Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD

NeurologyMale

Neurology

Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD is a Neurology Specialist in Laguna Niguel, CA and has over 20 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Ponce School of Medicine in 2002. His office accepts new patients.

Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD

Orange County Child Neurology

30131 Town Center Dr Ste 195 Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
Accepting new patients

Accepting new patients

Healthgrades Provider Compare™

Quickly compare more Neurology Specialists in your area

At a Glance

  • Explains Conditions Well
    Patients said this doctor explains conditions well. See reviews
  • Recent Reviews
    Reviews made in the last 30 days. See reviews
  • Low Wait Times
    Patients are usually seen in 10 minutes or less.

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for California
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. McIntosh's experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. McIntosh's Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Peripheral Neuropathy Testing
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. McIntosh performs Peripheral Neuropathy Testing more than 80% of his peers

Dr. McIntosh performs this procedure more than 80% of his peers

Wada Test
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. McIntosh performs Wada Test more than 80% of his peers

Dr. McIntosh performs this procedure more than 80% of his peers

Brainstem Auditory Evoked Response Test
normal
normal

Treatment Frequency

Dr. McIntosh performs Brainstem Auditory Evoked Response Test more than 80% of his peers

Dr. McIntosh performs this procedure more than 80% of his peers

Dr. McIntosh's conditions and procedures:

  • All Headaches (incl. Migraine)
  • Brainstem Auditory Evoked Response Test
  • Compound Muscle Action Potential (CMAP) Scan
  • Deep Brain Stimulation Evaluation
  • Dementia Evaluation
  • Dementia or Depression Screening
  • Essential Tremor
  • Evaluation and Treatment of Sleep Disorders
  • Evaluation for Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery
  • Evoked Potential Test
  • Functional Movement Screening
  • Grip and-or Muscle Group Pull Test
  • Head CT Scan
  • Headache
  • Home Sleep Study
  • ImPACT Testing
  • Memory Evaluation
  • Migraine
  • Myoclonus
  • Peripheral Neuropathy Testing
  • Quantitative Sensory Test (QST)
  • Seizure Disorders
  • Sudoscan
  • TCD Bubble Test
  • Wada Test

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. McIntosh accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(949) 249-3780

Dr. McIntosh accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of California
Priority Select HMO
Select Plus HMO
Blue Shield of California
Access Plus Savenet
Local Access Plus HMO
Cigna
Cigna HMO

