Dr. August Reader, MD

OphthalmologyMaleAge 71

Dr. Reader
Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Pacific Eye Associates

2100 Webster St Ste 214 San Francisco, CA 94115

Make an Appointment

Show Phone Number

Dr. August Reader, MD is a Ophthalmology Specialist in San Francisco, CA. He is affiliated with California Pacific Medical Center - Van Ness Campus. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Reader to book an appointment.


Dr. Reader's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Reader

4.6

Based on 20 ratings

5 Stars
90%
(18)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
10%
(2)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Reader?
(Select your rating)
What went well
  • Appointment wasn't rushed (16)
  • Explained conditions well (16)
  • Office environment (16)
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed (1)
  • Didn't explain conditions well (1)
  • Didn't listen or answer questions (1)
RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply Flag
I haven't a patient at Pacific Eye associates for over 25 years. I have been seeing Dr. Reader for almost 20 years. I wouldn't go anywhere else.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Nov 09, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Reader is a neuro-opthalmologist, but unfortunately I did not see any evidence of his knowledge outside of basic opthalmology. I had had a neck injury, characterized by pulling of multiple of my nerves related to my vision and vestibular systems. When I saw him, I had double vision, blurry vision, severe headaches, severe dizziness, and could barely walk a block because of the symptoms. He performed a basic eye exam on me, said my eyes were healthy and I have 20/20 vision, so I should be fine. After many months of experiencing these debilitating symptoms, I finally found a neurologist who explained that my visual system was compromised. Your eyes can be perfectly healthy but still not work together appropriately, which any decent neuro-opthalmologist should know. I have been doing vision therapy to retrain my system for over 6 months now (daily at-home exercises and weekly in-office visits). And my eyesight is improving, though it has been slow and hard work.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
May 07, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
I have been visiting Dr Reader for a couple of months now and am very happy and satisfied with his experience, and professionalism He is calm mannered and kind in his approach with patients.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mahbanoo in San Francisco , CA – Oct 11, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Reader was recommended to me by a friend as I was new to the area. He is very good at looking at the big picture when making medical recommendations. He is quite knowledgeable and pays attention to patient concerns and questions.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Sep 02, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
4 office visits. My visit wait time was way too long. 30 mins. Others were great.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Feb 17, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Reader - Knowledgeable, answers questions, thorougly personable.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Feb 15, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Courteous and detailed with patience. Excellent doctor.
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Feb 15, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Dr. Reader is very knowledgeable and helpful. He does a fantastic job!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Feb 06, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Everything was great. However, my appointment took about 2 hours. There was a lapse at one point where my chart got put in the wrong place & I was waiting for an extended period of time, "forgotten about".
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Berkeley, CA – Dec 09, 2017
Thank you for your feedback; we value your input...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?
Reply Flag
Super Nice - Thank you!
What went well
No results
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Berkeley, CA – Dec 02, 2017
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. August Reader, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Reader?

About Me

Care Philosophy

Our practice is committed to providing the highest quality care to all of our patients. We stand for service and products that allow human beings to live...Read more

Biography

Neuro-ophthalmology is that area of medicine that deals with those neurological diseases that have effects on the eyes, the vision and the movement of...Read more

Specialties

  • Ophthalmology
  • Neuro-Ophthalmology

Education

Neurological Institute of New York Columbia University Medical Center
Fellowship Hospital
Neurological Institute of New York Columbia University Medical Center
Residency Hospital
1975
National Naval Medical Center
Internship Hospital

Languages

  • English
  • Cantonese
  • Mandarin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukrainian

Frequently Asked Questions

What other Ophthalmology Specialists practice nearby?

Click here to compare with other Ophthalmology Specialists.

Does Dr. August Reader, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Reader has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

What are Dr. August Reader, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Reader frequently treats Migraine, Nystagmus, and All Headaches (incl. Migraine). See all procedures and conditions Dr. Reader treats.

Where is Dr. August Reader, MD's office located?

Dr. Reader's office is located at 2100 Webster St Ste 214, San Francisco, CA 94115. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

What languages does Dr. August Reader, MD speak?

Dr. Reader speaks Russian, Spanish, and Ukrainian. View profile to see all.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. August Reader, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for California
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Check Dr. Reader's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Reader's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Migraine
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Reader treats Migraine more than 74% of his peers

Dr. Reader treats this condition more than 74% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Basilar Migraine
  • Classic Migraine
  • Common Migraine
  • Complicated Migraine
  • Facioplegic Migraine
  • Familial Hemiplegic Migraine
  • Headache-Free Migraine
  • Menstrual Migraine
  • Migraine, Hormone-Induced
  • Migrainous Stupor Migraine
  • Oculomotor Migraine
  • Retinal Migraine
  • Visual Migraine
Hide other areas of care
Nystagmus
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Reader treats Nystagmus more than 70% of his peers

Dr. Reader treats this condition more than 70% of his peers

Rating Includes other areas of care:

  • Congenital Motor Nystagmus
  • Nystagmus 1, Congenital, X-Linked
  • Nystagmus 2, Congenital, Autosomal Dominant
  • Nystagmus, Congenital Motor, Autosomal Recessive
  • Nystagmus, Hereditary Vertical
  • Nystagmus, Myoclonic
Hide other areas of care
All Headaches (incl. Migraine)
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Reader treats All Headaches (incl. Migraine) more than 68% of his peers

Dr. Reader treats this condition more than 68% of his peers

Dr. Reader's conditions and procedures:

  • All Headaches (incl. Migraine)
  • Allergic Conjunctivitis
  • Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy
  • Autoimmune Diseases
  • Autoimmune Thyroid Diseases
  • Bell's Palsy
  • Benign Neoplasm of Eye
  • Benign Tumor
  • Black Eye
  • Blindness
  • Brain Disorders
  • Cataract Removal Surgery
  • Central Serous Chorioretinopathy
  • Conjunctival Hemorrhage
  • Diplopia
  • Esophoria
  • Esotropia
  • Exotropia
  • Extraocular Muscle Surgery
  • Eye Infections
  • Eye Surgery
  • Eyelid Surgery
  • Farsightedness
  • Foreign Body Removal from Eye
  • Glaucoma Surgery
  • Graves' Disease
  • Headache
  • Heterophoria
  • Hypertropia
  • Hypotropia
  • Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension
  • Lazy Eye
  • Macular Edema
  • Mechanical Strabismus
  • Migraine
  • Nearsightedness
  • Non-Cosmetic Chemodenervation
  • Nystagmus
  • Ocular Hypertension
  • Optic Neuritis
  • Paralytic Strabismus
  • Pinkeye (Conjunctivitis)
  • Presbyopia
  • Progressive High Myopia
  • Removal of Foreign Body from External Eye
  • Retinal Hemorrhage
  • Sarcoidosis
  • Senile Cataracts
  • Strabismus
  • Temporal Arteritis
  • Thyroid Disease
  • Vascular Disease
  • Visual Field Defects

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Reader accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(415) 923-3007

Dr. Reader accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Anthem
Advantage-CA HMO
Advantage-CA PPO
Balanced (Prudent Buyer)-CA PPO
Blue Cross (CACare) - Individual-CA HMO
Blue Cross (CACare) - Large Group-CA HMO
Blue Cross (CACare) - Small Group-CA HMO
Blue Cross (Prudent Buyer) - Individual-CA PPO
Blue Cross (Prudent Buyer) - Large Group-CA PPO
Blue Cross (Prudent Buyer) - Small Group-CA PPO
Blue Cross (Prudent Buyer) - Student Health-CA PPO
Blue Cross-CA HMO-POS
Bronze (Prudent Buyer PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Bronze EPO (Prudent Buyer / Small Grp)-CA PPO
Bronze EPO (Prudent Buyer EPO/ Small Grp)-CA
Bronze Select (Select PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Bronze Select w/ H.S.A (Select PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Bronze w/ H.S.A (Prudent Buyer PPO/Small Grp)-CA PPO
Dignity Health Custom Advantage-CA HMO
Dignity Health EPO / PPO-CA
Dignity Health PHC EPO & HDP/HSA-CA
Dignity Health Ventura EPO/PPO-CA
EPO-CA
Gold (CaliforniaCare HMO/ Small Grp) HMO
Gold (Prudent Buyer PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Gold Advantage-CA PPO
Gold EPO (Prudent Buyer / Small Grp)-CA PPO
Gold EPO (Prudent Buyer EPO/ Small Grp)-CA
Gold Select (Select / Small Grp)-CA HMO
Gold Select (Select PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Lumenos Plans-CA PPO
Major Risk Medical Insurance Program (MRMIP) - Prudent Buyer-CA PPO
MemorialCare Custom-CA PPO
National (BlueCard Basic) PPO
National (BlueCard) PPO
PERS Choice / PERSCare Providers-CA PPO
PERS Select-CA HMO
PERS Traditional-CA HMO
Platinum (CaliforniaCare HMO/ Small Grp) HMO
Platinum (Prudent Buyer PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Platinum Select (Select / Small Grp)-CA HMO
Platinum Select (Select PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Select (PERS Select Providers)-CA PPO
Select Plus-CA HMO
Select PPO (Select Network)-CA PPO
Select-CA HMO
Select-CA PPO
Silver (CaliforniaCare HMO/ Small Grp) HMO
Silver (Prudent Buyer PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Silver Advantage-CA PPO
Silver EPO (Prudent Buyer EPO/ Small Grp)-CA
Silver EPO w/ H.S.A (Prudent Buyer/Small Grp)-CA PPO
Silver Select (Select / Small Grp)-CA HMO
Silver Select (Select PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Silver Select w/ H.S.A (Select PPO/ Small Grp)-CA PPO
Silver w/ H.S.A (Prudent Buyer PPO/Small Grp)-CA PPO
Tenet Network-CA PPO
Traditional
Traditional PPO
UC Care-CA PPO
UC CORE-CA PPO
UC Health Savings Plan-CA
UC High Option Supplement to Medicare-CA
UC Medicare with Prescription Drugs-CA PPO
UC Medicare without Prescription Drugs-CA PPO
UC Resident and Fellows-CA PPO
UCSHIP-CA PPO
USC Plan (Two Tiered Network)-CA HMO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California
Advantage Preferred DirectAccess Plus PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California PPO
Select Plus HMO
Select PPO
Blue Shield of California
Access Plus Savenet
Local Access Plus HMO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
Open Access Plus
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO

Locations

Pacific Eye Associates

Pacific Eye Associates2100 Webster St Ste 214 San Francisco, CA 94115
1

Affiliated Hospitals

Check the quality of care at hospitals where Dr. Reader treats patients.

Learn more

California Pacific Medical Center - Van Ness Campus

San Francisco, CA

61% Patient experience rating, 8% lower than the national average

  • America's 250 Best Hospitals Award™ (2018)