime I needed surgery that he was comfortable performing.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Apr 30, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Receiver top notch care from Dr Sayegh from the time I was admitted from the ER for emergency surgery at JMC to my discharge. My post op office visit was quick but very thorough. All my questions were answered and there was little waiting to be seen. His staff and facilities were excellent.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Norman P Silvers MD – Mar 19, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Dr Sayegh repaired my inguinal hernia 3 weeks ago without a flaw. It was done robotically at Gardens hospital. I had the other side repaired years ago, and this recent one I found recovery was much easier. Less pain, and recovery seemed quicker.
What went well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Jeff – Mar 09, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
I needed to have gallbladder surgery & was referred to Dr Sayegh. The staff & office personnel were very nice & followed COVID protocol. My first visit with Dr. Sayegh was good. My surgery was done at Jupiter Medical Center. No one ever called my husband to let him know anything before, during or after my surgery. The only call was 4 1/2 to 5 hours later to tell him to pick me up. My first follow up was so fast that I never had the opportunity to look over my biopsy report or ask questions. Needless to say, I really did not understand any of the terminology. The second follow up was just the same & even though I tried to ask something, Dr. Sayegh only said that my symptoms I was exhibiting were not gallbladder related & hurried his nurse away from the computer to follow him. It was very frustrating. He may be an excellent surgeon, but finding out any information about my surgery was not important to him nor his problem. Will not go back there.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Feb 15, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
The nurses apparently don’t believe that COVID-19 is real. Both of the nurses that I encountered had their masks on below their nose while in the exam room with me. The waiting room was packed full of people and is the only waiting room I’ve been in during the last few months that doesn’t have seats blocked for social distancing. The Dr was okay but didn’t seem interested in hearing about my symptoms. He just insists that I should have my gallbladder removed. Maybe I should but I’m going to get a second opinion.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Office environment
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Dec 17, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
No! His visit included 2 minutes (120 seconds) that he charged an $180 co-pay for. He wouldn't listen to me/my medical issues and didn't have the time to go over my CT scan. Absolute crap so I went to another Dr. that (thoroughly) went over my information and concerns.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Shannon Henry – Sep 28, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
I went to Dr Sayegh at his Surgical Center in Jupiter for gall bladder surgery TODAY (4/30/2020) at 7:45AM. I was home resting by 11:15 AM. The experience was beyond my most hopeful expectations. The facility is a fabulous alternative to a hospital situation and Dr. Sayegh’s nurses and assistants were wonderful from the office administration to the Operating Room nurses. Brenda and Sarah were terrific in pre-op and post surgery care. Dr. Sayegh’s calming personality and obvious skills made this surgery experience as good as one could hope for. Thank You Dr. Sayegh and your wonderful TEAM. The five star rating is well deserved.
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Donald Cohen – Apr 30, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
I became a patient of Dr. Bassam Sayegh when I presented as an emergency at JUpiter Hospital with a perforated diverticulitis. Dr. Sayegh performed colostomy and six months later he performed a colostomy reversal. I believe Dr. Sayegh saved my life with his knowledge and surgical expertise. Throughout my surgeries Dr. Sayegh and his team treated me with dignity, respect, and support for which I am forever grateful. I highly recommend Dr. Bassam Sayegh.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
William Coddington – Mar 16, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Dr Sayegh is unbelievably good and so is his staff. This is the best-run medical office I’ve ever encountered. They’re all super pros and Dr Sayegh is like dr precision...amazing robotic surgery skills, almost no pain and very fast recovery. Had hernia repair and going back for colon resection. The surgery experience itself was wonderful. He is a fantastic surgeon and was recommended by my gastroenterologist. Now I’m finding that many local doctors go to him when they need surgery and I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews locally. Even the nurse I saw first has been with him 19 years and says it’s one after another with no complications and it’s so great to work with such a fine surgeon. Very hard worker and passionate about his work. You won’t be sorry picking Dr Sayegh!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Victor M – Mar 14, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Operated on me Dec. 6,2010. Right leg amputation.
What went well
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Captain. Frank – Feb 13, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Dr.sayegh is the most compassionate dr. I have ever met he has performed more than one surgery on me and he is the best. Thank you so much
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Deborah A Kornfield – Jan 20, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?
Reply
Two weeks ago Dr Sayegh removed my gallbladder it was an emergency situation he was very kind and fit me into his schedule ..No pain no scars ..I love Dr.Sayegh he is a Painless Dr ...??????
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
TheresaEve Marciniszyn – Nov 21, 2019
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Sayegh?