Dr. McIntosh's Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. McIntosh

4.8

Based on 85 ratings

5 Stars
95.29411764705883%
(81)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
0%
(0)
2 Stars
0%
(0)
1 Star
4.705882352941177%
(4)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. McIntosh
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
Great first visit!
Our first appointment was a great experience with Dr. M and his team. We were running late due to a misunderstanding on our appointment time and the office called us to make sure we were arriving as we did not want to lose our appointment. Luckily we weren't too far away and got there albeit late. Checking in was easy and the team was very friendly. There are a lot of books and a cute Thomas the Train, train table for the littles to enjoy while parents meet with Dr. M. When we met Dr. M he was very kind and listened to everything that was a concern or question. His approach with our child was also very warm and encouraging. He listened and showed him a great deal of kindness. We left feeling good about our choice in Dr. M and our son enjoyed his visit and the lollipop at the end. Thank you Dr. McIntosh and team!
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Angie I. – Jul 15, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Great Neurologist
Dr. McIntosh was one of the best experiences we've had with a doctor. He was thorough, kind, and patient as we worked through our concerns. We would happily recommend him to any friends and family!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Rebecca C. – Jun 25, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
We were very happy with our experience with Dr. McIntosh. He was thorough, patient, and knowledgeable. Most impressive was how considerate and kind he was with our daughter. I appreciated how he spoke to her directly and in ways she would understand and not be intimidated by. At the conclusion of the visit, Dr. McIntosh formulated a detailed, but very workable, plan while inviting both our input and questions. His office staff was also a pleasure to work with. They were clear and responsive. I cannot recommend Dr. McIntosh and his office enough!
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
May 28, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Wonderful Caring Doctor
Cannot say enough great thing about Dr. McIntosh! Dr. McIntosh and his staff have gone above and beyond to help us in many situations. His expertise as well as her kind and caring bedside manner are all five star. He always makes us feel heard regarding all issues of concern and addresses them clearly and individually. We have and will continue to recommend Dr. McIntosh to friends and family.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Nina – Apr 19, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Dr. McIntosh is awesome!
Dr. McIntosh is professional and very kind. He is thorough in his assessments and knows how to connect with the patient and build rapport. I only trust him to provide excellent neurology care for my kids and loved ones.
What went well
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Parastoo – Apr 06, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
I went to this hospital to see a doctor because of my child's tic. It was easy to make an appointment because the nurses were kind, and the doctor consulted at the child's level. The clean interior and friendly staff calmed us down.
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Stella – Feb 26, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Amazing Dr.
We saw Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD for one of our younger children with the recommendation from our child’s school. It took a little bit to get an appointment with him due to him being very busy but we were willing to wait as he came with high reviews. He was patient, kind, listened and offered all of his recommendations. He made our child feel comfortable and at ease. We have gone with his recommendations and feel blessed to have found him. The office staff was cheerful, thorough and had great follow up especially for busy parents. Looking forward to the follow up appointment.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
C Stein – Feb 26, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
I was referred to Dr. McIntosh by my son's OT. I waited for four months for my first appointment and it was well worth it. Dr. McIntosh is empathetic and kind, and worked so well with my son in our initial appointment. I felt heard, and he was able to get my son to engage with him despite his usual hesitation with strangers and a new environment. He was diagnosed, and I felt validated in all of my concerns about his development. The best part was getting a treatment plan tailored to his needs to help him thrive! So grateful for Dr. McIntosh and would gladly encourage anyone who thinks their child may be on the spectrum to see him.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
Helpful
Jamie Brown – Feb 19, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Dr McIntosh was conservative, soft spoken and wonderful with my 12 year old son. He was not an alarmist and was super calm and knowledgeable. I appreciative him not ordering unnecessary testing. He took his time with us both. Will follow up. He came highly recommended by two well known doctors in the area.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Feb 17, 2022
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Finally found the right doctor. A few years ago I was referred to another doctor who incorrectly diagnosed my son. We struggled. Finally tried again and was referred to Dr. McIntosh. Grateful. Appreciate the time and care he took talking to my 15 year old son. Explained in "teen" terms how he would feel differently after starting ADHD medication and why it was important. The doctor also took the time to discuss all the other changes we need to make and a good path forward. Office is professional and returns calls in a timely manner (greatly appreciated). Finally feel like we found the right place to get help and support!
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Oct 03, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
I highly recommend Dr. McIntosh! We were concerned about our daughter’s development and went to see Dr. McIntosh. He was very friendly with her and did a series of activities with her to gage her development. We asked him a million questions and he patiently sat with us and thankfully reassured us that our daughter was fine. He referred us to some places to help her with her socialization abilities and basically told us there was no need to come back. Highly recommend him
What went well
  • Wait times
  • Explained conditions well
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
CP – May 23, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
For years, we have tried many different approaches with both our sons - OT, vision therapy, play therapy, ABA, one on one tutoring. But, after exhausting all measures, we came to Dr. McIntosh to discuss their different and similar issues pertaining to ADHD. I was pleased by Dr. McIntosh's knowledge, care for both me (as the tired parent) and my boys. He made me feel heard and respected -- he validated everything I had done previous to seeing him. His approach with the boys (individually) shows that he is great with kids and can ask them questions and probe them at their level. He made my kids feel empowered about their brain health. His staff are also amazing. It is worth your time and the drive to see Dr. McIntosh. He really cares about his patients. You don't feel rushed at all. So glad we found him and that my boys are finally on track.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Martha from San Clemente – Mar 01, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
We met with Dr McIntosh this past week to have our 3.5 year old son evaluated for ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder). We were unsure what to expect from the appointment, but Dr McIntosh quickly put our minds at ease and immediately got to building rapport with our son. He did a lot of playful interactions with our son all with the intention of observing the typical characteristics of someone with Autism. He was thorough in his assessment checking for eye contact, communication skills, abnormal behaviors, and so on. He listened to our concerns and asked us a variety of questions about our son and family histories. He also did a physical exam of our son looking for other possible areas of concern. From there he shared with us that indeed our son is on the spectrum and provided us with a slew of resources and places to contact for services. Dr McIntosh connects with kids and parents alike to make a devastating diagnosis seem not so overwhelming. All in all, a very positive experience.
Helpful
Toccara – Feb 20, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Dr.McIntosh is the 3rd neurologist we have been to and will be the last. He is very knowledgeable and honest. The previous neurologist requested brain MRI and EEG. However he did a detailed evaluation for my son and he suggested not to proceed with those tests. He checked all his previous labs and medical history. I appreciate his honesty and the time he provided to give my son the best and accurate diagnosis.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
NY – Feb 03, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Completely positive experience here. The entire examination and questions went smoothly, and we feel we were handled in the best way possible. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a neurologist in the area! We will certainly come back in the future if needed.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Susan and Noah Patcha – Jan 18, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
We have been struggling with our son for many years. It was a huge relief to see Dr. McIntosh and finally have another path forward in our journey. He is personable, caring and very thorough. We got in to see him quickly and had a great experience.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Nov 24, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Dr. McIntosh is great! His office is clean and very professional. His staff is awesome too. I felt like he was truly listening to my concerns and he was showing interest in what I was saying. When he spoke to my son he was great! He made my son feel comfortable and my son loved him! I got the answers that I needed from him and he was a huge help! I highly recommend him.
Helpful
Jennifer E. – Jul 21, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
I was looking for a neurologist for my son because he has speech delay . I was referred to Dr McIntosh few weeks ago. I made an appointment staff were very friendly. The day we had an appointment my husband and I were very nervous because my 3 year old son always cries and very unhappy going to the Dr. That day in a minute we walked in to the Dr’s office staff were very friendly and Dr was ready for us. The way he approached to my son and helped us was incredible and outstanding. Dr explain to us steps and what has to be done. His kind wards warmed our hearts. I would like to recommend Dr McIntosh to anyone looking for a neurologist.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Homa m – Jun 24, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
I was referred from my daughters primary physician to Dr. McIntosh and he was very thorough and knowledgeable. His staff was very friendly and prompt. Although his office is a drive from where we live I will return as I felt comfortable that my daughter is in good hands here.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
May 03, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?
Reply
Dr Macintosh and his staff were very helpful, informative and treated our daughter with great care and compassion. I would recommend them to other families as well. Thank you for the great experience.
Helpful
Desireé and Steve – Mar 18, 2020
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. McIntosh?

