Dr. Alfred Hess, MD

Dr. Alfred Hess, MD

General Hand SurgeryMaleAge 64

Accepting new patients
Telehealth services available

Make an Appointment

(813) 588-8184

Dr. Alfred Hess, MD is a General Hand Surgery Specialist in Brandon, FL. He is affiliated with medical facilities such as HCA Florida Brandon Hospital and Adventhealth Carrollwood. He is accepting new patients and has indicated that he accepts telehealth appointments. Be sure to call ahead with Dr. Hess to book an appointment.

Locations

Florida Orthopaedic Institute - Sun City Center

Brandon560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101 Brandon, FL 33511
1

Hospital Highlight

Dr. Hess is affiliated with HCA Florida Brandon Hospital Brandon, a highly rated and top awarded hospital for orthopedic hand surgery.

At a Glance

  • Offers Telehealth This provider offers telehealth appointments. Call the office to schedule an appointment.
  • Practices at Top Hospital America’s 100 Best Hospitals for Orthopedic Surgery Award™ See hospitals
  • Hospital Satisfaction Patients said they were highly satisfied at this doctor's hospital. See hospitals

More Orthopedic Hand Surgery Specialists at Brandon Regional Hospital

Dr. Hess' Reviews

Likelihood to recommend Dr. Hess

3.3

Based on 49 ratings

5 Stars
55.10204081632653%
(27)
4 Stars
0%
(0)
3 Stars
4.081632653061225%
(2)
2 Stars
4.081632653061225%
(2)
1 Star
36.734693877551024%
(18)
healthgrades logo

Leave a review

How likely are you to recommend
Dr. Hess
(Select your rating)
What went well
No reviews yet
What could be improved
No reviews yet

Your trust is our top concern.

We strive to keep the reviews trustworthy, honest & fair.

We monitor all reviews to ensure they comply with our guidelines and don’t include personal information, profanity, libel, defamation, harassment, obscenity or fraud.

All reviews are confirmed and audited before publication, and community members have the ability to flag inappropriate content for further review by our team.

Doctors can not pay for good reviews, nor can they pay to have negative reviews removed.

Any reviews that are deemed fraudulent or violate our guidelines will be removed immediately.