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Sayegh's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Sayegh's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Incisional Hernia
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Sayegh treats Incisional Hernia more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Sayegh treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Intestinal Obstruction
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Sayegh treats Intestinal Obstruction more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Sayegh treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Colonic Volvulus
  • Intussusception
  • Paralytic Ileus
Ileus
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Sayegh treats Ileus more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Sayegh treats this condition more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Sayegh's conditions and procedures:

  • Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA)
  • Abdominal Pain
  • Anal and Rectal Cancer
  • Anal Fissure
  • Anal Fistula
  • Anal or Rectal Pain
  • Anorectal Abscess
  • Appendicitis
  • Atherosclerosis
  • Barrett's Esophagus
  • Benign Neoplasm of the Digestive System
  • Bile Duct Cancer
  • Biliary Drainage
  • Bone Cancer
  • Breast Lump
  • Cholecystitis and Gallstones
  • Collapsed Lung (Pneumothorax)
  • Colon Cancer
  • Constipation
  • Crohn's Disease
  • Diaphragmatic and-or Hiatal Hernia
  • Diverticulitis
  • Ductal Carcinoma in Situ
  • Embolism
  • Esophageal Cancer
  • Esophageal Varices
  • Gallbladder and Biliary Tract Cancer
  • Gallbladder Cancer
  • Gallstones
  • Gastric Ulcer
  • Gynecologic Cancer
  • Hernia
  • Hidradenitis
  • Hyperparathyroidism
  • Ileus
  • Iliac Aneurysm
  • Incisional Hernia
  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Inguinal Hernia
  • Intestinal Abscess
  • Intestinal Obstruction
  • Ischemic Colitis
  • Lipomas
  • Liver Cancer
  • Lung Cancer
  • Lymphedema
  • Male Breast Cancer
  • Median Arcuate Ligament Syndrome (MALS)
  • Megacolon
  • Neoplasm of Gastrointestinal Tract
  • Neuroendocrine Tumors
  • Osteosarcoma
  • Pancreatic Cancer
  • Parathyroid (Gland) Disease
  • Parathyroid (Gland) Tumor: Other than Malignant
  • Partial Lung Collapse
  • Pelvic Abscess
  • Peptic Ulcer
  • Peripheral Arterial Disease of Extremities
  • Peripheral Arterial Dissection
  • Peripheral Vascular Disease (PAD, PVD)
  • Pleural Effusion
  • Primary Biliary Cholangitis
  • Pyloric Stenosis
  • Rib Fracture
  • Secondary Malignancies
  • Septic Embolism
  • Skin Grafts
  • Small Intestine Cancer
  • Soft Tissue Sarcoma
  • Spider Veins
  • Stomach and Small Intestine Cancer
  • Stomach Cancer
  • Thyroid Cancer
  • Thyroid Nodule
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Tubo-Ovarian Abscess
  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • Umbilical Hernia
  • Varicose Veins
  • Vascular Disease
  • Vascular Insufficiency of Intestines
  • Venous Insufficiency
  • Venous Sclerotherapy
  • Ventral Hernia

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Sayegh accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(561) 765-7007

Dr. Sayegh accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
AvMed
Open Access
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida
Blue Care HMO
Blue Preferred Patient Care PPO
Blue Select
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Great West Healthcare-Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Commercial Insurance Company
Coventry Health Care
Group Plan PPO
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Employer Group Open Access HMO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Humana HMO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Medicare
Special Needs Plan SNP
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
National Elevator
POMCO Group
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Navigate HMO
Navigate POS
Neighborhood Health Partnership
Options PPO
United Healthcare

About Me

Care Philosophy

My commitment to being the best at what I do has helped me to build one of the leading scarless and single incision surgery practices in the United States....Read more

Specialties

  • General Surgery
  • Endovascular Surgery
  • Laparoscopic Surgery
  • Robotic Surgery
  • Vascular Surgery

Board Certifications

Education

1991
American College Of Surgeons
1987
Huron Rd Hosp
Fellowship Hospital
1987
Huron Rd Hospital
Fellowship Hospital
1986
Huron Rd Hosp
Residency Hospital
1980
University Of Damascus, Faculty Of Medicine
Medical School
,

Languages

  • English
  • Arabic

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD?

Call (561) 765-7007 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Is Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Sayegh's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Sayegh accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Sayegh frequently treats Incisional Hernia, Intestinal Obstruction, and Ileus. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Sayegh treats.

Where is Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD's office located?

Dr. Sayegh's office is located at 224 Chimney Corner Ln Ste 1026, Jupiter, FL 33458. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD speak?

Dr. Sayegh speaks Arabic and English. View profile to see all.

Does Dr. Bassam Sayegh, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Sayegh has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Sayegh is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

HCA Florida JFK North Hospital

West Palm Beach, FL

6 Awards Received

Hca Florida Jfk Hospital

Atlantis, FL

58% Patients that would definitely recommend, 12% lower than the national average

11 Awards Received

Good Samaritan Medical Center

West Palm Beach, FL

65% Patients that would definitely recommend, 5% lower than the national average

1 Award Received

Jupiter Medical Center

Jupiter, FL

76% Patients that would definitely recommend, 6% higher than the national average

Palm Beach Gardens Medical Center

Palm Beach Gardens, FL

62% Patients that would definitely recommend, 8% lower than the national average