Is this your profile?

Respond to reviews, add information, and reach more patients. Claiming is free and only takes a minute.

Claim your profile

About Me

Biography

Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD is a Neurology Specialist in Laguna Niguel, CA and has over 20 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from Ponce...Read more

Specialties

  • Neurology
  • Pediatric Neurology

Board Certifications

  • Neurology with Special Qualification in Child Neurology

Education

2007
Univ Of California Irvine Medical Center
Fellowship Hospital
2004
Univ Of California Irvine Medical Center
Residency Hospital
2003
Univ Of California Irvine Medical Center
Internship Hospital
2002
Ponce School of Medicine
Medical School
,

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. McIntosh's profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. McIntosh accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. McIntosh frequently treats Peripheral Neuropathy Testing, Wada Test, and Brainstem Auditory Evoked Response Test. See all procedures and conditions Dr. McIntosh treats.

Where is Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD's office located?

Dr. McIntosh's office is located at 30131 Town Center Dr Ste 195, Laguna Niguel, CA 92677. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

Does Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. McIntosh has not yet indicated whether they offer telehealth services. Please contact the office to check for availability/eligibility.

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Andrew McIntosh, MD?

Find contact information here to make an appointment.

Locations

Orange County Child Neurology

Orange County Child Neurology30131 Town Center Dr Ste 195 Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
1