RecentHighestLowestMost Helpful
Reply
The waiting was only 10 minutes which is very short in my opinion, Dr. Hess and his resident both showed concern for my problem and offered a solution which I plan to follow
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Brenda L Balla – Aug 26, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
I have had two appointments, and he was not clear about what needed to be done about my severe pain, instead he sent me to a pan management specialist. So, for now, I cannot speak well of the doctor.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't explain conditions well
Helpful
Maria M. Sanz Redondo – Aug 09, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
I loved my visit. Dr Hess and his staff were very professional. They went over my MRI in detail and recommended against surgery for the time being. Great bedside manner.
What went well
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Barndollar – Jul 27, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
He is always prompt, polite, listens to all questions & never makes u feel like u cannot understand what he's discussing with you. He is a truthful, wonderful doctor!
What went well
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Kathy Weber – Jul 20, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Great bedside manner and runs on time for his appointments. He’s very thorough as well.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Allison Figueroa – Jun 17, 2021
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Dr Hess is wonderful and highly skilled. Had needed surgery quickly. Surgical experience was great. I'm on the mend and grateful.
Helpful
Apr 03, 2020
Dr. Hess' Reply –
Thank you for the great review of Dr. Hess!
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Tony, Dr Hess’ PA is my preferred communication source. He knows how to handle patients in pain. Nice smiles!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jan 07, 2020
Thank you for your kind words for Tony, Dr. Hess'...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
The doctor talked mainly to the PA and never explained anything to me.
What went well
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
What could be improved
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
5 people found this helpful
Helpful
Dec 29, 2019
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Great doctor!!! Super knowledgeable, friendly and listened to my complaints!! Would recommend him 100%!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Linda Herman – Nov 19, 2019
Hi Linda, thank you for the kind words about Dr....Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Dr. Hess is a great physician!! However the wait time is ridiculous!!! I was early for my appointment and waited over an hour and a half!!!! In the waiting room to be seen!!! I watched as 5 people that arrived after me were seen. When I asked if I was forgotten (after waiting an hour) I was told there was someone else ahead of me!!! The wait is HORRIBLE!!! An appointment shouldn’t take a whole day!!!!’
8 people found this helpful
Helpful
Anxious – Sep 26, 2019
Hello, thank you for your feedback and...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Love Dr Hess, he’s very pleasant and he makes you feel at home!
Helpful
Sabrina Keenan – Jul 23, 2019
Sabrina, thank you for the five-star review! Glad...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
I was very happy with the service I received from Dr. Hess. His staff and assistants were also very helpful. I just had my second rotator cuff repaired this week. Dr. Hess communicated with me very well and took time to answer all my questions. I would recommend Dr. Hess to anyone needing his services.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
David Crawford in Brandon, FL – Mar 16, 2019
Thank David! We are pleased to hear that the...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Dr. Hess fixed my carpel tunnel in both hands! No problems. He has a wonderful staff.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Deb in FL, FL – Jan 10, 2019
Deb, thank you for sharing your experience with...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
I came in for tendinitis. I also told him about numb fingers and thumb and pointer cramping in my right hand. He said tendinitis will go away, but I can fix your carpal tunnel. Propathal, unconcius for 30 minutes. No hangover. Imeaditly went to lunch with a friend. Next morning I could feel my fingers again. No more cramping. Why didn't I know about this 10 years ago? Thank you Dr. Hess.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
Helpful
Mike Dawson in Tampa, FL – Dec 20, 2018
Mr. Dawson, thank you for sharing you experience...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Dr Hess and his entire team did a great job. I had immediate pain relief after the surgery. The entire process from first visit to last post op visit was excellent.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Donald Grant Smith in Seffner, FL – Aug 07, 2018
Donald, thank you for sharing this with us! We'll...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Excellent doctor and surgeon!!! Was right on with my son's diagnosis (he had a rare condition in his right elbow). You will not get warm fuzzies from Dr. Hess if that's what you're looking for but you will get a smart, thorough, knowledgeable surgeon who knows what he's doing. I will take knowledge and expertise over warm fuzzies any day when it comes to picking a doctor/surgeon. Don't get me wrong, he is a very nice man, just short and to the point. His P.A. Tony is equally awesome!!!!
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
3 people found this helpful
Helpful
Kris Lackmann in Brandon, FL – Jul 26, 2018
Thank you Kris! Your feedback is important to our...Read More
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Extremely brusque, rude. I was a workmens comp patient. As soon as I got to the office after waiting months for an appointment he goes out side speaking to a staff and say why did you bring a Workmen’s Comp. patient here I don’t treat them anymore! He said you will be my last one. I had carpel tunnel surgery on both wrists in separate surgeries. He rated me at 0 which is not accurate. He didn’t wish to take time with WC papers. I continue have problems with wrists.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
What could be improved
  • Long wait times
  • Appointment was rushed
  • Didn't listen or answer questions
  • Didn't explain conditions well
  • Didn't trust the provider's decisions
6 people found this helpful
Helpful
Donna Turuc in Seffner FL – Jun 08, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Excellent surgeon... fixed the thumb on my right hand when I broke a tendon in it and now am going back to him to get my left broken shoulder fixed. I was referred to him by a doctor in Lakeland where I live and he is the best... and even though it's a bit of a ways from Lakeland, he's every bit worth the trip! Very compassionate, understanding and explains everything before, the day of and after the surgery... I wouldn't go to anyone else! :)
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Donna Durham in Lakeland, FL – Jan 06, 2018
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Excellent surgeon
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Wait times
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
1 person found this helpful
Helpful
Jul 18, 2017
Dr. Hess' Reply –
Thank you!
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?
Reply
Exceptional patient contact.
What went well
  • Appointment scheduling
  • Office environment
  • Staff friendliness
  • Appointment wasn't rushed
  • Listened & answered questions
  • Explained conditions well
  • Trusted the provider's decisions
What could be improved
No results
2 people found this helpful
Helpful
Clearwater, FL – Oct 30, 2016
×Post a ResponseAre you Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?

Leave a review

How was your experience with Dr. Hess?

Experience and Background Checks

Experience
Background

Background Check

No malpractice claims found for Florida
No disciplinary actions found for the years we collect data
No board actions found for the years we collect data
Learn more about background checks

Experience Check

Check Dr. Hess' experience treating your condition or procedure

Dr. Hess' Top Procedures and Conditions

Treatment Frequency
Peripheral Nerve Block
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Hess performs Peripheral Nerve Block more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Hess performs this procedure more than 100% of his peers

Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Hess performs Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Hess performs this procedure more than 100% of his peers

Trigger Finger Release
very high
very high

Treatment Frequency

Dr. Hess performs Trigger Finger Release more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Hess performs this procedure more than 100% of his peers

Dr. Hess' conditions and procedures:

  • Achilles Tendinitis
  • Achilles Tenotomy
  • Ankle Sprain and Achilles Tendon Sprain or Rupture
  • Ankle Sprains and Strains
  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Ankylosing Vertebral Hyperostosis
  • Arthritis of the Elbow
  • Ataxia
  • Carpal Tunnel Release
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Chondrocalcinosis
  • Coccyx or Sacrum Fracture
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • Complications of Joint Prosthesis
  • Dupuytren's Contracture
  • Dupuytren's Contracture Injection
  • Elbow Bursitis
  • Epidural Block, Facet Blocks
  • Excision of Facial Bone
  • Excision of Metacarpal and Carpal
  • Excision of Tarsal or Metatarsal
  • Fracture of Hand (incl. Fingers)
  • Ganglion Cyst
  • Hammer Toe
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture and Dislocation Treatment
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Closed
  • Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open
  • Hand Fracture
  • Hand or Wrist Tendon Transfer
  • Internal Derangement of Knee
  • Joint Drainage
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee Arthroscopy
  • Limb Cramp
  • Limb Pain
  • Myelopathy
  • Neuroplasty
  • Osteoarthritis of Hands
  • Osteoarthritis of Spine
  • Peripheral Nerve Block
  • Post-Laminectomy Syndrome
  • Resection or Ablation of Bone Tumor, Partial or Complete Resection of Bone, Debridement of Bone
  • Revision of Shoulder or Elbow Replacement
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Runner's Knee
  • Sacrum Disorders
  • Scapular Fracture
  • Sciatica (Not Due to Disc Displacement)
  • Soft Tissue Sarcoma
  • Spinal Nerve Block
  • Sprains and Strains (incl. Muscle Tear)
  • Steroid Injection
  • Synovial Biopsy
  • Tommy John Surgery
  • Trigger Finger
  • Trigger Finger Release
  • Trigger Point Injection
  • Viscosupplementation With Hyaluronate
  • Wrist Fracture
  • Wrist Fusion
  • Wrist Replacement

Insurance Check

Search for your insurance provider

Dr. Hess accepts

Accepted insurance can change. Please double-check when making an appointment.

(941) 787-2473

Dr. Hess accepts the following insurance:

Aetna
Aetna HMO
Choice Plus POS II
Choice PPO
Amerigroup (Wellpoint)
Anthem
National (BlueCard) PPO
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Blue Card PPO
CareFirst Blue Cross Blue Shield
HealthyBlue 2.0
HealthyBlue Advantage
Cigna
Cigna HMO
Cigna PPO
LocalPlus
Open Access
Open Access Plus
Coventry Health Care of Florida
Coventry Health Care of Florida PPO
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
First Health (Coventry Health Care) PPO
Humana
Choice Care PPO
Preferred PPO
Select HMO
Tampa Bay HUMx HMOx
Medicaid
Medical Mutual of Ohio
MultiPlan
MultiPlan PPO
PHCS Network PPO
Principal Financial Group
UnitedHealthCare
Choice Plus POS
Options PPO
United Healthcare
Worker's Compensation
Worker's Compensation WC

About Me

Care Philosophy

My patients are extremely important to me. I enjoy being able to help them return to happy, fulfilling lives.

Specialties

  • General Hand Surgery

Board Certifications

  • Hand Surgery
  • Orthopedic Surgery

Education

Tampa General Hospital
Fellowship Hospital
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Residency Hospital
Mercy Hospital Of Pittsburgh
Internship Hospital
University Of Cincinnati College Of Medicine
Medical School
1976
John Carroll University
Undergraduate School
,

Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I make an appointment with Dr. Alfred Hess, MD?

Call (813) 588-8184 to make an appointment as a new patient. Click here for more information.

Does Dr. Alfred Hess, MD offer telehealth services?

Dr. Hess has indicated that they offer telehealth. Contact the office to check for eligibility for your needs.

Is Dr. Alfred Hess, MD accepting new patients?

Dr. Alfred Hess, MD generally accepts new patients on Healthgrades. You can see Dr. Hess' profile to make an appointment.

Does Dr. Alfred Hess, MD accept my insurance?

Use the Healthgrades insurance check to verify if Dr. Hess accepts your insurance.

What are Dr. Alfred Hess, MD's top areas of care?

Dr. Hess frequently treats Peripheral Nerve Block, Hand and Wrist Fracture Treatment, Open, and Trigger Finger Release. See all procedures and conditions Dr. Hess treats.

Where is Dr. Alfred Hess, MD's office located?

Dr. Hess' office is located at 560 S Lakewood Dr Ste 101, Brandon, FL 33511. Find other locations and directions on Healthgrades.

Affiliated Hospitals

Dr. Hess is affiliated with the following hospitals. Select a hospital below to learn more.

Learn more about how Healthgrades measuresHospital Quality.

HCA Florida Brandon Hospital

Brandon, FL

62% Patient Experience Rating, 7% lower than the national average

12 Awards Received

Award Highlight: Orthopedic Surgery Excellence Award™ (2022)

Adventhealth Carrollwood

Tampa, FL

75% Patient Experience Rating, 6% higher than the national average

1 Award Received

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa, FL

78% Patient Experience Rating, 9% higher than the national average

6 Awards Received